Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 291 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 7.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.1
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for Money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 6.9

Eric C. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in September 2010
Amora Hotel
Value For Money
Condition of the room needs to be improved.
Overall value for money hotel compared to Sunwing Hotel if you plan to stay in Bangtao Beach area.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Alex L. from Russia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in September 2010
Amora in September
quite place with nice garden
far from everything, taxi drivers are making on you
stayed for couple nights with my father staff was nice and friendly... lonely too we took a car and explored the island, otherwise it would be impossible to travel from this resort moneywise - A locationwise - depends - maybe for those who is looking for a romance and solitude amenities - ok
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Susan G. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in May 2010
Amora Beach
The position by the beach was wonderful, the staff were always polite, helpful & friendly
It would have been helpful if there had been notices pointing out where the local amenties where such as the village
We loved the hotel and its in a beautiful position. Food was excellent. Wide choice of food for breakfast, restaurant in evening was good However due to lack of clientel only one restaurant open. The whole area was suffering from a lack of tourists (May 2010) and though it was a lovely spot at times it was just too quiet. Staff were always helpful & friendly. Quite expensive to go anywhere else on the island. But generally loved it.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Sudeep A. from India
Business travelers
Stayed one night in September 2010
Phuket Visit
It has access to the beach from the hotel
Its a bit far away
The hotel is pretty decent. However its a bit far away. The good thing it has beach access.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Willy G. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in August 2010
Great Value
Large property, beautiful, large room, clean, and price was cheap for what you get
low water pressure so shower not the best.
Laguana beach where the Amora is ....is a great, secluded, quiet beach but still close to everything. One downside is that if you want to go anywhere you have to have transportation of some sort (luckily we had our own car) ...the rooms are nice and large and it appears most have a view of the sea.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Mui K. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in July 2010
Amora Resort
Swimming pool is easy accessible.
-
Convenience to our stay as we have training which is next to Amora Resort. Staff are courteous and able to give directions whenever we need help.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Mui K. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in July 2010
Stay at Amora Resort
I like to the swimming pool
-
The stay was great because we are very near to our training centre and it helps us to have shorter traveling time to the venue.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Nail K. from Uzbekistan
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2010
Amora Beach Resort
Engineer
Not clean beach area (in the sea we several times found big umbrellas
Good hotel, but little bit old and need to modificate with new safety boxes, new electronical door loks (I lost one key and payd for that 1500 baht - very expensive), not have Wi-Fi internet connection, and internet access is very bad in the lobby and too expensive
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Elaine R. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2010
Nice & Relaxing
Quiet, On the Beach, Lots of Trees, Nice walking distance to restaurants/shops
No real night life
Not the newest resort, but we loved our stay. Staff were helpful, breakfast was yum, the resort was always clean & right on the beach.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Muthusamy S. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in June 2010
Resort not like resort
Only the main pool is acceptable in this run down hotel resort.
The location is totally totally out of the way. It takes one 20 mins to walk to the main road where Tesco is to buy supermarket stuff. There are private taxis available but they are greddy mafias who will charge exorbitant price for a 3 mins drive. When I return from the supermarket, I will usually hail the motor cycle taxi and negotiate a price at 30 Baht. The hotel is old and pretty empty during my stay. The beach area is also rather quiet and many stall shave been vacated and they look more like a dumbing ground than a beach resort. The main shopping area is about 15 mins walk along the beach to Laguna Resort and thats where everything is happening...nothings happens at Amora...just a dead town hotel..
Please do not be fool by the pictures from this website.. It pains to call this place a resort when it is more like a half way house.. The food is also very bare and nothing to beat about.. Beer is charged at 180 baht for a big bottle.. phew..
Reviewed June 21, 2010