Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 1542 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1542 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 8.0

Nathalie S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 12 nights in August 2015
Upgrade
Freindly staff, great pools, good location
The katathani is a large resort with a very old wing at the back where we arrived & where booked in at a 5 star price, I would put it at a 2 star,very disappointed on arrival, had to upgrade the next day & off course pay more. The upgrade to the new area front of beach is very good. The 3 Bars are good but a variety of cocktail & food would be a good idea all 3 same same. Food at the Fisherman restaurant is very average & expensive. The buffet dinners are good & generous. The hotel cleanliness is fantastic the staff is extremely friendly obliging & trustworthy. Good area when thinking of beach front but have to travel in taxi every time you want to be out due to distance away from Kata , but in its favour very quiet area. overall good but expensive.
Reviewed August 29, 2015

Jake T. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Nice hotel
Location, Staff and Amenities
A nice hotel to stay with.
Reviewed August 26, 2015

ratthaphong W. from Thailand
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Upgrade of a Lifetime
Awesome Pools, Awesome Cocktails, Awesome In-Room Dining
We travelled as a group of 4 and made bookings for 2 superior rooms. We ended up getting free upgrade to Royal Thani Suite and that was AMAZING, with the beach just literally less than 50 steps from room. Pools were well-maintained and cocktails from the pool bars were top notch. Strongly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for kind-of private beach and relaxing time! Also, it's close to Chalong bay where most boats leave for islands nearby, and there're many eateries along Kata/Karon stretch, so location is great too!
Reviewed August 24, 2015

Greg A. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in August 2015
A gem in paradise
Location, facilities, and friendly staff
Terrific facilities in a great location - I had a great time. Friendly staff & rooms cleaned daily, although there seemed to be no way of predicting when - just remember to use your "I'm sleeping/please clean" card and everyone will be happy. :-)
Reviewed August 22, 2015

YUJI M. from Japan
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Large but cozy resort
Location, spacious rooms and gardens, and the beach
It is a bit far from the airport but the beach is almost private and the atmosphere is quiet and relaxed. In general we are satisfied with their service. But if I compare this resort to other 5stars, I think there is a room for improvement. Especially the staffers' behaviour, such as way of talking is not acceptable. Some of them are talking to us like police officers... Other than that I am pretty satisfied and consider to be there again.
Reviewed August 17, 2015

Tariq A. from United Arab Emirates
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Don't stay at the Bhuri wing.
Long beach. Number of swimming pools. Old building (Thani) well kept.
Disappointed. The Bhuri wing is made out of cheap material, MDF, including furniture. No sound proof. A/C full of mold. Almost no bathroom amenities. Not clean bed sheets and towels. Over rated. Don't recommend it at all.
Reviewed August 16, 2015

Patrick D. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in August 2015
Fantastic resort but flooding a concern
The pools, the staff, the pizza place
Overall we really enjoyed our stay, the pools and staff were amazing. .. however persistent flooding on their main access road and the cleanliness of the beach is a real concern. Additionally the resort should put on a regular shuttle that goes up and over the hill into Kata - where the majority of the restaurants and bars are.
Reviewed August 13, 2015

Telma C. from Portugal
Families with young children
Stayed 9 nights in July 2015
5 starts only at Thani Wing (not Bhuri Wing)
Thani Wing, beach, choice of restaurants across the street
We initially booked a Deluxe room at Bhuri Wing. Our room was in a high floor with a not so high balcony. Because we have a 18 months baby and we were going to stay for 9 nights, we requested to be placed in a ground floor room. The only two available rooms were next to the gym and by the lobby, busy and particularly noisy locations. The front desk staff was very helpful and understanding and we were upgraded to Thani Wing the next day. Our stay at Thani Wing was very pleasant, but people booking this Hotel must be aware that Bhuri Wing and Thani Wing are two worlds apart: Bhuri Wing is by no chance a five star facility. In fact, I would barely rate it as a 4 star facility.
Reviewed August 03, 2015

Imran G. from United Kingdom
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Good but problems with room
Location, Staff and Amenities
Great hotel and heck in experience was initially poor as hotel has two lobbies to check in. Check in right lobby was great. Put in a room far away from the lobby and amenities with a young infant and had to walk through a building area (not great as sometimes screw and debris on the route-cleaned quickly though). Room as so far away the paid internet did not work but this was fixed. Second night air conditioning broke down!!! Hotel was apologetic but did offer a free meal at the restaurant on our last day which was nice. The staff are certainly the main reason for going to this hotel.
Reviewed August 02, 2015

Tak C. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
A Neat Experience!
Breakfast at Katathani was nice. It served as a good start of the days during our stay. The hotel was right by the beach. We could walk down for a sun bath or a swim anytime we want.
Reviewed August 01, 2015