Back to hotel info

Very good 8.0
Based on 408 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 408 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 7.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 6.9
Sort by

Derek L.
Australia
March 13, 2010
Lovely budget hotel
- clean and spacious room - free internet in the lobby - friendly and helpful staff
Nothing to complain.
We had the mini suite with the bath, with a view to sunset. That was lovely. The staff were courteous. There are 2 workstations in the lobby with free internet, which came very handy. The nightlife is a stroll down the hill, plenty of eating place and shops along the main road to the beach. A good spot to stay overnight for day trip/adventure to other islands around Phuket.

Jeffrey S.
United States
March 03, 2010
Great Budget choice
What's not to like for the price?
Nothing much. 4th floor walk up can be tiring. Nice to have a coffee maker in the room.
Didnt eat the food so cant comment on the restauarant, but it seems like a cozy and comfortable place for a quick bite. Rooms are very clean. Cold AC, Great water pressure although it did "wet up" the bathroom a bit. Shops and eateries all around it. Gets really really cheap thru agoda in the low season. There is a pretty nice AC gym a cuple hundred yards away from the hotel Just turn right as you leave the hotel

YOON K.
Vietnam
March 03, 2010
Cost-effective motel
Motorcycle rent fee was quite cheaper than usual rent shop outside. Around hotel, there are lots of street cafe where we can enjoy very delicious Thai food. Free wireline internet was also great.
WIFI was not yet supported. If your room is street-side, you have to stand motorcycle and car noise all day/night long.
As I couldn't get any hotel near Karon beach thru travel agent, I tried to find hotel by myself. Luckily I could find this hotel (actually it's just a motel) with incredibly reasonable price. If you ride a motorcycle, this place is really good. a bit far from Karon beach, but it's still not that far if you are patient enough to walk for 15 minutes. Motorcycle rent fee is 200BAHT (Usually it was 300BAHT) and cleaning, laundry service, receptionist are all kind and good.

DING H.
China
March 02, 2010
comfirt place to stay
big room, good service staff, good price
bad water

Adem A.
Turkey
February 20, 2010
Wonderful place to stay
Spacious rooms, free internet, relatively lower price and very friendly and helpful staff.
none
We stayed at Karon LR Hotel for a week and had nothing but good memories about it. I do not want to comment about its distance to beach as some other reviewers do because the hotel never claims it is next to the beach, moreover, unless you are elderly or have problems with walking I can not understand why people find that distance too much. After all it is a pleasant walk which takes around 10-15 minutes to the beach and you get to see some seafood restaurants and local life on the way. As for the staff, they were very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed was on the 2nd floor not facing the main road so the lack of elevator and noise was not a factor for us. When are you booking make sure you add those preferences in the comments section if you want to stay in that section.

Mariska B.
Netherlands
February 17, 2010
Karon Living Room Hotel
clean, spacious rooms, free internet available in the room
directly on the main road, rooms on that side suffer the traffic noise
It is a good place to stay if you're not visiting for a beach holiday. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are nice. Showers are hot and have plenty of waterpressure. We tried renting a motorbike from here, but they were all in a bad state, so decided to rent elsewhere. We didn't try the food there, so don't know.

Nicholas T.
United Kingdom
February 09, 2010
First time in Karon
Big rooms, Clean and Cheap.
No Lift, No Swimming Pool.
I liked the size of the rooms, the bathrooms were good and clean.I did'nt have breakfast so i can't comment on that.The staff at the front desk were helpful when we needed to hire a car for a few days.

Nicholas T.
United Kingdom
February 09, 2010
First time in Karon
Rooms are big, clean and cheap.
No lift, No Swimming Pool.
The rooms are a good size, the bathrooms are good and clean also, the staff at reception where helpfull when we needed to hire a car for a couple of days.The location is not 'on' the beach, but it is not far to walk to the beach.The road outside the hotel is noisey at night time, so sleeping can be difficult.

Samuel H.
United States
January 28, 2010
Met Our Expectations
- All the basic amenities (in working order) - Clean - Competent, polite staff - Choice of set breakfasts
- A somewhat remote location
Chose this for a first visit to Karon Beach (2nd to Phuket). Stayed one week. This is fairly basic accommodation wi aircon/TV/frig (these are not ocean-view rooms with a balcony!), but adequate in every respect. Room was spacious, but somewhat sparsely furnished (safe in room). Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room rate commensurate with a location one road back from the Beach Road, and a bit away from the main commercial (restaurants, bars, shops, etc.) concentrations. Not really a problem if you can handle some walking, and there seems to be NO problem with "short-cutting" through the large resort properties (e.g., Old Phuket; Movinpic) to get to the beach (which is VERY nice). Breakfast consists of a choice from one of four "sets" which is cooked to order and good. Overall - a good value in an otherwise expensive Phuket market.

Tana I.
New Zealand
January 12, 2010
Great place to stay on a budget
Close to Karon beach and shops. Very friendly staff. Extremely tidy rooms. Cheap!!!
For the price there isn't anything to complain about. Note that it doesn't have a sea view if that's what you're after
Karon Living Room Hotel is a great place to stay if you want to be close to the center of Karon beach but without having the extra luxuries (and expenses) attached to the resorts and flash hotels such as a swimming pool and a seaside location. This is not to say that the hotel lacks though - it has lots of tv channels, aircon and good powerful showers and is very tidy. And surely you're in Phuket for the beaches - you can go swimming in a pool at a resort anywhere in the world! Highly recommended