Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 215 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 215 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.4

Lena G. from Sweden
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Great Beach, good service, nice basic rooms.
Beautiful Beach!
Ok standard on the bungalows. Nice and big terasses. The Beach was beautiful - probably the best on the island. Restaurant was ok. Lots of activities available. The Spa area is right by the pool - no privacy. The big minus was the snorkling tour we went for - a real tourist trap. To a tiny reef with 1000 tourists coming with tourboats from Phuket etc. Lots of market stands and very touristic, in the worst way. And the snorkling wasn't even good. Not what you expect when you are on such a beautiful island as Koh Yao.
Reviewed January 08, 2013

Erin A. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
nice resort
location
Other than the manager, who is unfortunately leaving, the staff was not as prepared as I felt they should be for the price paid. Drinks were small. Service was very slow. Food was better than expected. Though they are not part of the hotel, the Elixir dive shop was run by amateurs. They were hungover from nights previous and missed most of their scheduled trips. They weren't willing to work with solo travelers. You're better off saving money and walking outside the village and talking to a local to get you where you need to go. Unfortunately, the hotel is owned by someone who is very hands off. Not sure if he doesn't know or care about the lazy, sophomoric mentality that pulls his this place from a proper resort down to beach side fraternity show. Many families and other guests were disappointed as well during my time there. Saving graces: an effective manager who is sadly leaving, local culture, location
Reviewed January 07, 2013

ruth M. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in December 2012
Wonderful hotel, great beach, perfect sunsets,
Great service
Lovely beach and clean sea, nice pool, attentive friendly staff and nice restaurant. Very quiet and remote so bliss for those seeking escape
Reviewed January 05, 2013

Claire U. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Very remote but overpriced!
Very remote and peaceful, beachfront location and nice pool.
Hotel - it was very nice and as promised very remote, peaceful and relaxing! The room was lovely and provided fantastic views to wake up to. Our rate included breakfast which was very nice too. I do feel however, that the hotel takes full advantage of the remoteness of both the island and the hotel location and overprice both their rooms and services. Food, drinks, scooter hire and massage were all at least double the price we paid in all other areas in which we stayed in Thailand. It can't be argued that it's due to importing goods from the mainland either as if you explore out of the hotel grounds you will find prices in keeping with the rest of Thailand. Unfortunately I didn't find the staff particularly friendly or welcoming either. Koh Yoh Yai - very remote with not much to do other than relax. Would definitely recommend hiring a scooter to venture around the island and get a real sense of how remote and undeveloped it is!
Reviewed January 04, 2013

Daniel N. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Great quiet and relaxing hotel
Peaceful, good food, nicest beach on island
Stayed at the glow elixer for four nights. The rooms were very clean and the outdoor shower was refreshing after the hot sunny days on the beach. The food (both western and Thai) were quite good. Price was reasonable as well. Breakfast didn't have the greatest selection but was alright. Rented a scooter and toured the entire island, checked out all the beaches and glow elixirs was definitely the best. Its a bit rocky but all the beaches on the koh yao's are. If you are looking for white sand beaches DO NOT STAY HERE!! The koh yao's are meant for those who want to get away from the crowds and truly experience some peace and quiet. There is a dive shop on the resort as well. We found the prices to be a bit high but there aren't many people with you if you go ( 6 at max I believe) so if you don't like the crowded tour boats it might be a good idea to go out with elixir divers. All in all a great hotel If you're looking for some quiet time.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Edward B. from United States
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
Great Service, Quiet location.
snorkeling/Scuba available without leaving the resort, Quiet island location.
We arrived in the off season. We had booked a villa and upon arrival were upgraded to one of the pool villas. Excellent view from the villa that was right on the beach. Everything is located such that ammenities are only moments away. We were there for a week and service was excellent. There is a dive shop on the resort property. A regular long tail boat is available and makes regular excursions to nearby attractions, picks up right on the resort beach.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Gary H. from
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Great Hotel, Great Staff
The rooms and the view!
Elixir is an excellent hotel in an amazing location! Koh Yao Yai is the best island I have been to in Thailand, so untouched by tourism (there is only 6 resorts on the entire island). We stayed in the standard room which was beautiful but there are more expensive rooms which are incredible! We met the general manager, Nina, who was great! She was very accommodating and would go around each evening talking to all of the guests. The food at the restaurant was delicious, with excellent service. I would recommend hiring a motorbike and driving around the island, its fantastic! I am desperate to go back to Kho Yao Yai and stay at Elixir again!!!!
Reviewed October 31, 2012

suteetida U. from Thailand
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
small room
nothing I like
Reviewed October 21, 2012

VIJAYALAKSHMI H. from India
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Lovely place for honeymoon couple
Honeymoon destination
Its a best resort for honeymoon couple or for people who want to relax for some days. If you are a adventures person then it will be little disappointment. I felt 3 days is more than enough to enjoy here for other than honeymoon couple :). food was very nice. Manager is from outside so no problem to communicate in English. communicating with other staff is quit difficult but you still can manage because they behave very well. I faced communication gap while ordering food other than that it was fun to talk to staff. Movie collection was good.(original copies) One disappointment is that other than resort nothing to do in island.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Sarah P. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Be prepared to extend your vacation!
View of the sunset, proximity to the beach, restaurant food, selection of activites
I stayed two nights in Phi Phi and three nights on Koh Yao Yai at Elixir Resort. After the first night, I regretted going to Phi Phi at all. From the moment you check in and taste the cold, iced, lightly sweetened lemon tea welcome drink, you know you've come to a refreshing and relaxing place. The resort features yoga, cooking classes, motorbike rentals, kayaking trips, and diving/snorkeling opportunities for a small premium. They were renovating the rooms when I arrived (I was quite impressed with the lack of noise or otherwise evidence thereof... I only knew of the renovations because a staff member told me), so I was upgraded to the Deluxe Villa, which offers a view second best only to the ocean front villas. Breakfast was included with the room, offered in three sets to choose from, and was one you'll look forward to every morning. You can dine on the patio directly in front of the beach and take pictures that will make everyone enviously happy for you. Niina, the manager, went out of her way to ensure each guest received the vacation they were seeking, whether a couple, a family, or the solo adventurer, and is a wealth of information about Koh Yao Yai and Phuket. If you're looking to get away from it all and not interested in being herded along with packs of vacationing tourists, this resort and this island will suit your needs effortlessly.
Reviewed October 08, 2012