arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 3975 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3975 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Staff Performance 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

9.3 Marita F.
South Africa
July 18, 2011
lovely clean hotel
friendly staff and swimming pool
everything was wonderful we realy enjoyed our stay at the sugar palm. the only problem we had was no warm water for two days due to the geyser that was broken. The breakfast was very nice and was served till 10.30 which are nice if you want to sleep a bit later. I will not recommend this hotel for older people or people with very young kids because of lots of stairs to get to your room aswell as a steep hill to get to the hotel.

9.3 John F.
Canada
July 17, 2011
Nice Hotel
The views and location. Beautiful rooms
the rooms were quite large and modern. the bathroom was beautiful complete with large bathtub, spa like rain shower. balcony with a spectacular view of the mountain. staff was friendly and helpful. my only complaint was that my room was at the top of the hotel and it was quite the walk to get to it after taking 2 out of the way elevators. but all in all i would recommend this hotel.

7.7 Brendon C.
New Zealand
July 15, 2011
Clean, comfortable and chic!
Modern features in rooms and ample sized bathrooms with shower and bath
I found the SPG very modern and comfortable and well priced for the market in Phuket. The rooms are spacious and clean and are perfect after a day out at the beach or playing the tourist. It is centrally located to the beach approximately 3-5 minute walk away. It is on a hill so be prepared for a bit of exercise if you are walking about Kata by foot as the hill is quite steep so probably not suitable for people who are not mobile. Staff have limited english but enough to get by (most of the time). The cable tv channels often froze which was frustrating as it sometimes took a day to change back over.

8 Michael S.
Singapore
July 15, 2011
Great location on hill top
Excellent views from the pool
This is a lovely hotel with great service. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. Views from the pool is fantastic and good views of the surrounding area.

9 Fawad S.
Pakistan
July 15, 2011
Modern aesthetics in a serene environment
Clean modern rooms, pools all around, view, peace
While there is a climb for this hotel as it is on a hillside, the architecture, decor and setting make up for it all. Large rooms, extra-large bathrooms, simple furnishings. The plus point is the pool at the edge of the room for those with the Access Rooms, and views of the pool for the others. You can take a dip and then relax by the edge with views of Kata beach. The peaceful location away from the road allows a relaxing atmosphere. We dined at the restaurant opposite the hotel. Really good Thai food at the most affordable prices. No faults with the hotel service. We loved each day and will go back there again.

7 Saowanee J.
Thailand
July 14, 2011
Modern hotel but below common standard service
modern style hotel, close to the Kata beach just 5 min walk
The hotel is located on the hill and inside the tiny road with the little hotel sign so we couldn't find the entrance for about almost an hour. We drove through that small hotel entrance for five times with didn't recognize it. Moreover, even we asked the local people many times, we still couldn't get what was the exactly right direction to this hotel. Finally, we got the hotel phone number and called them, the hotel told us the way we couldn't believe that the tiny hole we passed the three road intersection were this hotel located. I like the step pools, the sea view from my room,and the modern style decoration with the flat plasma TV. When you stayed in the upper floor of the hotel you have to change the elevator at the fourth floor to another lift.

10 Simon G.
Canada
July 13, 2011
i Get the Best sea View in Kata
very conformable room
The hotel service was very good, breakfast very good, we rent motobike without any problems, make discount on Taxi. Well Located. I will go back there for sure.

7.7 Mei K.
Malaysia
July 12, 2011
Nice hotel with a beautiful view
like the pool access and breakfast, plus its walking distance to shops and beach
We enjoyed our stay and time. Staff are polite and friendly. will definitely make another trip here.

8.3 dedy L.
Indonesia
July 09, 2011
nice and comfy hotel
great location, nice room, friendly staff, cheap price
like i said above, the location is great, only 5 mins walk to the beach, near 711 so you can buy some snacks or drinks. nice hotel, clean, you can have a private pool or jacusi as you request it. friendly staff available 24 hours. and you can have all that in a very affordable price.

8 Robin B.
United Kingdom
July 09, 2011
Modern hotel, great facilities with a great price
Great night-time views
the hotel is on a hill overlooking the town, quite stunning views at the very top with its tiered pools. the room was large with the necessary features, comfy bed, hd-tv + dvd, kettle ( free coffee & tea ), safety deposit box, fridge with a large bath and shower room, the only con was that we would of preferred to have the walls painted then grey cement everywhere, a bit too minimalistic. the wi-fi in our room was slow but can’t argue as it was free. our room also had a large balcony with amazing views towards the sea and town as the sun went down. as the hotel is built on a hillside then it’s not your usual jump in the lift from the reception to your floor and room in a second. we were at the top but we didn’t mind the small steady climb and multi-layered walk to the room. it was actually very nice walk/climb without using the lifts at night when the wild life came out amongst the lush gardens.