Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 165 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 7.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 6.2

Daniel S. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Great SUN on the ocean beach
Close to ocean beach. Spacious room, good pool
Very good, we were well-pleased with our stay and have already recommended it to others.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Ben F. from Canada
Families with young children
Stayed 6 nights in October 2013
Not up to American/European standards
The three best things were a Large Room, Close to the Beach, and Quiet Location.
We stayed here because it was a great discount during the low season. Online it offered a breakfast buffet and 2 king beds in the room, which are hard to find for a family. While the location near the beach was great, there were so many disappointments with this hotel. I want to share them so that other travelers can be aware before booking. Cons: The breakfast wasn't actually a buffet. There were 3 kinds of cereal and bread/toast available, which you could eat as much as you wanted. The host also gave us a menu where we could order a la carte. We ordered an omelet, boiled egg, and bacon. The omelet and boiled egg weren't even cooked through, and the bacon was cold and mostly fatty. We asked for an additional omelet but they said we were only allowed one per person. That's not a buffet. Other disappointments include the pool being closed for half of our stay, the beds being rock hard so we woke up with a daily back ache, no coffee maker available in the rooms or at breakfast (They offer instant coffee and tea), and the shower water pressure was so low it was hard to wash your hair. Pros: The grounds are beautiful and well cared for, the rooms are spacious, it's quiet, and very close to the beach. If you're a very low maintenance person, this place is fine. But if you like the average American or European standards in a hotel, this probably isn't the place for you.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Narelle S. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Low season should not equal low quality.
Quiet garden setting.
Very basic b/fast...could do much better. Rooms and facilities a bit run down. Short walk to brilliant bay beach. Will return to area but use different hotel.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Matthew G. from Netherlands
Solo travelers
Stayed 6 nights in June 2013
Not too great with the distant location
Close beach
The location of the hotel is not that great, and it literally took the taxi driver an hour in the surrounding area to find our hotel. There are nothing much beside the hotel, except a few bars that have few people in there occasionally. Not much good food in this area and is quite quiet. The only good thing is that, if you like to go to a quiet beach, here you go, the whole beach is yours since no one is going there. If you need to go to Patong, it would be around $1000 baht for a round-trip, so basically you have to pay an additional of $1000 baht every day just to travel, not to mention the additional 30 minute travelling time to Patong. With that much taxi fares and time wasted, I would totally advise you to book a hotel in Patong instead if you are looking for cheaper food, nightlife or prefer being more accessible to different facilities in Phuket.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Milan K. from Czech Republic
Families with young children
Stayed 6 nights in July 2013
Very relaxing stay
Location close to the beach and restaurants; spacious clean room; pool.
We really enjoyed few beautiful and sunny days in rain season.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Amanda T. from New Zealand
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013
Grteat friendly hotel
staff, room, location to BIS
Really great staff. Close to all amenities. Restaurants and Tesco nearby
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Balakrishnan N. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 4 nights in May 2013
It was fun with family. Kids enjoyed stay in Phuke
Reasonable rate, large rooms, and quiet surroundings..
Ok, can improve on breakfast and not repetitive, also the toilets need more ventilation at least exhaust fan will do...
Reviewed June 04, 2013

warren M. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
nice big clean room, friendly staff, good locario
close to beach, big room, good brealfast
Reviewed June 03, 2013

Joe S. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in April 2013
Nice & close to beach, quiet hotel
location, bathroom, pool
Nice, comfy stay. Breakfast is not too good. Pity there's no restaurant with the hotel. Groovy bathroom ;-}
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Caroline A. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 10 nights in April 2013
Relaxing
Location, nice pool villas, clean room, close to the beach
We weren't disappointed, the poolside villa was spacious and clean, great for pre-breakfast reading or evening relaxation. Bed was large and comfortable. Free large bottle of drinking water was left in the room on most days. Pool was nice and clean, beach towel available. Staff slightly aloof. Breakfast was basic and cold but good serving times 07.30 - 10.30 hrs. Bang Tao was quiet but we did visit in low season. The resort is very close to the beach. Nice Reggae bar on the beach.
Reviewed May 13, 2013