arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 985 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 985 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Staff Performance 7.9
  • Value for Money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 7.0

5.7 Marites C.
Philippines
August 26, 2012
Good location but dirty bathroom floors
Location
HOTEL / ROOM: We got there at 11am and they allowed us to check in early without extra charge. Location is about 5-10 mins walk to Kata Beach. Close to restaurants and shops. The room is spacious but the bathroom floor needs some scrubing. You also need yo pay at least 100baht for 100minutes of internet access. Expect same breakfast every morning and share the table with flies. STAFF: Receptionists are able to converse in English pretty well but other hotel staff don't.

9.3 Juthaporn S.
Thailand
August 10, 2012
Great hotel!!!
Location, rooms, pool...
We did the booking shortly before arriving at the hotel, the check-in was fast, the staff were well informed and friendly. The rooms we got were big and clean with great view on the whole facility. The location and especiallly the pool was superb! Breakfast was well arranged, there's a lots to choose, just only the room is a bit tiny. All in all, this hotel is good value for its price!

7.7 Jian L.
Malaysia
August 05, 2012
Nice Hotel with lovely room
Very nice hotel room
The resort is very awesome! The room is very nice and super value for money. The only prob is that the front desk staffs cant really communicate in english.

6.3 Azura S.
Malaysia
August 01, 2012
Good location, needs improvement
Location and some friendly staff
The location of the hotel was great, not to far from the beach and food/drink outlets. The room was clean and the layout was interesting with a nice view. However, most of the staff cant understand or speak English and this is quite frustrating as they are of no help. The reception area is not impressive and again the receptionist at that time was very reserved, perhaps due to the language barrier. Any hotel should have a satisfactory level of english speaking staff as predominantly, you would get english speaking tourists. There was no hotel transfer to the airport and they arranged a pretty expensive ride to the airport and sadly charged us additional 100 baht for the laundry bag- we stayed for 5 nights and we have to pay for a single laundry bag?? All in, wouldnt go back to Tropical Resort because the whole package makes the holiday great.

6.7 Jesper S.
Denmark
August 01, 2012
Lovely hotel with nice pool area
Direct access to pool
Stayed for the second time at this hotel, and again it was a pleasure. Again we opted for direct pool access from the room and I must admit that even if I do not use the pool that much, waking up and going out onto the terrase and be right at the pool edge is a fantastic feeling. The hotel is a bit worn out and old, but it is clean and rooms are spacious. The people at the reception are really sweet and helpful, even if their english skills are not amazing. We did get recommended a nice place for having local thai food which turned out to be fantastic. The tour-staff are very helpful and can organise trips for you if you want.

9.7 Cheya J.
Thailand
July 25, 2012
Great value and superb service.
Great service, lovely pool and perfect location in Kata.
if you would like to stay in kata.tropical would be a great deal for you. fantastic child friendly hotels for your luxury family holiday or perfect city break. they have nice rooms with good view (4th-5th floor), large size and spotless. i stayed there twice for holiday with my partner and families. we love it there. breakfast was great. it would be fantastic if they can offer more options such as thais foods, chinese. location is perfect to getting around in kata noi, 5-10 mins walk to the beach & restaurants area. we will go back there again for holiday.

8 Dean F.
United Kingdom
July 25, 2012
Lovely hotel
swimming pool
Very friendly staff (but were lacking in good english) and rooms were very big and comfortable beds. Clean showers and toilets, loved the lay out of the rooms. Nice views from the balcony which was nice to sit and relax in, very easy to get anywhere from here and out the way enough to relax, only 15 mins to Patong by bike, all mod cons you would expect from a hotel like this. Had some extras like dvd/cd player, and the swimming pool was fantastic, always had it to ourselves!

5.7 Adam C.
Australia
July 21, 2012
ok hotel but staff not very nice
everything worked air con, shower, pool clean
overall quite happy with stay as the main features of the room all worked properly. so had comfortable time. if your fussy or expect pristine conditions then your expectations will be a little disappointed as room showed signs of wear and tear. had the room with pool access and the pool was nice and clean, so overall happy with the stay and felt the room fairly priced. the most negative aspect is attitude of staff in front room, they were quite arrogant and not very friendly. for example they wouldn't clean the room until we complained several times had to wait 3 days for first cleaning service then 2 days for next and finally after about 5 days (and further complaints) housekeeping was provided on a regular basis.

7.3 James C.
United Kingdom
July 17, 2012
Nice hotel close the beach and town
nice pool, close to beach, beach towels provided, nice breakfast, nice rooms.
Very nice hotel, with nice rooms and nice pool, 5 min walk from beach. Beach and pool towels provided in hotel. Rooms although nice the bathroom is very open to the bedroom and leaves nothing to the imagination "no privacy". Besides that everything was fine. Breakfast was a big buffet and was a choice of thai or continental food.

8.7 Carl M.
New Zealand
July 17, 2012
Great Pool Access Room - Value for Money
Pool Access from Room
we booked a pool access room for 3 nights and were very pleased with the room. the bathroom was huge and had lovely deep bath and large shower room. the room was very large and had lcd, dvd player and all conveniences including electric lighted magnifying mirror for the ladies! we spent many hours relaxing and reading on the chairs outside our room with direct pool access - we loved it. staff very friendly and housekeeper real sweetie. we found the place pretty clean, although a bit more windowlene would not go a miss on the toilet door. the swimming pool was lovely but on the 4th day i felt it was not getting cleaned daily. we felt this was extremely good value for pool access room and i would stay again, but i must mention the cockroaches. on the first night we fly-sprayed before we went out as we normally do in our hotels to kill any possible mosquitoes lurking around. when we got home we found a dying cockroach that we moved out of the room. at 4am in the morning i was woken with cockroach on my chest/neck area in bed! obviously looking for his mate. next day we sprayed thoroughly the entire room and find 2 more. after that we did not have any more issues in the room for the next 2 nights, although we did see one crawl out of the drain on our pool access porch area on night. so would suggest they step up their pest control.