arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 8.0
Based on 123 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 123 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.7

cheah D.
Malaysia
July 29, 2010
Value for money stay
free internet access 24/7, near to beach, restaurant, all kinds of shop, and public transport,nice pool,friendly staff
door with key instead of keyless system, no view at some room, too expensive during peak season, warm at internet area.
check in was fast, room was clean.Booking thru internet was easy with cashless payment and fast.24 hours notice was good.At that charges, it is very reasonable eventhough it was non peak season.We enjoyed the distance to the beach, just a 5 minutes walk. Nearby have many restaurant to choose from. Easy to get taxi or bus or tuk-tuk, even have live performance at nearby restaurant. Massage centre nearby,otehr hotel too to choose from. I certainly would like to come back in future.

Hessy D.
Indonesia
July 28, 2010
Malai Hotel @ Karon
I like their room, its so clean & comfort. And it also safe, if you want to put your things in room while you away
it is little bit far from nite life.... Karon area is only for relax
I like their room, its so clean & comfort. And it also safe, if you want to put your things in room while you away. The price is cheap.... very worthied with the clean & comfort room that they provide. The staff also very warm.

SENG H.
Indonesia
July 11, 2010
My Experience at Malai House Hotel
Big room size for couple
Paassenger Lift is not always available
It was so nice to choose Malai House where it's east to get the beach for only 2 minutes by walk. The Internet was so fast for wifi connention in the room but the TV channel wasn't good because the television mostly got unperfect signal quality. The hotel is nearby to the Thai massage and so cheap for only 200 baht. Hotel lobby was good for leisure at the night. A lot of seafood with the best flavour.

SENG H.
Indonesia
July 11, 2010
My Experience at Malai House Hotel for Relax
Nice lobby with good attitude staffs of Hotel
High cost just for extra bed
I like the most parts to stay at Malai are the shop and food nearby where our group were not worry about far to go. But the price usualy high without good bargain. The Malai Hotel has nice swimming pool where the location just beside the lobby, Room provides the full facility and internet connection had an excellent signal strength

HUANG W.
China
July 09, 2010
Good value
2* price, 3* service
no airport transfer; facilities a little bit old
A good value hotel. pay 2 star price with 3 star service. free internet, swimming pool. walking distance to the beach. no public transport the airport.

Martha B.
Canada
April 02, 2010
Clean and comfortable
well maintained clean and comfrotable Bright nicely decorated large room with reallly nicely appointed bathroom (tub and shower Great Breakfast Friendly helpful staff Reaonablely close to the beach
none
We arrived in Karon Beach quite late on an Ais Asia flight from Hong Kong. WE were exhausted and very tired when we arrived at Sugar Plum. We were actually booked into the Malai House but the hotel was full so they upgraded us to the SugarPlam which is connected to Malai house. The staff were very friendly and spoke not bad English - ofered us a fruit drink while we checked in. My wife was especially happy when we got to the room it was big nicely decorated and comfortable. WE actually only booked the room one night before going on to a nore expensive hotel where we stayed a week - but my wife said she would have been quite happy to stay here instead for our whole holiday

Alvin Y.
Singapore
February 19, 2010
Value for money
I would say this is the 'older wing' of the sugar palm resort rather than the budget wing. Near to the beach,friendly staffs. Breakfast is acceptable. prefer this very much to a noisy patong beach!
Being the older wing of the sugar palm resort, Malai house is situated nearer towards the road, you can still hear bikes riding past and people singing KTV till about midnight
Value for money hotel. Dont mind staying here again if I come to Karon Beach. My fiancee and I enjoyed our stay very much

Barry M.
United Kingdom
December 30, 2009
Good Loction
The location
Hard Beds
The Location of this Hotel is very good, only minutes stroll from Beach and Nightlife. The downside is the Hard beds, and if you are unfortunate to have a room on the front side of hotel you will have to suffer loud music from bar opposite. When i complained about music at Midnight is was told by reception, don't worry because the music only goe's on untill 2.00.A.M. After a change of room, my stay was very good.

Kok-Leng K.
Malaysia
November 30, 2009
Malai House, Karon beach, Phuket; 16-20 Nov 2009
Breakfast buffet was wonderful. Proximity to beach - about 100 meters.
Proximity to surrounding night life - noisy.
My family and I had a good stay. We enjoyed the range offered in the breakfast buffet. Clean room and toilet. Courteous and helpful staff. Being close to the beach and other amenities makes it easy to access services. I would recommend Malai House to any tourist/visitor to Phuket and I will also look forward to going back myself.

Dawn K.
Singapore
November 20, 2009
Nice & clean hotel
Room is clean & nice, Location - very near to Karon beach.
Mattress is too hard.
Due to Malai House under renovation, we've got free upgrade to SugarPalm. Room is clean & nice with Bath Tub, parking lots available, Location is very near to Karon beach & away from the busy streets. Staffs were friendly & helpful. Pool access room seems interesting & will definately stay there again.