arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 87 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 87 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 7.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 7.2

padmanaban S.
India
May 20, 2014
Cheap and worth for short stay
Friendly staff, good choice for family, quite surrounding

mike W.
United Kingdom
May 01, 2014
Adequate Hotel - but there are better ones
front desk staff
Hotel is ok for the price, although there are many other hotels in the same price range closer to the beach/nightlife. Location is ok, but you have to walk on the road to get anywhere (no footpaths in this area). Massage was good, if available (not always available even when only 6 people staying in the whole hotel...). Staff are great compared to most other hotels in Thailand, they speak english very well and are very attentive. Bathroom is pretty basic, no toiletries just a soap/shampoo dispenser. One of the main attractions of this hotel is supposed to be that it is away from the noise, but unfortunately there is quite a lot of construction nearby. Breakfast is very basic, no buffet. Personally I would not stay here again, there are better options closer to the beach.

ILYA P.
Russia
January 19, 2014
Good hotel at Nanai road
Staff, nice room, surroundings
During my check in, I was given a studio room (free upgrade) - thanks to the staff and the room was really nice! Bad WiFi in the rooms, so sometimes I had to use lobby WiFi. During my check out, I had a bill for mineral water (30 baht). I know, I didn't drink it, so that was strange. I explained the situation to the staff - and hope they understood me, cos I didn't pay for it at the end.

Jeff H.
United States
January 13, 2014
A little gem away from the noise of Patong
Wonderful staff, good food, atmosphere
We loved the Sun Hill Hotel! It's not right down in the city of Patong but within easy walking distance (15-20 minutes) or take a cab for 200 THB. The hotel will arrange taxis to and from the hotel (and other places)for approximately 600 THB which is very reasonable as it is almost an hour from the airport. Don't catch a taxi outside the airport or you will pay 2500 THB! The staff was very friendly and helpful and the owner greeted us each evening we came in to eat and obviously cared about his guests comfort. The reviewer who spoke otherwise of management was way off base in our experience. The rooms were very clean and we loved the towels folded into different shapes every day. The laundry service was wonderful and I didn't find the mini bar too expensive. Less expensive than in the U.S. for sure. The young lady who waited on us at breakfast was wonderful and had a great sense of humor. If you have need of a physician there, I'd recommend using one other than the hotel recommends. The ladies at the front desk were great too and there was usually one on duty who spoke pretty good English. We live in South Korea and they spoke far more English than you'll find here. The pool could use a little maintenance on the grout but was fine though small. If you want a fast taxi just walk across the street to the little lady that sells gas for scooters (which the hotel also rents) and she will take you where you want to go. I highly recommend the Sun Hill Hotel and should we ever visit Patong again (and if we do it won't be during the crowded December holidays) we will definitely stay at Sun Hill. My ONLY complaint was the slow or non-existent internet and that was a real problem. I think it's a Thailand problem though.

Lauren C.
United Kingdom
January 11, 2014
2 nights in Patong
Cheap but good service, not very noisy at night time.
Helpful front desk booking tours and a taxi. A shame about the breakfast, choose from a short menu and not terribly filling.

Shelley F.
New Zealand
January 10, 2014
Good location
Pool , location,scooter hire
Excellent we loved our stay there,would book there again if in Phuket.

MERUYERT Z.
Kazakhstan
January 03, 2014
A great place!
Clean, comfortable, nor expensive
Firstly, I felt that Sun Hill is far away from beach, but later it took me only about 15 min to get to the beach, so for those who doesn't mind to have a walk, the location of Sun Hill is pretty comfortable. And I feel that this hotel is very nice for those who can't deal with the noise on Bangla road, because the place is very quite. I would advice this hotel as Family hotel or Romantic hotel for honeymoon even. However, there were some small issues, for example the shower gel and shampoo batcher didn't work well, wifi didn't work inside the room it worked only outside or near reception. But anyway, I love the place!

Joy W.
Indonesia
January 02, 2014
all is good
large room, clean hotel, friendly staff
we stayed there for 3 nights. we booked a superior room and they upgraded ours to deluxe. the room is big with balcony and mini kitchen. the hotel isn't too close to the nightlife, so it's pretty quite for resting. one day we come back to phuket, this hotel will be the first option^_^

Colin H.
United Kingdom
November 26, 2013
Fantastic value for money
Staff, comfort of the room, price
The rooms are very clean, the beds extremely comfortable and the staff very helpful. The rooms have everything you need and the shower is better than most 4* hotels. There are restaurants and bars a few minutes walk away but the centre of Patong is about a 15 minute walk away and the first part is along a busy road without a pavement which might be a problem with young children. Taxis are plentiful but operate a one way system round the resort with a flat fare of 200 bht (approx £4)which soon mounts up. However, the price makes this a great option if you wish to stay in Patong.

Mohd H.
Malaysia
October 26, 2013
Wonderful Stay
Location, price, room
This hotel is located roughly 5 minutes from central nightlife area of Patong and Patong beach itself but being located at the hill side circling Patong, gives it a sense of tranquility and quitness. Thus it is highly recommended to those looking for some quite and pricate place but still located near to the main attraction. Staffs are friendly and they have ample parking space,greatly appreciated for those who rent cars or bikes. Rooms are spacious and nicely designed with traditional elements. Overall a wonderful experience and will definitely return