Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 422 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.1
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for Money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 6.9
Sort by

Wai T. from Macau
Families with young children
Stayed one night in August 2013
Very nice island
Service, beach, room
Come here every year at least once, will come back next month (August, 2014) again.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

James C. from New Zealand
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
Relaxed
Friendly staff and dogs; good breakfast; nice pool
We had hoped to do some snorkelling but sea was rough and dirty. Not many things to do so we just relaxed. If you have been to any Pacific island you wouldn't rate this at all. Staff were friendly and helpful. A kettle in the room would be great.
Reviewed July 07, 2014

Joy N. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2014
The russian island in thailand
a few steps to the beach
My experience there was boring. The island is pretty dead and quiet by late afternoon time. The only restaurant open is the one from the resort, although researching tells me there are 4 restaurants on the island. Not much activities to do. I mean, even if you are looking for an activity to do, it's all in russian, how would you understand? Since we were bored, we went back to the room... to watch TV. :( Ya i know, beach nice view, but yet we were watching TV. After 8 hours on the beach, we went back to the room and found that there are 10 Tv channels. 3 thais, 5 russians, and 1 north korean national TV. Interesting... I wonder who are the targeted audience for that channel. Tap water is salty... after a full day on the beach, bathing in salty water is the last thing I want to do. Air-con is not strong enough. Power disrupt in the middle of the night. But I managed to fall asleep to the tidal sounds right outside my door. Pros and cons of staying here, a family/friends trip here will be good. Definitely not for couple.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Steven M. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in May 2014
Russian run island but still fun.
Peaceful,romantic, nice beach
We had previously been to Coral Island and we were shocked this time around to be greeted by two Russian guys at reception telling us we couldnt bring any food or drinks onto the island and so they took our duty free alcohol and our water bottles from us and said they would be returned to us when we left the island. The island was mainly full of Russian tourists and the menu included Russian food. So it was certainly a big change from our previous trip. Nonetheless we still had a great time on the island and it was a peaceful and relaxing stay.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Karin S. from South Africa
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2014
Russian Resort
On island, good snorkeling, quiet at night
Ensure that the advertised boat transfer times are correct. The times were wrong for us so we had to sit around for 5 hours waiting for the transfer. Take the boat transfer at high tide otherwise you have to walk over coral rocks to get to the boat which is painful and dangerous. This resort caters mainly for Russians so all other nationalities are not warmly welcomed.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Anthony L. from France
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2014
Perfect relaxing place
View, swimming pool, private boat
Private boat pick you up at the harbour to bring you to Coral Island. Small bungalow with sea view or partial 20m from the beach. Beautifull swimming pool. After 5:00 you are alone on the island, far from noisy, dirty Phuket city. Strongly recommended!
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Roberta J. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
WONDERFUL CORAL ISLAND
on the beach, great staff, Nice views
We stayed at this resort for 3 nights. We were not able to take their ferry over to the resort and had to pay our own way on a long boat. The hours of operation for the ferry were misleading... On arrival we were upgraded to nice beachfront units which were amazing. DId alot of snorkeling and relaxing here. There are a few spots of beautiful snorkeling to the right of the resort.. The best spots are around the corner, but watch for boat traffic. The earlier in the morning you snorkel, the better as tour boats from the mainland invade the island in the afternoon.The restaurant at the resort was the best dining option, although a bit pricey for dinner. We had several messages at the spa that were wonderful. Keep in mind that this resort caters to Russian tourists as we met a few who stay here for months at a time. All in all, we enjoyed out time here.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Jacqueline E. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Pleasant but not a very happy and friendly place
The beach pool and rooms by the sea
It was nice but for a place that is so beautiful people were not happy and I was not impressed that it was run by Russians not Thai which is the reason I holiday here to experience Thai culture and the smiling pleasant Thai people
Reviewed April 07, 2014

Terry B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Closest nice smaller island to Phuket
Beach location, nice pool, relaxed
Staff had lifted its game since my 2011 visit where they seemed disorganised. Our "superior" room was in a row of semi-detached bungalows along an elevated walkway in back of the resort - an attractive area. It was clean, spacious & contained all inclusions you would expect at lower-midrange except a jug - hot water available in an urn outside the kitchen. Lights a bit dim for reading, area quiet. Nice pool. The beach gets lots of daytrippers but area in front of the resort restricts entrance & is not overcrowded. Nice water there. The other end of the beach tends to be quieter too with a restaurant/bar with cheaper prices than the resort's restaurant (great ocean outlook) which tends to be 200+% up on budget bungalow places. But this is no budget bungalow & prices are a bargain by western standards. There are some less expensive items on the menu. Inclusive buffet breakfast is good. Cheapest food is at the restaurant on the smaller beach abt 10 minutes walk to the south. Nice beach too. Value at CIR? - I've stayed in several similar Thai island resorts for considerably less, but CIR is still good value compared to the west. The inclusive transfers help - look for the guy in the CIR shirt under its sign immediately right of the start of Chalong's main pier.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

magdalena W. from Poland
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Amazing island but hotel lets it down a bit
Right on the beach with amazing views
We stayed in coral island resort for 3 days and during those 3 days we didn't hear any other language part from Russian which it's a bit of disappointment the stuff seem to be Russian too ... We were missing this Thai friendly feeling and smile , hotel itself was great and location was amazing too
Reviewed February 26, 2014