Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 96 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 96 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 9.2
  • Value for money 9.2
  • Food/Dining 7.2

Sudarat V. from Thailand
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Ok for one night
Swimming Pool and comfort bed
10 mins walk to main road, 10 mins walk to Mae nam beach. Room is ok for one night. 20 mins walk to Mae Nam Junction where Thu evening Market is on.
Reviewed September 08, 2013

Sarah W. from United States
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
Relaxing, beautiful, and comfortable
1) So close to the beach! 2) Friendly and helpful 3) Near the main road
We stayed 4 days at the Ampha Place Hotel. Our original plan involved renting scooters and exploring more of the island, but we actually ended up loving Mae Nam beach so much we spent our time relaxing and enjoying the sun and water. I woke up before sunrise one morning and got some great pictures when nobody was outside. The beach itself is a nice, long stretch with nice sand. Because it's a quieter beach, there are fewer people, and it's quite clean. It's lined with people outside offering Thai massages, and there is also a nice cluster of bars and restaurants with great good. The water and sand are nice. Because of the proximity of the beach, we did not swim in the pool, but it looked very clean and had others swimming in it. They also have an outdoor shower (one shower head) right there so you can rinse sand off from the beach before you go up to your room. The main road is a short walk from the hotel as well, and on Thursday we stumbled on a little night market not far from the hotel. It was about two blocks, and it didn't compare to some of the huge markets in big cities in Thailand, but the skewers, coconut ice cream, and other street food there was legit. There were also two local laundry services which were great, and there's a coin laundry (no dryers) within walking distance on the main road. The location of the hotel along with its price make it an excellent value! When it comes to food, they only have a breakfast menu, but it's offered all day. We did have one day our room wasn't cleaned, but this was due to a miscommunication with the cleaning staff. Just lost in translation. We spoke with the staff the next day, and the problem was solved! Another highlight is that we originally miscalculated our location and got stuck at an internet cafe a distance away. We called the hotel using Skype, and they sent a neighbor out to pick us up for free! The friendliness and service would make this hotel a place we would return to.
Reviewed August 05, 2013

Peter M. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 11 nights in June 2013
Nice friendly clean hotel
Friendly efficient staff great rooms good pool
Fantastic stay everything was good not a bad word to say
Reviewed July 09, 2013

Emma F. from Ireland
Groups
Stayed one night in July 2013
Peaceful and clean
The pool, the beach, the helpful service
Reviewed July 08, 2013

Joe C. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Blissfully relaxing, friendly + welcoming service
The owner, the pool, nice room
Perfect for our needs, well located in quiet neighbourhood but minutes walk to either beach or restaurants. Eric, the owner was one of the most helpful hoteliers I have met and was a genuine welcoming guy. The room was spotless and large with everything we needed. Would stay again.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Tung T. from Vietnam
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2013
Comfortable and relaxing
Nice swimming pool, friendly staff and close to the beach
Comfortable. Although we have to walk around 100 meters to go to the beach, it's ok.
Reviewed May 05, 2013

Hannah W. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Friendly, attentive, great breakfast!
Breakfast! Swimming Pool, Close to the beach
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Gina C. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2013
German and thai couple. Very helpful.
Helpful owners wife.Only stayed 1 night on way to Koh Penghan. Airport lost our luggage from Bangkok. Owners wife was vert friendly and helpful in assisting with getting it sent to us.
Reviewed April 08, 2013

Sara S. from Canada
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2013
We wished we had stayed more than 1 night!
The pool, the room/balcony, and the staff.
We would have planned to stay longer if we had realized what a great deal this hotel was. Lovely rooms and balconies overlooking the pool.
Reviewed April 04, 2013

leslie H. from United Kingdom
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
great hotel, owners very friendly
Good pool, clean room and quiet
this hotel is a bit off the beaten track however we had a car and it did not bother us
Reviewed March 27, 2013