arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
All reviews (2689)

Business travelers (37)

Couples (1408)

Solo travelers (401)

Families with young children (271)

Families with older children (172)

Groups (400)

Excellent
8.3
based on 2689 reviews
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Facilities
7.9
Location
8.8
Room Comfort/Standard
8.5
Staff Performance
8.4
Value for Money
8.3
Food/Dining
7.6

8.3 Sharath P.
United Kingdom
January 02, 2013
Good hotel at the perfect location
Location and service
We had a very good stay at the R Mar resort and spa. The rooms were of decent size, but the shower was not in the best of condition as the water would seep through and fall on the floor. Would any day recommend for couples as the location is perfect and its just 10 mins walk to Patong beach and Bangla road.

7.3 Danny W.
Malaysia
January 04, 2013
Hidden Place
Quiet and Hidden
This hotel is a bit hidden and turn out to be quite interest. The room is clean and nice. Everything was great and nothing to complaint about.

9.3 Shuri F.
Japan
December 19, 2012
Spacious Rooms and Nice Location
Location in middle of everything, spacious rooms, great pool, short walk to Patong Beach.
Stayed in a room facing the pool. Great view. However, for the rooms with the pool view, there is no lift and you must walk upstairs. If you have heavy luggage make sure the bell boys help you bring them upstairs. Sometimes there was booming club noise & fireworks at night from bars nearby, but hey, you are in Patong what can you do. Overall, had a great stay.

8 seeh K.
Malaysia
December 17, 2012
Great location, rooms and service
Location, service and spacious and clean room
Good service by the staffs, very friendly and helpful and even walked us to the beach when we asked for directions. Location is near to shops and food, just that the road to main road is abit bumpy. The room is spacious and clean.

8 Meng W.
China
December 21, 2012
pleasant stay in general
close to bangla road but quiet at night
it was a pleasant stay at R Mar. Just say the name any taxi driver will take you there. A block away from Bangla Rd, night life center. Surprisingly quiet at night! Maybe cuz it's located at the end of a small lane. A waiter at the door was pretty nice. Breakfast was decent. Swimming pool is ok, closes at 7pm everyday. Free minibar or wifi, take your pick. Generally, it's a nice place to stay on batong beach.

8 abdul S.
Singapore
December 21, 2012
Great location
Centrally located, easy walk to all shopping areas as well as to Patong Beach
Loved the hotel for it's central location. Staff are helpful and courteous. Breakfast spead is satisfactory, although not a big spead,it is sufficient.Swimming pool area is clean and well-mantained. The spa is located at the pool area. However, there is no fitness room available. Rooms are nice but please bring your insect repellent as mosquitos do hide in the room.

7.7 Mohd M.
Malaysia
December 17, 2012
Lovely Hotel
Calm environment although 100 meters away busy street.
Good stay for relax after busy visit around Phuket Island.

8.7 Dave A.
United States of America
December 17, 2012
Great secluded location, but near everything
Staff friendly, nice pool, ample breakfast
Loved everything about this resort smack dab in the middle of Patong Beach. Only grip was noisy plumbing, and it was very difficult getting in and out of the bathtub/ shower from the provided footstool.

6 angela N.
Singapore
December 13, 2012
Security in this Hotel
Yes, firstly security at the gate, posh looking with its own swimming pool, 1 main hotel building with its extension to another tower close by
We were there for 3 nights, warmly welcomed by the reception counter staff (4 of them) around 2pm on the 1st day. In our hotel, we had another extra bed put in which was the most comfortable extra bed I've slept on throughout my umpteen years of travels. We were most pleased with Tik the reliable staff who helped arranged our day & night tours so efficiently. My other 2 relatives were at the other extension tower but they lamented it would be better if the hotel has a lift in place there liked the main building. All went well until the last day during checkout on 10DEC12 around 7am. We were accused by a very unfriendly, unprofessional(shouted across the reception counter to us amongst lobby guests going in & out for breakfast) staff named Tanawat - of removing a pair of bedroom slippers from our room. We 3 had to run up 2nd floor and checked together with one of the hotel staff as witness. We lifted up the extra bed and the third slippers were just below. The staff revealed the slippers are all present but Tanawat did not apologized to us at all. I left without reprimanding Tanawat as our minibus has arrived at 7:30am to pick us to the airport. I too do not want to waste precious time with this unpleasantly forceful staff. Besides I know Agoda would want a review to update on their customers' satisfaction. This treatment from this counter staff Tanawat has left us all 5 with a bad aftertaste of R MAR & SPA RESORT despite the 3 good days we've had with the hotel. More good manners should be instil into such bad attitude front desk staff esp if you wish to have returning customers in your competitive hotel industry.

6.7 angela N.
Singapore
December 20, 2012
Good location as near shopping areas e.g. Bangla
Complimentary from hotel: can select either WIFI or minibar and a small safe is placed in each room
We were there for 3 nights, warmly welcomed by the reception counter staff (4 of them) around 2pm on the 1st day. In our hotel, we had another extra bed put in which was the most comfortable extra bed I've slept on throughout my umpteen years of travels. We were most pleased with Tik the reliable staff who helped arranged our day & night tours so efficiently. My other 2 relatives were at the other extension tower but they lamented it would be better if the hotel has a lift in place there liked the main building. All went well until the last day during checkout on 10DEC12 around 7am. We were accused by a very unfriendly, unprofessional(shouted across the reception counter to us amongst lobby guests going in & out for breakfast) - of removing a pair of bedroom slippers from our room. We 3 had to run up 2nd floor and checked together with one of the hotel staff as witness. We lifted up the extra bed and the third slippers were just below. The staff revealed the slippers are all present but did not apologized to us at all. I left without reprimanding as our minibus has arrived at 7:30am to pick us to the airport. I too do not want to waste precious time with this unpleasantly forceful staff. Besides I know would want a review to update on their customers' satisfaction. This treatment from this counter staff has left us all 5 with a bad aftertaste of R MAR & SPA RESORT despite the 3 good days we've had with the hotel. More good manners should be instil into such bad attitude front desk staff esp if you wish to have returning customers in your competitive hotel industry.