Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 214 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 214 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.4
Sort by

Laura M. from Canada
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Overpriced for the level of service
decent restaurant, nice grounds, beach
The hotel was nice enough, though not good value for money. In Asia, when I pay nearly $100 a night for a room my expectations are higher. The room is fine, but just fine. The beach is fine, but just fine. The restaurant is good, which was a relief as there was nothing else around. Activities arranged through the hotel are very expensive and the quality of the experience is nowhere near commensurate with the cost. For example, we paid $30 each for a kayaking trip, were picked up by a motorcycle with side carriage which did not have enough power to transport three 6” foot adults up hills (we had to walk) and was so unsafe it was almost laughable. We then were dumped in kayaks in the most polluted water at a very industrial pier. Not a “magical experience in the mangroves” at all. The staff have very limited English so expect challenges with everything involving communication. Finally, at a resort in Thailand, one would expect a standalone facility for massages and other spa treatments. The only options were poolside (which was very exposed) and in your room (an unappealing option for me personally). I would have made use of these services but not in such a manner.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Poh L. from Australia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
A great cozy place to rest and relax.
Comfy accommodation, great free yoga and painting activities and beautiful sunset.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Etienne P. from Switzerland
Families with young children
Stayed one night in June 2012
Really beautiful
beach, garden, pool, loneliness
Reviewed April 04, 2013

Mikal H. from Norway
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2013
Nice and quiet
Near the beach, chef can cook market lobster for you, room is nice
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Sabari S. from India
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Paradise
Great staff, peaceful location, great rooms
If you are looking for a place to stay away from all the crowd, elixir is to the place for you. The resort is located in a remote village far from Phuket town. The location is calm and relaxing. There isn't nothing much to do in the island except for resort organized activities, and they do have some interesting activities. There were very few people in the beach, which was clean. Only drawback is you have to depend on the hotel for transfers which is quite expensive. Food was great too. Will recommend this resort for honeymoon couples.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Laszlo T. from Hungary
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in March 2013
Quiet location, probably best beach on the island
Nice environment, clean, nice beach
Good for rest, nice beach, quiet place. Staff could hardly understend english, but its not novelty in Thailand. There are some good possibility for entertainment, badminton, beach ball etc, but the equipments worn out and they are not capable to replace them even after ! Asked them for several times The beach is cleaned every day, still there are many broken bottles, glass is all around, very dangerous! If I was running this hotel, I would have get these bottles collected immediately. Still the place is ok for a week to stay
Reviewed March 18, 2013

M A. from Pakistan
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
Pleasant trip but unaccommodating staff
Scooter rentals to explore this wonderful untouched island, access to scuba snorkeling kayaking & speed boat trips, Very comfy bed, massages & super friendly locals
Overall this was a good place to just get away from it all :)
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lisa W. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Peaceful and relaxing excape
Quiet, great food, big private pools
Our stay was great! The perfect way to end our 5 week trip through some counties in SE Asia. The resort is hidden away off a main road. This was the most quiet and peaceful place! It felt like we were the only ones there. Could hear the birds and other nice sounds from nature...no longtail boats going by the private beach. It is a bit more run down then the pictures on the website but we were happy with it! The Deluxe private pool villas were the most private with great views!
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Rikke N. from Denmark
Families with older children
Stayed 7 nights in February 2013
Great place - peaceful
peaceful
A nice place to get away from the touristy parts og Thailand
Reviewed March 07, 2013

Mercedes V. from Spain
Families with young children
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
Wonderful quiet spot
Great staff thanks to Gino and Scott, gorgeous quiet private location
located on a very quiet part of koh yao yai, this hotel is for those seeking quiet as there is literally no other adjacent resorts or town to speak of nearby. you have wonderful western facing sunset views over phuket and a more or less private beach. the rooms are fine, we stayed in a superior villa right next to the pool area and it was fine. you won't get 6 star service from most of the local staff, but gino the gm and scott the chief chef are incredibly friendly, helpful and service oriented to making your stay relaxing and enjoyable. the island is predominantly muslim so there is no beer or liquor for sale outside the hotel and there is very little of a town to speak of, so most all your meals are eaten at the hotel (thank goodness scott is there and customizing the menu). if you are expecting extremely new accomodations and a glitzy stay, this is probably not the spot, but it does feel incredibly comfortable and authentic. it's down a dirt road but has great ais mobile phone connection (don't think other carriers worked), somewhat ok wifi in the public areas ... no internet in rooms to speak of. chill, no frills, comfy spot with very few tourists around. have to take a speedboat from phuket to get there and on windy days there can be very big waves and can get quite choppy. we had two very small kids so i would suggest trying to get on a bigger boat if it feels windy and/or sit in the middle of the speedboat cabin. we caught the last boat out and they packed it probably far above capacity. didn't feel very safe with small kids and a very windy day. fortunately it was only about 25 minute trip. otherwise was no problem. going over on speedboat was not a windy day and didn't feel too bad. rent motorcycles from the shops outside the main entrance for 250 baht a day and you can cruise around the island and/or go over to koh yai noi which we didn't get to but apparently has restaurants or other things to see.
Reviewed February 23, 2013