arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Kamala Beach Resort - A Sunprime Resort

96/42-3 Moo 3, Kathu, Kamala, Phuket, Thailand 83150

Excellent 8.2
Based on 719 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 719 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Staff Performance 8.3
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8

9.7 Raven D.
Australia
January 28, 2012
Beautiful hotel and great location
good prices for food and drink for a hotel, great location for relaxing
Good prices for food and drink for a hotel, great location for relaxing. If you want to chill and enjoy the beach without 100's of people bothering you this is the spot to stay. Only 10 min tax to the major night life in Patong if you want to go out. But nice and away from it all to relax.

9.3 Nichola P.
Australia
January 23, 2012
Great hotel away from Patong
Right on the beach
have stayed at this hotel many times and will do so again in the future. they are continually making improvements to the grounds/restaurant/facilities etc. while the hotel may be a couple of beaches up from the maddness of patong, this adds to its appeal and makes it a more relaxing style of hotel. the township of kamala provides plenty of opportunity to shop and find a place to eat or to get a massage, so traveling into patong is not necessary for those things. the hotel is spacious and divided into two sections where families have one section (the newer section) and couples/singles have the other section (older section but closer to the beach - which is just a footpath away). all in all a good hotel.

9.7 Americo D.
Australia
January 22, 2012
Right on the beach and friendly staff
A/C!!! Pools and cocktail bars
We stayed at Kamala Beach for 5 days and nights. My partner had gone there before and wanted to take me there. I had my preconceptions of what Thailand would be and they weren't nice. I must say that I had a great time within the resort and out of it. I would highly recommend going there and I might see you there as we are planning our next trip.

8.3 Andrey C.
United States
January 22, 2012
Wish I had stayed there for longer!
Pools, close to beautiful beach, a place to relax
i only got to spend one night at the kamala beach resort, and i am kicking myself for not staying here for longer! the hotel, amenities, and grounds are excellent! sure, there's definitely a lot more retirees than younger folk here, but the age minimum helps to keep the atmosphere at a certain level. upon check-in, you are given a nice welcome drink (we had a rosella juice in a posh wine flute) and are presented your keys and list of resort activities available on premise. this is indeed a resort after all! when we checked in, the staff were quite busy helping other guest but they remained courteous and friendly. the room (we got a free upgrade to a first floor pool-access room) was huge, had lots of comfy details like luxe bathrobes, a nice bathroom, etc. my only qualm, and maybe i should have called to get my room changed, was that there seemed to be some moth larvae/cocoons just chilling on the ceiling. it was a little creepy, but hey, it's thailand, there will be insects!! the hotel is right along the beautiful kamala beach, and there is a nice strip of waterfront restaurants, cafes, and even thai massage right along the beach. the vendors and locals there are so much more relaxed and not pushy and in-your-face like they are in patong. i really liked that about kamala! the only thing i didn't quite like was dealing with the bell hops at the resort--tipping is generally not expected throughout thailand, but because the staff here cater so much to foreigners, they actually hang around in your room after delivering your luggage and won't go away until you give them a tip! look, i don't mind tipping, but when someone expects me to tip, that's not really appropriate.

8 RYO O.
Japan
January 20, 2012
Good location, reasonal price.
Can walk to beach in a minute. Nice swimiming pools.
Location is superb, just next to beach. Nice breakfast. Hotel stuffs seemed rather busy with rather many guests.

10 Kylie R.
Australia
January 18, 2012
Stunning Hotel and loved the pool bar!
Pool Bar, Staff were extremely friendly
This hotel was perfect, away from the hustle and bustle of Patong. Kamala beach is just amazing! The Staff were always friendly. Feels like you're living in a community. So relaxing!

7.7 Tom S.
Germany
January 17, 2012
Good hotel with friendly staff
The extension is beautiful and fits perfect to the old hotel and the biggest advantage are two more luxury large swimming pools with plenty of sun beds
Kamala Beach Resort is a stable hotel. We have been the 3rd time there and could find staff which we knew from previous stays. From this point I would not write any comments here but this year have we been disappointed from the beverage management. After ca. 2 days staying there was it not possible to order a Gin Tonic at any of the several bars. Reson: " we have no Tonic". The tonic water from the in Asis frequently used company Watson should arrive very soon. Actually it did not arrived until we left after a bit more than 2 weeks. It was not a general Phuket problem because in local supermarkets was Tonic available and we mixed our drinks in the room by ourselves.

10 Kate D.
Australia
January 17, 2012
Absolute luxury
friendliness, facilities, cleanliness, service
I travelled with a group of friends and we all absolutely enjoyed our time at Kamala Beach Resort. From visiting the massage hut right outside our hotel room door to relaxing at the pool bar. Multiple pools meant you never had to look far to find a chair by the pool, and with the beach just metres away it was hard not to unwind and have a brilliant holiday!

8 Tiziana E.
Canada
January 16, 2012
Nice resort style hotel on a busy beach
Beautiful pools
The hotel is a big resort on Kamala beach, with spacious, clean rooms, around 6 pools and 2 big restaurants. Personally, we prefer smaller kind of hotels and we found the beach to be too busy for our taste (although compared to Patong this is a quiet beach!). The restaurant hotels are expensive for Thai standards but there are plenty of other alternatives both on the beach and in Kamala village 5 minutes walk away.

9 Jennifer G.
Australia
January 12, 2012
Great location and fantastic sized rooms
Size of rooms, price of food in restaurant
this was a great hotel to stay at with a choice of four pools to swim in/laze around. the room (grand deluxe pool view) was huge with a balcony and just a step over the footpath to the sea. the staff were very helpful and polite. only gripe i have is that the new year's eve event was really expensive, although we weren't forced to attend it. food in the restaurants was a similar price to places just outside the hotel so we ate all our meals at the hotel. all in all a very relaxing place to stay.