Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 763 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 763 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.8

Trevor G. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 14 nights in June 2012
Wonderful family resort full of friendly smiles
Service, pool, friendliness, facilities, food, location, kids club programs
We booked our stay here with 3 young children and enjoyed it so much we extended it for a third week, The resort is superb value for money. The food at both breakfast and dinner is wonderful as is the service. From the moment we checked in we have been greeted by the warmest smiles and genuine service. In particular our children feel so liked and cared for and have had the best time on holidays ever. The location of this resort is also fantastic. It is in a family friendly area of Phuket next to Kata town at the bottom of the hill. The resort runs a tuk tuk up and down the hill for those that choose to use it however donät let that confuse or worry you over the easy stroll up. Likewise, the excitement of Patong is a 15 min shuttle ride away. This is provided as a return journey several times a day for free by the hotel. Another exceptional aspect to the value of this resort.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Robert B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Nice hotel quiet location
Value for money, good food and friendly staff
we found our booked room musky and noisy because there were families with young kids next door. after one night we upgraded to the privilege wing at a discounted 500 baht a day. very pleasant with mid day snacks and complimentary drinks. there is a hotel tuk tuk for rides down the hill to the beach. there is a phone box at the drop off to call for the ride back. there was plenty of good food for breakfast and dinner but the restaurant was pretty warm. we enjoyed our stay.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Adam H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Great place to stay away from Patong
Nice rooms, good facilities, quiet
We stayed in the Club wing for 4 nights on a recent trip. Unfortunately for us the weather wasn't great and we weren't able to make use of the great looking pool and swim up bar. Found the rooms to be very well appointed. Wifi coverage was good in general. Found the hill from the beach road up to the resort challenging in the heat. Nice short walk to the main shopping area of Karon/Kata. Only 400thb tuk tuk trip from Patong
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Maria M. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 8 nights in June 2012
best hotel in Karon great staff.
clean and relaxing environment, lovely pool
We loved the hotel this is our second time here.We stayed 8 nights. Rooms were very clean we got two rooms next to each other. We had dinner every day at the hotel as part of our package, food was plenty and delicious.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Fiona B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012
lovely hotel
lovely surroundings
we really enjoyed the hotel only things are the beds are very hard and its quite far from the main strip of restaurants and shops so you do have to walk quite far. 4 minute walk to the beach. they offer free shuttle up and down the hill or you can walk the steep hill. breakfast was really nice but you have to climb up 3 flights of stairs so no good if you can't cope with stairs. overall we were happy.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Darren R. from Australia
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Great hotel and location
Private Pool and Lounge area to relax without any children and the staff are all so friendly
This was the 3rd time I had stayed at the Horizon in Karon due to it's location outside of Patong, but its free shuttle to and from Patong. It's close to great shops, bars and restaurants in Kata/Karon and the staff are all so friendly. In the Club Wing it is for over 18's only and you have your own Private Pool and swim up bar.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Pamela W. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 7 nights in June 2012
great hotel with family friendly service
the pool areas, buffet breakfast and buffet dinners
A great time was had by all our family. The buffet meals were great as we had young children and were able to feed them the appropriate size meals and also add some treats for them. The pool area was very welcome and the kids club was used on a casual basis as one of our children was too young to be left by herself. (She would have loved to stay though)
Reviewed June 14, 2012

WU Y. from China
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
location is not so good.
The Karon beach is very good...
1. The food is not as good as expected; 2. The location is not as expected as located beside the beach but a little bit far from the Karon Beach; 3. Water of the swimming pool is not as the picture showing to us. No free WIFI access at all (not as the agoda website indicated), even I just need to access the internet for one hour through my Iphone, I was asked to pay for it!!!
Reviewed June 13, 2012

KOH K. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Lovely hotel with lovely rooms, pools and staff
breakfast and dinner included, nice swimming pool and spacious rooms
Lovely Thai-style hotel on a hill slope at the far end of Karon beach, with a very nice multi-level swimming pool and a smaller pool for young children. We were very surprise and delighted to be upgraded to superior sea view room on checking in. The room is spacious with romantic ambience and a view overlooking the Karon beach. There was heavy rain during our second and third day of stay. Our sleep were disturbed by the noise created by strong wind blow against the sliding door at the balcony. It was lucky for us to have dinner included as bad weather make travelling out of hotel difficult. The food was good. Dinner was served with a different theme every night, e.g Japanese on Monday, Thai style on Tuesday (with thai cultural dance and music), Brazilian on Wednesday etc. There was live performance during dinner every night. Complementary shuttle service to Patong is available 4 times a day but the earlist is at 1300 hour. The staff are pleasant, friendly and helpful. It's a good and nice hotel but older people with mobility problems will have difficulty moving from one place to another in the hotel, e.g restaurant on top floor. Wifi is free only for clients staying at club wing. (They have their own private pool as well)
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Jessica W. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012
Excellent service
The staff were so friendly and helpful and spoke good English. It was a lovely atmosphere.
The resort is at Karon beach which is quite quiet and sleepy at this time of year which we thought was a positive aspect. Less than 10 minutes by taxi or tuk tuk (the resort has a regular free shuttle bus which will reurn you as well, very good but be sure to book in advance) to Patong beach for crazy nightlife and restaurants galore! The resort sits up on a hill, there is a gently sloping hill maybe 150m to get the the main road and beach. We didn't mind walking, there is a free tuk tuk but we never used it. Can seem a long way on the way back up when it is hot. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy, typical very firm mattress for Asia. The breakfast was always yummy and plenty of food. Our booking included free dinner at the restaurant which we only used once and the food was a bit lack lustre but what do you expect for free! There is entertainment on Tuesday evening in the restaurant which was....entertaining!
Reviewed June 09, 2012