Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 1772 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1772 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.6

Lau M.
Hong Kong
June 19, 2012
the breakfast is a bit dirty but everything is goo
staff are so nice and the location is good
the so-called hotel lobby is a bit small and there's no air con., and when we arrived at the midnight, it was very hot and we were sweating when checked in, but when we got into the room, it was so good and I love the toilet because there was a big bathtub! I will probably go there again because the karon beach is better than patong beach.

Sheena T.
Singapore
June 19, 2012
Good location, clean rooms, small hotel
located 5 mins from the beach, near eateries, clean rooms
Our stay was pleasant. Staff was friendly. Rooms were clean and spacious. Every room also has a Mac mini, wireless mouse and keyboard. However, the complimentary WIFI connection wasn't very good so it defeats the purpose of having these in the room. Breakfast spread was the same every day so we were bored with it by Day 3. Gym was small and it is obvious that the upkeep isn't great.

Stephen M.
United Kingdom
June 17, 2012
Very nice hotel with happy & service oriented
Nice rooms, nice pool, Well located within Karon & well priced
We enjoyed every moment at the hotel. People are really welcoming and happy. They resolve any problem immediately. We would definitely stay there aagain. In addition it is very inexpensive compared to other hotels that are better known. Reccomendable

KIMBERLY S.
Canada
June 13, 2012
Good location bad service
Pool direct access in room, close to karon beach
Hotel is rated 4 stars however service was terrible. The tour desk lady couldn't understand English and whenever you walk by front desk you don't even get greeted. The room was a good size however ha a musky smell and was a bit run down. Pool access room was great. Breakfast buffet was the same option everyday and FYI birds and flies eat out of the sweet pastry dishes and it's pretty disgusting.

Christine M.
Australia
June 13, 2012
Not bad hotel, with most staff friendly & helpful
Good sized rooms, clean linen, good location, English language TV programs
On the whole, we were happy with our stay at his hotel. We did think some of the catering staff could have been more friendly but it may have been a language problem, because most of the staff were friendly and helpful. The swimming pool was very nice but it would have been better if steps leading into the pool had been available. It is rather a big step for entry. Our room was cleaned every day and fresh towels available. The hotel is just a very short walk to the beach, shops and restaurants. A very good breakfast was provided.

Josephine S.
United Kingdom
June 12, 2012
Good location bur decor a bit tired
Close to the beach and a reasonable sized pool. Good, open green views from the pool view rooms with glimpses of sea through the trees. The staff were courteous and mostly very helpful.
Despite the heavy rain while we were there we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is close to all amenities which meant we could reach them without getting too wet. The seafront near by has a long open promenade which was excellent for walking and early morning runs. The choice of restaurants is varied but fairly basic, it's worth taking a walk or taxi to Kata for a more lavish meal.

NOORHAFIZAH S.
Malaysia
June 11, 2012
Nice hotel
swimming pool and dvd
We travelled with 2 adults and 2 young children. We subscribed airport transfer and the hotel sent a Toyota Fortuner to pick us up. It was very comfortable. Arrived at 10am and surprisingly they allow us to check in. I booked a deluxe pool access for 4d/3n (no breakfast). Unfortunately the room was downgraded to Deluxe Pool View for 2days. We only check in to pool acccess room on the third day. Breakfast were given free during our stay. The staff was very polite and service with smile. My children love the pool very much. The room and bathroom are spacious for us.

Nigel H.
Singapore
June 03, 2012
Great Pool Access Room
Pool Access Room was big and quiet
Breakfast was nothing much to shout about but the friendly service from the staff was great. Make sure to get the Pool Access Room as its big and during our stay was very quiet, no disturbance.

Cheung M.
Hong Kong
June 03, 2012
a nice hotel
cheap and very convience
i like the pool access room is nice and comfortable and the price is very cheap just per night, reli cant find in Patong, and we like Karon is much slient than patong, and have many restaurant outside........

Chong T.
China
June 03, 2012
Good location
Good price
The location of Sugar is very convenient, you can go to the main road just for 5mins. The room is okay but there is many ants that I totally cannot accept it. If you do not afarid ants and look for a convenient hotel, this is a good choice for you.