arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 8.0
Based on 310 reviews
Very good 7.8
Based on 199 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 310 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.6

8.7 SHARON T.
Australia
March 07, 2013
Great hotel
the service was fantastic
It was a great place to stay especially if you have children. Lots for the children to do and a fantastic swimming and play area along with a playgroup if you just want some time out

6.3 Anonymous
Australia
May 28, 2015
Pleasant
Pool bar staff were nice
Staff were rude, cooking class was dreadful and the outside was flooded and staff not interested in assisting to get to access to and from the hotel.

5.8 Jacinta
Australia
May 28, 2015
Okay
Staff were very unhelpful

9.3 TONY P.
Australia
February 28, 2013
Idealistic Resort where the Guests feel Rewarded
The Merlin cateres for individuals to families if only by its layout, but there is so much more to experience by being there.
The Merlin's Pool side rooms around the adult pool are a blessing in a hot environment. Make your own drinks made in your air conditioned room, then sip them on your veranda while the sun melts more than the ice, slide into the pool to cool off and then do it again ! A lazy afternoon or evening perfect to de-stress. Cause tomorrow we explore the facilities of "The Merlin Beach Resort" that are to many to fully utilize if you intend to see Phuket. The Merlin's atmosphere was a perfect background for the holiday I needed.

6.3 Ivan H.
Malaysia
February 27, 2013
Lovely lobby , staff and breakfast
Very good breakfast
The hotel is overall good , with very efficient staff , very good breakfast , big swiming pool forchildren, however the downside of the horel is the beach we expect a private and sandy beach turn out is is rocky beach side no no for swiming

3.8 Anonymous
Thailand
April 19, 2015
Uncleanliness
We checked into the hotel, but when went to sleep the bed was dirty and filthy. We told the front desk about it and we had to ask to speak to the manger. The manger didn't seem very concerned like...

7.5 Maxikaya
Azerbaijan
April 17, 2015
Family Reunion
It was a family reunion, and was an exceptional holiday. I am not sure how much of it was the hotel. The hotel is very cosy, and 5 min drive to Patong. The food was very good.
You have to take a cab or to rent some wheels to access to Patong. The shuttle just didn't work for us. The only cocktail i had was a mochito, and i would not recommend it. Bottled drinks did ...

6.7 Zarah T.
Australia
February 21, 2013
Great hotel and location
Fantastic pools
Hotel overall needs a bit of a face lift (hasn't changed since the last time I visited in 2004) but still a wonderful place to stay with family. Air conditioning issues when we arrived but we were relocated to another suitable room. Lots of in-house restaurants with many food options. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The free shuttle bus was great to get you back and forth from Patong. Will definitely return for our next Phuket holiday.

8.3 Malkan K.
India
February 21, 2013
"Lovely hotel and service with a smile
Service, swimming pool & atmosphere
Pleasent place & enjoyed a lot at Merlin beach resort

9.6 Vicky
Australia
April 15, 2015
Exceptional
Beautiful resort with private beach. Lovely pool areas and quiet rooms.
Very slow wifi

7.5 Anonymous
Australia
April 07, 2015
Mixed opinion on this resort.
My daughter was married here and the Wedding Co-Ordinator was wonderful. Everything was beautifully organised.
Whilst this resort provides many facilities I do feel it is pricy given its location. Some of the staff were not quite so helpful; others were simply wonderful. The cleanliness and comfort was very ...

7.7 Mark S.
United States
February 20, 2013
Wonderful
Quiet, beautiful setting
high season so adjacent city was crazy. we could travel in and out as we pleased. would return and request first floor room that steeped out into pool.

9.3 ROBERT U.
New Zealand
February 17, 2013
Awesome place to stay
Pool bar
Excellent place to stay. Great location friendly staff. The rooms where clean with great views of the Pool and beach If you want a romantic getaway or just relax by the pool. This is the place to stay. There are plenty of things to do as a family to. With great restaurants you don't even need to leave the resort, it's all there. I highly recommend this resort

7.1 Tony
Thailand
March 30, 2015
Good
Lack of facilities and service at the beach. Mediocre restaurants.

9.6 Liliana
Macau
March 08, 2015
Great wedding in a great...
Everything! The suite was amazing, very nice decorated for our honeymoon night. Room service with tasty food and acceptable prices. Very friendly and attentive staff. Loved our stay so so much!
Can't think of anything we didn't like!

8.3 michel A.
France
February 17, 2013
Large quality resort 3 km south from Patong beach
peacefull location, large resort, great room with balcony with direct access to the swimming pool (not all rooms)
Logistic is probably the only problem for this hotel. If you rent a car or motorbyke, then this is a perfect location to enjoy a large resort with 3 swimming pools, direct access to a private beach and with good value for money. The staff is both kind and serious.

5.7 Jonathan C.
China
February 13, 2013
Nice pool
the hotel have 3 large swimming pools.
I booked a deluxe twin room via Agoda during a special promotion period. Thus I was very disappointed when I was told upon arrival that there was no such type of room available for me any more. Actually the reason I chose this hotel is that I have two sons who are 8 years and 21 months old respectively and hoped the whole family could stay in one room. I was more upset when the receptionists told me that the sofa was comfortable for sleeping. They seemed have no imagination that how difficult it was for my two kids and their mom sleep in one bed whilst I use the sofa. At my insistence, the hotel finally offered an additional bed free of charge. I don't know whom I should blame, Agoda or the hotel.. Overall speaking, the hotel staffs are hospital and many of them have difficulty in speaking a good English. The food in the hotel are not bad. But we were busy in dealing with the flies during breakfast time. I wonder whether the hotel could do anything about it. Transportation from airport to the hotel is 50 minutes. The location is not attractive. It would be my last time to stay in this hotel.

10 Naeem
South Africa
March 02, 2015
Awesome Stay. Definitely coming back.
It was a lovely stay. Hopefully I will be visiting this resort again and I have recommended it to my family members.
The only thing I didn't like is that I could hear all the noise on the top floor above me. Your guests above me were moving furniture all the time and I could hear all the footsteps as if they ...

10 Sarah
Australia
February 25, 2015
Merlin Beach Resort was amazing,...
The pools were amazing and where the resort was situated was perfect because it wasn't right in the center of town with all the hustle and bustle, but it was only a 5 minute drive away so it was ...

8.7 MARK F.
Australia
February 09, 2013
'' Lovely relaxing resort, out of the hustle"
friendly staff, clean rooms, great swimming pools,
The staff cleaners especially went out of their way to say hello and meet your requests. The breakfast was good with plenty of variety. The resort was a little way out of the main patong city which had it's pro's and cons. The resort edid offer a free shuttle bus into the town but this only went at limired times of the day/night. It some ways i enjoyed the resort being a little way out as it was quiet, and felt safe. the pools are amazing! you can easily just stay at the resort all day swimming and utilising the pool bar and restaurant. overall we had a great stay and i have no complants.