Back to hotel info

Very good 8.0
Based on 123 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 123 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.7
Sort by

Leon L.
Australia
May 23, 2012
Nice, modern hotel walking distance to Karon beach
Location, large rooms, modern, aircon, breakfast
We didnt actually stay at the Malai House Hotel as, upon checking in at Malai House, we were upgraded to the neighouring (superior) Supar Palm Hotel. No complaints - modern large room, very spacious. Convenient 5 min walk to Karon beach.

Belinda B.
United Kingdom
April 30, 2012
all the facilities of Sugar Palm at less cost!
amazing 50m pool in large gardens!
we arrived on a ferry from koh lanta two hours before check-in, but were given a welcome drink and pool towels and, once we had been given security tags for our luggage, were able to use the hotel's facilities. the pool is the longest we came across in thailand, with a air jets and a children's pool - some of the rooms come right out onto the pool! there is a large garden which small family groups were using and plenty of sunbeds. once we checked in i think we must have been upgraded as the rooms were amazing, with a bath, limited free mini bar and internet access! the rooms were cleaned each day and left with fresh flowers. the breakfast was more than adequate with a good choice and we wished we had time to stay here longer than our two days. the location is great for karon beach - very central - and only 5 mins walk - it is a lovely beach and there are plenty sun umbrellas and beds. there are more than enough shops and restaurants to keep you entertained at karon beach - with a good mix of western and thai influences to suit every taste! only down side was that we were charged for the hotel to book us a taxi to the airport, which was only 1 hour - book your own from one of the tour companies and i am sure you will get it cheaper!

Alicia C.
Spain
April 20, 2012
Great location, hotel and facilites
location, just 2 minutes walking to the beach; pool is amazing; The rooms are clean and big; free-wifi in the room also!
I already had a reservation in another hotel, bus 5 days beafore travelling i found a great offer for the Malai House. We were upgraded to Sugar Palm Hotel, both belong to the same business I think. They are next to each other. We had a bathtube and shower, a flatscreen, comfortable doublebed and free wifi in our room that even reached the pool area! You are just next to the mainstreet of Karon beach area, with a lot of restaurants and shops and the hotel is still in a quiet corner, so you will sleep really well. It is also only 2 minutes walk to the beach, it´s perfect!!

Chirarat T.
Thailand
April 19, 2012
Reasonable hotel in good location.
Near night spots/food areas/can walk to beach.
A bit disappointed with the third bed supplied, mattress hard. Good breakfast variety. Too few staffs, maybe personnels have to look after the various branches.

Jonathan B.
United Kingdom
April 10, 2012
Great location, limited facilities
Location
I had booked Malai House, but as it was the low season I was upgraded to Sugar Palm Resort instead - room was big as was bathroom. Location is excellent - in a quiet loctaion but only 5 mins walk to the beach! Free beer & soft drink in the fridge every day! They need to provide more sunbeds and also umbrellas by the pool - there are hardly any beds there and so no-one stays around the hotel during the day. This is short sighted management as more people there during the day means more potential customers to buy lunch/drinks/ice creams

steven R.
New Zealand
April 08, 2012
Quiet Basic Hotel in Phuket
Location right near the beach in Karon
Quiet hotel, massive rooms, nothing special but for the price was excellent value and comfortable. The staff were friendly and generally helpful. Overall, fairly happy.

Patrice V.
Australia
March 31, 2012
great location.
close to town and beach.
Enjoyed the stay. Great size room excellant value for money. The Malai is connected to the sugar palm. Therefore we were paying the lower price for the older hotel but with all the facilities of the sugarpalm.Two minutes walk to town and beach so if you don't plan to have transport it is a very convient position. The pool was really big which we found great as my partner likes to do laps. The room was older but a great size with everything we needed and clean.We also had a small sea view through the large windows, no balcony. We will stay at the Malai again.

Engkiong L.
Singapore
November 13, 2011
Clean and comfortable hotel cheap but classy
Lift available for lazy travelers
great stay at malal house as staff were friendly and would pay special attention to any requests one might make. internet service is supuerb with little/no lag. great library of movies and documentaries available for rent if one decides to spend the rest of the afternoon lazing with snacks. swimming pool available for fitness enthusiast. overall great experience staying at this hotel

Jeremiah L.
Singapore
September 10, 2011
A great deal for a hotel!
Affordable, Comfortable, Good and friendly staff.
My stay at the Malai House Hotel was enjoyable, it's really affordable for such a nice hotel, and the internet service on the computers they had were really fast even though they had no wifi. The staff were friendly, and it was overall a really good stay.

YOUYOU Y.
China
July 25, 2011
Great location and best service
location and service very good
i would like to go back to stay in the same hotel if i'm going to Phuket next time