Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 555 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 555 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.5
Sort by

Robert C.
United Kingdom
December 16, 2010
lovely hotel with great staff
computer in room, staff spoke very good english, set in quieter street
no safe in room but able to leave things at reception
We stayed here for five nights wanting to stay longer but the hotel was full. The staff were so helpful as our booking was slightly wrong due to fault of our own. We would never return to hanoi but would recommend the hotel to others.

Christine L.
Australia
December 10, 2010
Charming indeed!!
Lovely hotel, clean, has a lift, great service.
Rooms a little small
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel staff will help you book tours, overnight trains, taxis you may pay an extra few dollars for this service but they are very reliable and will also fix any mistakes quickly. They also recommended some good restaurants and generally go out of their way to help you get the most out of your trip. Location was great 10 min walk to lake and quiet lane so not too much traffic noise.

MASAYUKI T.
Japan
November 24, 2010
Good to stay
ladies at the front desk speak good english
difficult to find the place for the first time
small and simple but nice place to stay. located at the narrow street (taxi can't go in!) near hang da market. easy to communicate with the person at the front desk in english. dong xuan market and hoan kiem lake are within walking distance.

Hoang N.
United States
November 23, 2010
Nice and roomy in the center of the Old Quarter
Clean and roomy, internet in room
None
We enjoy time stay in Charming Hotel. We ask the Clerk handles all the tours. It turns out great, they take care of every thing, no hassle with reasonale price.

Evgeny Z.
Russia
November 13, 2010
The only minus was windowless room
Everyhing else was great
Some (the cheapest) rooms are windowless
This hotel is really great. For per night for the cheapest room you get a location near the Hoam Kiem lake, lots of toiletries, clean rooms, friendly and English-speaking staff. Breakfast was simple - no wander for such price, you could choose either regular egg breakfast or a nice Vietnamese morning noodle beef or chicken soup Pho Bo or Pho Ga. Internet was free although a bit slow. This hotel has even a lift (elevator) that is quite rear among hotels of such price. The main thing was of cause that the hotel was really clean.

diana D.
Indonesia
November 06, 2010
Great service located in small streets
near the shopping centre in old quarter area
small rooms, couldn't connect wifi
we stayed in this hotel for 2 days, we booked for deluxe room. the room is good and clean. we were very happy with the great service from Charming Hotel staff especially the service from their room boy. he is very helpful. he gave us the map and direction to many places around Hoan Kiem Lake. Moreover, he also gave us his telephone number just in case we get lost. But the hotel need improvement in wifi connection, cause we couldn't connect the wifi through our Blackberry. The hotel provides us PC in the room, but we couldn't log in cause the language in the computer use Vietnamese.

sean L.
Ireland
November 03, 2010
Clean, Perfect Location and Most helpful staff
Staff, location, cleanliness, value
dont recommend hanoi garden restaurant - the food was overpriced and not good
The staff couldnt do enough for us - helpful, friendly, rooms are spotless and in a quiet alley to avoid noisy Hanoi. Rooms have computer and comfortable - will definitely staff here - have stayed in 3 other hotels and nothing compares to the value of this one.

Sangeet C.
India
November 02, 2010
Best service ever
Absolutely amazing service
I have never seen such service at a 5 star hotel. I don't know how they manage this at a budget hotel but I would anyday go back to stay here just because of how welcome the staff make you feel. It is a basic hotel but it's got everything right. The rooms are small but clean and the beds are very comfortable.

Stephen B.
Australia
November 02, 2010
Great location,very friendly staff,clean rooms
Located in "quiet lane" for Hanoi. Very friendly & helpful staff. Two new lifts to all floors.
Location excellent in "quiet lane".Some rooms at front have windows although look over narrow lane. Would recommend for location & value.

David C.
United States
October 31, 2010
A great choice for the amenities and price
Great location on a less touristy street, really helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms and good breakfast
Nothing to complain about
This hotel is a great place for the price. The staff is friendly, the rooms are cozy and clean and the breakfast is good. I liked the location since it is located on a real Vietnamese side street without a ton of noise and less tourists. You can walk to all of the different Hanoi attractions, unless you're lazy ; ) Also, if you book 3 nights, they will pick you up at the airport. Highly suggested