arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
All reviews (52)

Business travelers (1)

Couples (32)

Solo travelers (13)

Families with young children (3)

Families with older children (1)

Groups (2)

Excellent
8.4
based on 52 reviews
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.9
Location
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
8.7
Staff Performance
9.0
Value for Money
8.8
Food/Dining
7.2

6.7 Shirley L.
Australia
May 21, 2015
good airport nearby option
close to airport, friendly staff, cheap
As my flight arrived midnight, Bungalow@Maikhao was a cheap and handy option as it's only within 30 mins drive. The lady was very nice and waited our arrival. Breakfast was served to us even though it wasn't included when booking.

9 Rebecca C.
Australia
May 20, 2014
Great if you love being around nature!
I wouldn't book through agoda because your information doesn't get passed on. Booking . Com is better the lady told me or cheaper if you just rock up. It's great for what you pay. Quiet. Cosy.
Great, it was nice and quiet. I woke up to the sound of happy birds chirping away in the trees, the beach water was so warm it was like a hot tub! Dao the lady who runs is was super friendly and helpful offered me breakfast free of charge though I left her some money. She also gave me a lift out to the main road as I was being picked up by mini bus to head out to Koh Samui. Any problems she was happy to help no matter what time it was. I will definitely be back. It's close to the airport you only need to pay $600 baht unless its night time then it's $1000 baht. There is a restaurant 5 mins walk away that is great food and a very good price.

10 Martin R.
United Kingdom
April 06, 2014
Fantastic friendly and wonderful value for money
service cleanliness value for money
Picked up at 1am from the airport, greeted by the owner Dio and straight into a clean air conditioned bungalow, wonderful!!! !followed by breakfast freshly cooked then 1 min walk to the beach having been to a wedding ar the 5 star renaissance I know which one I preferred, the service was second to none at the bungalows and it's only a shame that the ratings go up to 10 as I would give this a 12!

8.7 Carly G.
Australia
April 08, 2014
Great quiet spot for relaxing
The staff, location & affordability
I had a great stay at Bungalow@Maikhao. The staff were fantastic & helpful. I felt safe as a solo traveler. Great spot on the beach. Bungalows are budget accom but very clean.

5.3 James O.
United Kingdom
February 21, 2014
very isolated
if you want to be away from it all this is the place for you. The bungalows were very clean but too far from the beach with no restaurant.
It was too isolated for us. We had just come off a boat after a week's sailing and were looking for a bit of luxury. You won't find that here. Beach very gritty and difficult for long distance walks.

6 James O.
United Kingdom
February 27, 2014
Bit remote.
If you want complete solitude, this is for you. Rooms were very clean.
It was too remote for us. No food on site and the bar open occasionally. There was one down towards the beach. No lounging chairs on the veranda only stools so you had to go to the beach if you wanted to sunbath.

8 Jacqueline F.
United States of America
July 06, 2014
Great bungalows, near beach, very clean
friendly owner, near beach, very clean
This is a reasonably priced place to stay. The staff is friendly, the bungalows are large, with a/c. The rooms are clean,with a fridge and hot water kettle to make tea and coffee. I would recommend Bungalows Maikhao and hope to return some day.

8.3 peter G.
United States of America
January 09, 2014
quiet, simple, best beach on phuket.
t

8.3 Alexander S.
Russia
January 06, 2014
great owner
owner, clean room
The main thing that is left in my memory is the help of the owner. At first I asked to leave my baggage for 5 days and came to her hotel at 5 in the morning. After I forgot my tickets in the room and she brought them to the airport. Rooms are basic and clean. Thanx!

8.3 Jane G.
United Kingdom
January 06, 2014
Relaxing and Comfortable
Location Location Location (and a comfy bed!)
Room was ready when we arrived late morning, Large room clean and large comfy bed. The bungalows are nicely spaced to give privacy. They were closer to the Holiday Inn than I expected but this was not a problem. We were very pleasantly surprised as to the quality and standard. The photo's made them look very rustic which they were not. Solid built with effective aircon and large windows, nice patio area to sit and listen to the creatures of the night! A 2 minute walk to the beach was great and despite all our research the water was lovely and easy to get in although I do expect it could get a little rough. A walk on the beach at night and we saw turtle swimming down to nesting sites to the south. The beach resteraunt food was more than adequate. There is a small shop which is useful. Staff helpful and friendly. The airport is 10 minutes in a taxi so takes away the stress of the journey there through traffic, there is no noise at all from planes although you can see them coming in to land from the beach.