arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach

542/1 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket, Thailand 83100

Excellent 8.4
Based on 1749 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1749 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.6

5.7 kim C.
United States
January 25, 2011
nice large rooms, close to the beach.
large spacious rooms
While we were pleased w/ the location: Very close to the beach, close to bars and shopping, etc., and loved the big rooms. The pool, while beautiful, is only about 3 feet deep, and closes at 7pm. The restaurant is actually just for breakfast, and no services are available at all after breakfast hours. Also, the rooms on the opposite side of the pool (not overlooking the pool) was called the garden view--which inplied a garden. Actually the view was of the hotel pool next door, slightly blocked by some trees.

8.7 Chen L.
China
January 23, 2011
nice staff and convenient location
proximity to beach, nice staff, convenient location with restaurants, bars and supermarkets
we arrived after 3am, and the staffs there were quite nice,

8 Yee O.
Singapore
December 30, 2010
Nice decent hotel but a little too expensive.
Direct access to the pool (we were upgraded).
Poor piping system and TV reception.
the reception staff were very friendly. we were upgraded from a pool view room to a pool access room and we absolutely loved the fact that we could directly access the pool from the comfort of our room. the bathtub was a bonus, especially because it was set against one side of the bathroom which was made of glass and we could view the tv whilst soaking in the bathtub. it was also a pleasant surpise that the room was equipped with mini mac.

8.3 jATIN G.
December 26, 2010
Great hotel with nice rooms and friendly service
Just 1 min from hustle and yet very quiet
None for the its price.
my first trip to phuket so i googled for a lot of hotels, read reviews, compared their facilities and prices and finally chose sugar palm karon. i was very happy to see my room and the location of the hotel. it has kind of a quiet 30m private road leading upto it which keeps you away from the main crowd. it is also just 2 mins walk to the beach. the staff are very friendly, like all people in phuket. the rooms are big and very comfortable. the hotel is clean and simple i.e no huge chandeliers, super-sized entry doors, wall-to-wall carpets etc. it has a mini-fridge and a safe in the cupboard. i dont think many mid-sized hotels provide that. it is definitely beyond a 3-star. i think the hotel should apply to get rated as a 4 star. i would definitely keep this at the top of the list of possible hotels for my next vacation to phuket.

7.3 Choon H.
Singapore
December 20, 2010
Nice hotel at a good location
big and spacious room which is kept clean daily. Even comes with a mini fridge.
no free shuttle service to the shopping strip at Patong. Small dinning area which tend to be over-crowded
The hotel room is big and spacious that comes with a separate shower and bathtub, mini fridge and safe deposit box. The daily breakfast spread is average. The sitting area tends to be over-crowded at certain time, which resulted in some hotel guests standing around, waiting for the table to free up. Overall, my family and me enjoyed our stay at the hotel

7.3 alan H.
Australia
December 13, 2010
sugar lovely
great locaton for beach and nightlife
none
great hotel great location etc etc etc. unlikely that you will be disappointed

8 Henk H.
Netherlands
November 14, 2010
good budget hotel at great location
Pool is the hotels biggest salespoint. Give the roommaid a little tip and she leves you a surprise
Rooms are basic furnitured. Half of the satelitte-channels were out.
This hotel gives good enough value for money, but expect no extra luxuaries. During my stay I noticed few guests who weren't East-European. Karon has changed a lot since 8 years and not much to the better. But it still is sort of a quiet little town. The hotel is smack at the centre, but also very close to the beach. Room was basic, but clean and almost everything was in good working order. Half of the TV-channels were out most of the stay. Internet was not always reliable and on occassion dropped completely. But at other times it was quite fast (this seems to be all over Thailand).

7.7 Sandy L.
Hong Kong
November 08, 2010
nice room
nice room
can't think of it
When I arrive at midnigt, got lucky and upgrade to pool access room. It's a big room, at least 400 square feet with a big bath tub. it's fun to stay in poolaccess room, just jump straight into the pool when you wake up. Nice and cozy bed, so, had a nap everyday. Free wi-fi was provided, speed ok. A lot of Russians in Phuket.

8.3 Fharhanna R.
Singapore
October 20, 2010
Great facilities at low price
The room was big and spacious. There is a dvd player and you can rent movies for free from the hotel.
nil
The hotel provides complimentary wifi in rooms, which is a neat feature for those who just wants to laze n surf in the room. We had a slight problem with the safe but staff were prompt to help fix it. Hotel provides beach towel and slippers which is handy for trips to the beach.

8.3 Richard H.
United Kingdom
October 19, 2010
friendly relaxing hotel
always take pool access room
I have stayed before and I recommend to anyone staying to get the pool access room. This can make such a difference to your stay. Free internet is also provided and each room has a dvd player. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff became aware of my sleeping patterns