arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach

542/1 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket, Thailand 83100

Excellent 8.4
Based on 1748 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1748 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Staff Performance 8.3
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.6

6.7 Sahra C.
United Kingdom
July 06, 2011
Nice hotel with BIG bath!
Big Bath
Nice hotel short minuet walks to Karon beach which was beautiful. Near to town centre too, but out of the way so not too noisy.

9.3 Mo Y.
China
June 30, 2011
clean, friendly, close to the beach
bath tub, swimming pool, two towels
we stayed at sugar palm karon for five days, it was really an amazing experience, the beach is just across the road, which we adored so much. the environment is quiet, and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, though the prices of stuff are much higher than we expected. and the transportation around seems to be manipulated by the tuk-tuk driver, they obviously overcharged in every ride, which makes us really uncomfortable. we went to all the beaches around, including patong, kata and karon. if you prefer quiet life without all the hustle and bustle like us, karon is the place you are looking for. p.s. the sunset at karon is spectacle.

6.7 Ricky C.
Hong Kong
June 28, 2011
down to earth / budget price hotel
long swimming pool and direct access
convenient location and only 5 mins walk to karon beach. pool view room with little sea view, you cannot ask for more on this budget price. room condition & facilities are fair but toilet definitely needed to renovated in some extents.

9 Peter W.
June 27, 2011
Excellent accommodation and location
Comfortable accommodation, friendly staff, and well located
we were happy with the facilities of the hotel and it met the expectation that we had developed from our review of the onlinesite. the room was comfortable and spacious, the buffet breakfast was excellent and plentiful, and the hotel was well located in regards to the beach, shops and restaurants.

7.3 Vi Q.
Vietnam
June 27, 2011
Good view room and enthusiastic staff
Nice room with a good view, free with good signal wifi, near the beach
our room near the wifi router so we have very good signal. room is cute and nice. the bad are bath room's curtain is a bit old and we occurred about 15 mins of power loss in our room. however, the staff responded quickly.

5.7 Henry W.
United States
June 26, 2011
Sugar Palm Karon Resort
Nice pool.
The room was very nice and clean, if it was not for the mosquitos in the room I would give this hotel a ver good rating.

8.3 Yuen P.
Singapore
June 25, 2011
Nice and clean hotel with great location
The pool is firthy... seem that the pump is not working
the hotel is nice... no frills. the nice thing about this hotel is it provide free wifi and pc terminals to check your emails... the hotel is located very near to the beach, though we did not swim there as the waves are huge.

7.3 SIJIE L.
Singapore
June 23, 2011
Great location, great hotel room
The rooms were clean and neat and beatuifully arranged. Computers were available at level 2 for anyone to access to the internet. It's quite near the beach and there are great street stalls around the hotel
the stay at sugar palm karon resort was rather pleasant. the rooms that i got were rather spacious. the two single beds were joined together by the hotel staff and there was even an additional day bed. the toilet was also clean and they even had both a standing shower and a bathtub. sufficient towels were also provided and they looked rather clean. as the room i got had a balcony, it was a bonus for us as me and my friend could sit by the balcony to relax and just chat, though there isn't much of a great view other than the pool located below the balcony. the room even have a plasma tv, which really impressed me. as compared to other 3 star hotels/resort i've been, they do not furnished their rooms with a plasma tv. the swimming is alright. it isn't the standard size pool. but great for families with children to gather and play as it isn't too deep. they even had sections around the pool where they were pipes pumping higher pressure water out to simulate that of a jacuzzi. one thing bad about the pool is the steps near the pipes. can be quite dangerous if you're not careful. however, there were also some points to raise regarding the room and the service received. a few mosquitoes were found under the day bed when we placed our stuff on it. luckily during the stay, none of the mosquitoes had actually stung us. but the thought of staying in a room with mosquitoes isn't very appealing for me. next, the service received from staff were not very commendable. they were a little slow in providing their service and does not appear to be very friendly. but all in all, i did enjoy the stay at sugar palm karon resort. it was definitely value for money.

7.7 Koh G.
Singapore
June 23, 2011
Nice hotel and nice karon beach
decent swimming pool with gym and free internet
sugar palm is a nice hotel, the beach is just less than 5 mins walk, just outside. the hotel is quite simple, i like the long swimming pool and the small gym is decent. karon beach is very beautiful but smaller than patong beach, i recommend it for family vacation where kids or couples can play and relax at the beach. (the beach benches are more comfy than patong). the town is quite small, there is a temple, and many small restaurants there so food is no problem. i went there in early june and its the low season, so there wasnt many tourists at all.

7.7 Li C.
Singapore
June 23, 2011
Simple Hotel
wifi service
A fine place to stay, wifi service provided, rooms are of pretty reasonable size, walking distance to beach.