Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 763 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 763 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Simon H.
New Zealand
August 05, 2012
A place that grows on you
Reasonable pakage
A good place to stay, especially with kids. There were many families around and the kids looked and sounded like they were totally enjoying the place. After staying in a five star the previous night, we found the place a little rougher in certain ways, but as we adjusted the experienced improved. We got breakfast and dinner with our reservation so an excellent package as both were pretty decent.

Cravenkeo K.
United States
August 02, 2012
Great location to the beach, big hill to climb
Cheap rooms in July, Five Star accommodations and service!
Great stay and location... Only thing that may bother people is the big hill leading to the hotel, but if you are coming back between 9am and 9pm they have a hotel shuttle you can call to get you at the bottom of the hill. We enjoyed the walk some times, but the shuttle got us a couple of times. The beach is great and the rooms are very nice. It is within walking distance from a couple of nice restaurants and bars and you can get a shuttle to patong or the other Horizons near by once a day and go shopping or siteseeing. There is a lot to do, but we lounged on the beach during the day and bar hopped at night. it was a great stay all together. Very nice staff and breakfast and dinner was included, both were very good and filling. The pool is also very nice but the pool bar took a while to make the drinks.

John R.
Australia
July 30, 2012
Great place to stay
Food was extremely nice
Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice place to stay if you want just out of the hussle and bussle of Patong. Short tuk tuk ride to Patong if you want busy shopping. Horizon also had a curtosy vehicle that went in and out of Patong 5 times a day which was great. Cheap and relaxing. Plenty of places to get a massage and get your washing done close by. Loved it

Matthew M.
United States
July 27, 2012
Terrible location and no sense of customer service
Buffet breakfast and dinner included in price of room
We will never stay at this hotel again. As noted in the title of this review, the location is terrible and the service is poor. We arrived for check-in around 12:30 p.m. Although the hotel was clearly not full, we were told that we could not check until 2:00 p.m. per hotel policy. I understand that 2:00 p.m. check-in is standard industry practice, but when the hotel is clearly not full (and especially because we were traveling with a small child), there is no logical reason to make us sit around the lobby for 1 1/2 hours before we can check in. And sit around the lobby we did because the hotel is on the top of a steep hill that is several hundred meters from the beach, and then once you get to the lobby, the rooms themselves are another 100 meters or so up the same steep hill, and we were on the third floor and the hotel has no eleveators! So, from our room, a "simple walk to the beach" with our child (which was the whole point of our trip to Phuket)required an exhausting trek (in the tropical heat no less). The hotel "offers" a free tuk tuk service to the beach, but on three occasions I tried to use the service, the driver was always "delivering luggage to another guest's room." They say the hotel was built in 2005, but it easily looks and fells like it is 20-30 years old. One reason I chose this hotel was because it appeared to have a nice gym, but I was not permitted entry because I did not have proper training shoes. I understand such a requirement in highly regulated western societies, but I did not expect to encounter such a rigid stance in Phuket of all places. In there interest of space, I will stop here, but could easily go on and on.

Gabrielle T.
Australia
July 25, 2012
Love this hotel 4th stay and very happy
location, staff, amenities
This is a well priced family hotel love staying here cannot fault it.

Louise M.
Australia
July 21, 2012
Disappointed
The rooms were clean and the gym was well maintained
We booked this hotel based on its four star rating and expected a very good standard. However, we were disappointed with the hotel from the start of our stay, and feel that this hotel is definitely more like a three star hotel at best in some areas. The rooms, though clean and tidy are dated and definitely not luxurious. The general facilities also have a general 'run down' feeling about them. There is a terrible stench of sewage around the privilege pool area which does not give it a very relaxing atmosphere. The food that we ate at the restaurant, for room service and in the privilege lounge was mediocre at best and often quite awful. The food in the privilege lounge was downright indelible and not what I'd call a privilege to eat! The restaurant itself had the atmosphere of a school cafeteria. The staff were quite disorganized and we had to request drinks, etc several times before they came. The buffet food was hit and miss and certainly not of the same quality I have experienced at any other four star resorts. Some of it, again, was inedible or totally unappealing. Overall, we were very disappointed with our stay here and sorry that we wasted our holiday and money on such a mediocre hotel. We even tried to ask for a refund so that we could move to another hotel, but because of the deal we'd booked (and fully paid for) the management refused a refund. Lesson for us: don't book and fully pay until you see what you're getting!! Will not be returning!

sue K.
July 21, 2012
great value resort
spacious rooms
great location high on a hill with easy access to beach, shops and services. Rooms clean, service good and buffet great value. Lovely pool in privilege club area.

Meagan K.
Australia
July 16, 2012
Great hotel
Great buffet breakfast and dinner
The hotel is located up a hill, the hotel provides a tuk tuk to take you up and down till 9pm. The hotel has lots of things to do, the kids loved it. The buffet breakfast and dinner is fab, each evening they have a theme night which is great, very indulgent, not good for dieters. Our room was the 3rd floor which was fine for us, but the less mobile would fine it difficult as there is no lift. I would stay here again.

Aleksandar V.
New Zealand
July 09, 2012
Wonderful
Location, amenities, staff.
we usually spend our winter holidays in europe but this year decided to visit thailand. trip advisor site was of a great help in choosing where to go and stay and we decided on horizon in karon beach. we loved the hotel, relaxed atmosphere and ever smiling and helpful staff members. our room had a pool view and some limited sea view. some people complained about tv in room was not an lcd but we never had a chance to turn it on. also some complained that the bed is to hard but we never had any troubles falling asleep and having a good night rest. food, breakfast and dinner was fabulous , there is something for everyone, even for very fussy eaters, the only thing i noticed was absences of cheese for breakfast buffet but one day there was a roast duck for breakfast so no complaints. drinks can be purchased in restaurant and are very reasonably priced apart for wine, again we had a french red and price was 1000 baht, expensive for thailand but last year in greece similar bottle of wine we paid 60 euro's. hotel location is perfect, not far from anything, on the hill and every evening after dinner we went for a stroll around karon or kata beach, again some people complained that hill is too hard to walk but no problems at all and if you do not want to walk there is tuk-tuk to take you up or down. hotel pools are great the only complaint s that last two days some unruly kiwi tourist decided to start jumping in the pool from waterfall creating great havoc. to conclude we were very happy with everything and are going back to horizon in december.

Woo L.
Singapore
July 01, 2012
Great service and food
Breakfast and Dinner included
the service is good and worth the price as breakfast and dinner are included. good spread of buffet for dinner and with different theme every night...plus live performance at certain nights during dinner. one disadvantage is no free wifi for all room types.