Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 555 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 555 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Lauren K. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
great location, clean rooms
nice front desk staff, not pushy about tours
it was a pleasant stay. the rooms were clean and the staff was helpful and not pushy. it was noisy, though. i could hear everything from the front desk, even though i changed rooms to a room on the top floor in the back of the hotel. didn't matter. everything was great except when i checked out they attempted to charge me $18usd for the airport pickup, which was included in the agoda booking. i firmly said no and stood my ground. then i said, "i had a great 3 nights here, please don't ruin it by trying to scam me. i'm not paying it and i'm leaving now. goodbye." and i left. **it was awesome that there was a computer in every room with free internet. so helpful!
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Danielle J. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Wonderful little hotel!
big rooms, very helpful staff, breakfast included!
Wow, I was very impressed with everything! From the moment we arrived the staff was excellent. Everything was very clean and neat. There was a computer in room. Rooms and bathrooms were big. They helped us to coordinate all of our tours and they were wonderful. They even stored our stuff while we were away. Breakfast was cooked upon order and was very good! If you are debating wheather or not to stay here you should! excellent location as well.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Theerat S. from Thailand
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
Mr DUC & Lien WIN!
Great staff, Friendly and Warming
Charming Hotel is very charming and charming. Great staff, Friendly and Warming when stayed at here. Breakfasts very good and you have choice of few sets. Staff at reception very helpfully and attentive. Location just perfect - center of old district, few minutes from the lake. Will definitely be using this hotel again when I go back to Hanoi. See you again.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Danielle J. from United States
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
wow book here you will not be dissapointed!
amazing staff, great spacy rooms, computers in room, mini bar, breakfast included
This hotel exceeded our expectations in so many ways! While we are picky customer's they were so helpful in providing us with tour companies and allowing us to store our luggage. The young girls up front are just lovely! The breakfast is cooked on the spot and the hotel manager is wonderful. I would be delighted to stay here again! wonderful hotel.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Jonathan J. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011
Wonderful Customer Service
The staff
the hotel and room themselves were nothing special and i'm unsure how the room that we were allocated qualifies as a suite but the standard of customer service was exceptional. all the staff that we met were welcoming, enthusiastic, friendly and happy to help in any way that they could. i have never encountered better service anywhere.
Reviewed December 04, 2011

Trevor A. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 17 nights in November 2011
Very relaxing friendly hotel
cleanliness, services, honest.
we booked our stay at charming hote after reading trip advisor. as promised a driver picked us up at airport two boys from the hotel picked us up at the end of the lane and walked us the 50m to the hotel. our room was small but spotless. all appliances worked a,ok. the in-room computer was a real plus. at 7.30am the laneway transforms to a fresh food market selling everthing you can imagine. by 10.30 its all cleaned up and the shops go about their normal daily busines. the staff at the hotel spoke good english and without doubt the most friendly and helpfull of any hotel we have stayed in. we went on a halong bay trip from there and had a great day. the hotel provided us with a good city map and marked and explained where ever we wanted to go. just up the lane around 4pm one of the shops rolls out a barrel of draught beer. sitting on 6" stools and at vnd 3500 per big glass, thats 6 pots for $1.oo it must be the cheapest beer in the world and a good drop too. back to the hotel . . . . we 100% recomend it.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Rachel T. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in October 2011
Fantastic haven in a mad city
Customer service outstanding, modern rooms with great breakfast
The location was off the main roads so noise was minimal. The budegt rooms lacked a window but the facilities were very modern, great shower... however get a room below 5th floor for pressure. The breakfast was excellent and free tea or coffee all day was a great touch after a hard day in the city. The trip was a good price as others on our expedition paid more for the same experience.
Reviewed November 09, 2011

Laura B. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed one night in September 2011
nice hotel in good location, lovely service.
Location and price
there were 3 of us in a room so with the added bed it was rather cramped but that was fine for one night and very good value for money.
Reviewed November 03, 2011

Daniel M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Friendly staff, small and intimate in a busy city.
Friendly staff, computer and internet in each room, Breakfast good. Great value at a great price.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and tried to help wherever possible. Breakfasts were good (go for the Vietnamese option), especially for how cheap the place is. It is a small room but as we didn't spend much time there it wasn't an issue. Computers in each room with internet access was very handy. Good value choice!
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Helen Y. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Intimate and Charming!
Warm staff that make you feel as though you were at home
Down a wee street in old quarter with everything a stones throw away which is just as well given the traffic in Hanoi. Very reasonable rates with PC, cable TV and mini bars in rooms. Beds changed daily and breakfast included. Rooms at back have no natural light as typical Vietnamese narrow building in very small street.
Reviewed October 22, 2011