Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 23 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 5.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.0
  • Service 5.4
  • Value for Money 6.3
  • Food/Dining 6.0
Sort by

Dylan G. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Bad service, rooms in need of repair
Location
This was our first stay in Vietnam after crossing the border from Cambodia, and we almost wanted to get back on the boat for Phnom Penh. The moment we walked in the door we were told there were no rooms and we would be moved to another hotel. When we asked to use their phone and speak with Agoda regarding this change, we were yelled at and refused the use of the phone. We ended up using their wifi in the lobby to call Agoda, and organised a call for the three of us to discuss our options. In the end, we had no choice but to accept the hotel change and move to the "newer and more beautiful" hotel. It certainly was newer, but our bathroom door did not have a handle, and the room smelled like it hadn't been cleaned for a length of time. Our air conditioner did not work, and the room was hotter than the outside air during the day and at night. The following morning our breakfast was slid across the table to us, not even placed in front of us. The baguettes were fresh and soft, but this didn't make up for what came next. We were yelled at again by another staff member when we tried to have our laundry done. He couldn't speak any English and this seemed to frustrate him. In return for asking about our laundry began to scream and wave his arms. Not the way to deal with the situation, I believe. On checkout we were threatened with the retention of our passports if we did not pay our laundry bill, despite having money in my left hand and giving the key with my right. This lack of any kind of service is unacceptable, and I cannot recommend anyone stay at this hotel.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

CATHRINE W. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2012
Great for a night
Big room with balcony overlooking busy street
Fine for our one night stay. Room was big, not immaculate by any means but fine. Breakfast choice limited to bread, bread, bead, or fruit. Restaurant was ok. Friendly staff. Lots of stairs
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Olivia D. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2012
good budget value hotel with lovely breakfast
location and value for money
We were only here for one night and taking the speedboat to Phnom Penh the next morning. Chau Doc is small and easy to walk around, and the hotel is in a good central location if one wishes to do so. The rooms are clean though the room was so warm we had to have the fan and aircon on - very noisy! Breakfast in the morning was very nice , especially the fresh fruit
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Sam P. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in August 2012
Cheap and cheerful
The tour desk.
I arrived and within in 30 mins i was on a tour to Sam Mountain with the lovely Djung (ask for her) her english isnt the best but has a very nice nature. When i got back i had bus booked for saigon for $9. Internet only in the lobby. Room quality isn't the best ive seen, but i did only pay $10/per night so for that it wasn't too bad.
Reviewed August 06, 2012

valeria C. from Italy
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2012
Basic hotel, but really good staff
Location, staff and food!
the rooms are simple, but with a/c. the hotel is in a good position and ther's a tour desk. the staff is helpfull and speak a good english. good wifi and a very cheap and good menu!
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Ngoc H. from Vietnam
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2012
Recommend this when you're in Chau Doc
The staff are very friendly, clean and big room
We stayed here just one night and come here late afternoon. But the checking was very fast and easy. We take a bath and get out to "Sam mountain" after that. People in Chau Doc often go to sleep early.
Reviewed May 05, 2012

Lan N. from Vietnam
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Not good
Location: near market and riverside
The location is very good Staff is friendly The room is too small, no window, airconditioner is only fan. I had to ask the staff turn on the conditioner, if not, they wuold not turn on it. Room s not clean, and smell Conclution, it s not good
Reviewed April 08, 2012

jacques S. from France
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2012
Bon hotel mais un peu bruyant
Sa situation
Bon hotel mais préferez les chambres sur l'arrière beaucoup plus calmes que celles sur l'avant. Service très bon et bon accueil, chambres propres.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Adrien P. from France
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
bof, bof
relativement bon marche
chambre sans fenetre (non dit sur agoda) et plus chere au final que si vous la reservez sur place...minuscule, vieux et pas tres propre...ceci dit dans ce rang de prix sur Chau doc ça a l'air un peu partout pareil.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Katrin P. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2014
Übernachtung nach Grenzübertritt
WIFI, Bar, Buchung von weiteren Tagestouren im Hotel war möglich
Mein Zimmer befand sich leider zur Straße hin. Das Hotel liegt an einer sehr befahrenen Straße, so dass der Straßenlärm auch nachts zu hören ist. Zimmer war sauber mit Kühlschrank und TV sowie Aircon ausgestattet. Im Hotel war gleichzeitig auch ein lokales Reisebüro, so dass man unkomliziert weitere Touren buchen konnte. Abholservice war auch enthalten.
Reviewed February 24, 2014