Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 686 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 686 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 7.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 7.4

William I.
United States
May 14, 2010
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa
The hotel had a great view of the pool area. The bathroom was awesome. The shower was a walk in and the water pressure was great!
When I was checking out of the hotel they charged me a service charge on everything to include the mini bar. I do not mind paying a service charge for food or service but not for the made replacing items in the fridge. When leaving for the airport the taxi from the hotel was almost double what it is on the economy. All guests must pay for to use the internet in the cafe. Other hotels in the area offer this for free.
I received this hotel at a great price thanks to Agoda but overall the hotel lacked that 5 star ambiance that you would expect from a hotel of this stature. I would not book this hotel in the future. I have been coming to Thailand, specifically Phuket for about 14 years and there are many hotels in the area that offer much more for the price. I was not impressed with the service from the hotel staff and often found them rude or less friendly.

Sean B.
Singapore
May 13, 2010
value for money
friendly staff, nice room decor, comfortable toilet, good location
baby frogs growing at steps of the pool access
very nice hotel and decor. beds were huge, while toilet was spacious. very nice hotel except that many locals are not aware of it, thus difficult to describe to taxi drivers etc. even name card with address appeared vague to many locals. however, it was really value for money and the staff were helpful.

Staffan E.
Sweden
May 12, 2010
Good value for money especially in low season
Nice room.Clean.WiFi without charge.Nice staff.Great breakfast.Very big pool area.The hotel offer free transport to the beach every hour which is necessary because it is far to walk.
The big land owned by Club Med takes away the contact with the beach from most of the buildings in Kata beach and makes it a problem to walk between the hotel and the beach.
We had a nice room with direct ladder from veranda to the big pool.It gave our room a private and same time open feeling .No one could come close without being wet.Very nice and helpful staff both in reception,bar and room service.We tested the kitchen once by ordering food to the room but that was no success.On the other hand the breakfast was great.

hussapong C.
Thailand
May 07, 2010
้huge swimming pool with affordable rate
Very huge swimming pool and great room facility
hotel hard to find and very confuse by staff direction.
Hotel have a great environment with a giant swimming pool to compensate with no beach access it was surrounding with good restaurant on Karon beach however hotel was hard to find and very confuse and the staff dont know about the direction to access to Hotel

Thanh N.
Vietnam
May 05, 2010
Unhappy with Alpina resort
swimming pool
bad smelly from the pool side.
We are not satified while stay at this hotel. This is a five star hotel but the services of the hotel very poor. for example, when I book the room for 2 adults, 2 childs, I have to pay for extra bed with amount 44 USD. But when I check in, the room was not ready for 4 persons and they only bring the extra bed when I required.

Tan H.
Malaysia
May 04, 2010
good choice to stay with couple & family
PUB WITH THE INTERESTING SONG.
communication wi-fi not clear and television program not interesting.
good place, pretty, quiet, clean, check in very smoothly, staff very friendly & helpful, the hotel offer good breakfast, environment was great only short stroll to restaurant, markets, massage center. the hotel offer a shuttle to kota beach (every hours) with free beach chair & towel.

david B.
United Kingdom
April 27, 2010
Very relaxing
Nice pool, friendly staff, good beach ferrying service. Free internet access in rooms.
The jacuzzi is not a jacuzzi, it is a long pool!! fitness room was sparse.
Had a very pleasant and relaxing stay here and would definately come back. Close to shops, bars and resaurants. With a handy shuttle service to the beach, where loungers and towels are waiting! Breakfast buffet was good and the staff were, as usual in Thailand, extremely helpful. A nice resort if you are looking to wind down.

CHAN K.
Hong Kong
April 20, 2010
bad service
big swimming pool
weak air cond, far location , bad room water supply, bad staff behaviour
never stay in this hotel ! food not hygenie bad staff behaviour

Kwah L.
Malaysia
April 18, 2010
Average satisfaction
the environment is nice and quiet as it is far from Kata town and beach.Outside hotel , a 10min walk will find alot of food and small shop for you to eat and shop.
The hotel room look like very old and bathroom also have hole and they not well prepared the basic thing such as shower cream ,shampoo ,toothblast and toothpase ..u must request if you need. For my opinion , they not act like 5 star hotel and also not seem is newly open ..
The hotel have situated outside Kata town and the environment is nice and quiet. But outside hotel u can find a lot of food and small shop for you to shop and also alot of massage shop (if you like).Not near by Kata beach although hotel have free transport to beach every hour but alway crowded. I prefer to walk to beach about 2015-20min as along the way to beach you can see a lot of thing and food . Hotel restaurant offer variety of food and price not expensive (although not to compared to outside restaurant ). The only i not like is for 5 star hotel they shld be provided shower cream,shampoo, tooth automatically but this hotel will need to request if you need.and also the room also seem like very old . Thank

Patricia B.
Malaysia
April 13, 2010
Great value for money
Pool, big room and bathroom, reasonably priced food, location - Kata beach is much more peaceful and low key compared to the busy crowded Patong beach.
bed linens were a bit grungy, front desk staff need training on customer service
After reading the reviews on this hotel, my husband and I were a bit apprehensive when we booked a room. Fortunately, our stay turned out to be very positive and we would definitely return to the Alpina if we visit Phuket again. We booked a jazz pool access room which allows us direct access to the pool from our balcony. Definitely worth the extra $ Room and bathroom were large and spacious. The spa was beautiful and offered 50% discount promotion - we went there every day. Food was reasonably priced, for a hotel restaurant. Breakfast buffet was fine. Don't expect a five star spread but had eggs, breads, cereal, juices, even cold cuts and cheese to meet our needs. Only negative experience was with the front desk staff. There was no one to help us with our luggage when we first checked in. The lady who handled our check in was not friendly and off-putting. The reception staff need to get customer servicing training. Lesson 1: learn to smile, Lesson 2: Don't ignore your customers to continue with your private conversation with each other The staff in the restaurant, spa and poolside were wonderful.