Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 888 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for Money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 8.3
Sort by

Aled D. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 10 nights in January 2013
Probably in need of an upgrade
View from the room
We had the impression that the hotel had aged somewhat and was in need of an upgrade. There was only one restaurant; the other shut. The restaurant menu was limited and so all meals required a taxi ride to nearby towns. The beach area is not as secluded and tranquil as the hotel description suggested. Staff did not seem to be well trained and every request needed a long time to process (more than we found at other resorts in the north).
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Jessica S. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Gorgeous hotel and prime ocean view!
Everything in the hotel was exquisite!
We loved every minute of staying here but it was expensive. There is a section of beach reserved with umbrellas and chairs just for hotel guests. It was nice to be separated from the public beach! Our room was fantastic in every way.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

KIERAN H. from Ireland
Couples
Stayed 11 nights in December 2012
great location but gone past its sell by date ,
staff excellent
we can now understand why it lost its Le Meridian franchise . Its trying to be something that its not . prices are way over the top for what you get.its on its way down .News years eve was a BIG RIP OFF . Staff are doing their best to pretend that this is still a 5 star hotel . Its well known locally that this hotel is in decline. Greedy shareholders obviously taking too much out and putting nothing back .
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Thomas O. from Sweden
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Nice hotel - perfect located.
a little 'old' stylish meaning charmful
I liked the easygoing, the service minded personell, nice pool, the closeness to the beach. There are plenty of stairs if you stay on higher floors - sometimes booring to take the elevator.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Alex N. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Excellent secluded hotel
Less crowded and close to the beach
overall our room was excellent - air conditioned well with a good, although slightly obstructed view of the beach / water. service was good, welcomed us with a nice drink and a towel. overall i enjoyed it.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Rebecca M. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Lovely but Outdated
Beautiful views and great food
This hotel is lovely but it is very outdated, tv is about a decade old, still using a metal key vs. key cards and the pool area was very small. While we were there the notebook with information in it was quite outdated and a lot of the services were not available, the toilet in our room needed to be repaired 4 times (we were there for 2 nights) and there were very large stains on the couch and couch pillows. The food was wonderful. The views were very beautiful. And the staff were generally very nice. I don't think this is a place for 20 or 30 somethings. For the money, it might be better to look elsewhere.
Reviewed January 09, 2013

sarah R. from Spain
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
right at the tip of the island
lovely beach and pool
enjoyed having hot water and clean sheets here after 2 weeks of island hopping, however, the hotel is dated.. and the bar and restaurant areas are just a bland, bad music, and when you order a GnT in a 5star hotel you want it to be perfect, not little and slow and dull.. not up to standand but prices dont reflect that, and watch out for 10 percent service and tax etc etc,
Reviewed January 08, 2013

Michael W. from Switzerland
Couples
Stayed 14 nights in December 2012
Great Location and history but quality goes down
Fantastic Location and beautiful Quaterdeck Bar
Stayed 5 times already (started when belongs to Méridien), but no improvements year after year. And now, the hotel needs a complete refresh. Management is very helpful, but can not do everything. Internet is a mess (forget about it), quality of meals is going down (we have to fight every morning to get mangos in a 5 stars hotel !). Every room has a wonderful and large terrasse, completely isolated, in front of the sea. Personnally, will wait for a full refresh before going back.
Reviewed January 06, 2013

Sladjana T. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2012
The Old Dame of Phuket
absolutely the best location, great service, excelent food even by Phuket's high standard
having stayed here many times over the years (not since 2005) i was concerned as people said that it has gone down. yes , some tlc would not go amiss, but.........the positon, the view (oh, the view), the warm hearted service, rooms the size (equal to small or not so small apartments) and quality of food, made my stay very special. cant recommend it highly enough. will be back soon.
Reviewed January 01, 2013

Peter A. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Wonderful view of the beach and ocean
The view
Room was very nice with a deck overlooking the Indian Ocean, A variety of yachts, and the beach. The breakfast came with the room and had a nice selection of foods to choose from. The restaurant and bar also came with the spectacular views and the food was very good. We ordered room service one of the nights of our stay and it was delivered timely and delicious. The hotel has some small restaurants and shops nearby, and places you can get a massage. These places are not as nice as the hotel but very inexpensive lunch and massage. Overall we enjoyed our stay here very much and would not hesitate to come back.
Reviewed January 01, 2013