arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 100 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.4
  • Staff Performance 9.5
  • Value for Money 8.8
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Gunnar S.
Sweden
December 31, 2013
Beautilful little resort on quiet island
Beautifully situated by the sea, child friendly pool, modern houses, excellent value for money
relaxed and easy in quiet environment next to the bay

Nicholas H.
United Kingdom
November 30, 2013
Romantic honeymoon stay in a modern villa
The hotel staff, the location, the island, amazing excursions, and the friendly local people
My wife and I stayed at Villaguna for 4 nights in October originally, our experience at the hotel was so good we came back for 5 nights after we went to Koh Lanta for a week. Amena, Olivier, Nadine and Ramond were the perfect hosts. I cant say enough good words about them. They were friendly and helpful. Throughout our stay they could not do more to make our honeymoon the greatest time of our lives. I dont write reviews and am not being over the top they were all really great people and I consider them all friends. The restaurant staff who work for the hotel are also some of the kindest most friendly people you will meet. Gek Ko and Tam who seem to work from 6am through to 1am were brilliant and played pool with us when we had drinks in the evening and we were so sad to have to say goodbye. Koh Yao Noi is a really beautiful island, so peaceful compared to the madness of mainland Phuket and one day we will hopefully come back! The villas are brand new and total luxury. we had an outdoor shower which was amazing and the pool is huge and deep. Overall I cant reccommend Villaguna enough. great price for what you get, thanks again to everyone who made our stay what it was, paradise.

Yverain O.
France
October 14, 2013
Very nice and quiet place away from the city
quiet fantastic surrondings and friendly staff
A really nice and quiet place to get away from the stress of the city. The houses are very nice and the staff is very friendly.

YUEN S.
China
September 19, 2013
Quiet location, very nice staff, will go again
People, quiet, big
Very remote location, suitable if you want to enjoy quiet holiday. Staff are very very friendly, and offer a lots of help. I like the swimming pool a lot, though the beach of the island is not nice. But there were too many insects in the villa that you would expect a bit different from the city hotel. Shower water not hot enough, and tab water cant drink. However they can arrange you some activities like cooking class, massage in your villa which I enjoy a lot, and the price is very reasonable. Overall speaking I would recommend this to my friends and I will surely visit again.

Manuel B.
Austria
July 03, 2013
Great getaway for couples
remote, romantic, quiet
This beach resort is a perfect getaway for a few days. The french owner Nadine was very friendly and helpful. Our room was good value for the money and i would recommend couples to stay for at least 3 days. Its very quiet and remote, perfect if you wanna get away a few days from Phuket. Not much to do on the island except boat trips & swimming. You can cruise the island with a motorbike under 2 hours.

Susan Z.
United States
April 13, 2013
Wonderful and relaxing, and not long enough.
We had a villa. It was homey, comfortable and had a wonderful view. Very quiet and relaxing area. Extremely attentive and friendly staff.
Wonderful. The owners, Raymond and Nadine could not have been more attentive and their manager and staff were all friendly and saw to our every need quickly and with a smile. My only complaint is the cost of the transfers which were over 170 US dollars. Quite pricey to just get from airport to hotel.

Holly A.
Canada
February 22, 2013
Great location, lovely rooms
Koh Ya Noi is a beautiful little rural island. Villaguna is well located with nice view, great pool and beautiful rooms.
we enjjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely stay again. nadine is a great host, very helpful and friendly. the rooms are well appointed with interesting art and statues inside and out. the pool is lovely with a nice view of the beach. the deluxe rooms with private pools are amazing. thanks for a wonderful stay.

Julie K.
Canada
January 09, 2013
Amazing hotel and friendly owners and staff
The hotel owners, a french couple, made you feel like part of the small family at Villaguna
Villaguna is on a non-touristy island Yao Noi. It was a great break from the totally touristy Railay Beach (which we liked too, but this was great for contrast). There are few resorts or tourists on Yao Noi compared to other southern destinations we visited which was very refreshing. We got to see how Thai people live (went on a bikeride part way around the island - btw, don't follow the beach signs just beyond the Pier as the road gets CRAZY and impossible to bike!! but around the island is very pleasant. The Villaguna villas (we stayed at a poolside one) was absolutely gorgeous and brand new. It was excessive to say the least, but we lapped up the luxury of it all. I can't even describe how lovely it was in the villa and also the view from the villa - over the pool and to the beach. AMAZING. All the staff here were friendly and helpful. They had bikes to rent a hobby cat that we took out one day, pool toys and blow ups to float on, and would organize any activity you wanted (we went into Krabi for an elephant ride on Christmas). The restaurant had good food and the staff were very attentive but brought us the wrong thing from time to time due to English difficulty - all forgiven as they are sooo friendly. It was a bit odd as there were so few people there however. We were often the only ones in the restaurant. There are only 9 pool villas and maybe four bigger villas with their own pool, so it is a very small place, and all the villas were not booked when we were there. This place should be visited and I would love to see it full as it was so wonderful!!! There is also a restaurant up the street - about 2 minute walk - that is good as well. They even had a Christmas Eve Turkey Dinner!!! Overall a very good experience.

Tina G.
United States
December 08, 2012
Luxurious, Quiet Vacation Spot
immaculate, clean design; beautiful and quiet setting; friendly and super helpful owners; private outdoor pool/lounge
Upon arrival to Villaguna, our amazing stay began with the friendly greeting by owners, Nadine and Ramoun. They were willing to assist with any of our needs while on the island, including a last minute motorbike rental and the disbatching of a longtail boat to take us to James Bond Island and lunch for the day. Their gardener wound up taking us as all other touring longtails were already out for the day...we were highly impressed with their motivation to provide this fun outing for us! Our stay at Villaguna went just as smoothly. Everything was in good working order; and complimentary water and tea was provided daily. The absolute best part of the villa however, was the private pool and outdoor lounge area, which includes a wet bar. This provided a fantastic venue to host our friends (12) who were staying at a resort up the road. Which comparibly, we got the best deal by a landslide. Our friends all booked at the resort as it was the venue for the wedding which brought us to the island. Although their rooms were lovely, all but one lacked AC. For the same price they each paid for a 1 bedroom non-AC, we split the cost with another couple to rent the Eva Villa which included AC and the pool (did i mention this pool was amazing?). Needless to say, we were the envy of the group and our friends visited...often! :)

Aline H.
Switzerland
December 01, 2012
Deluxe Suite, but NOT ON THE BEACH !
Quality of furniture and good isolation, beautiful swimming-pool.
View on the sea when the pick-up of the restaurant's staff is not there. Road with traffic between bungalows and small beach. Quality of breakfast, food and service very poor - restaurant under separate management. Noise of restaurant's kitchen on bungalows' side. Only TV 5 Monde, and no BBC or Italian channels on TV. Currency change only available a few miles away from hotel.