Back to hotel info

Exceptional 9.2
Based on 543 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Exceptional



based on 543 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.2
  • Service 9.4
  • Value for money 9.2
  • Food/Dining 8.8

Allan K.
Vietnam
June 04, 2016
Great staff, center of old quarter, good price
Great place

Mikhail K.
Russia
May 28, 2016
Good hotel in old quarter
We were living in the deluxe room for 3 nights during our stay in Hanoi. Hotel is about 40 minutes by taxi from the Noi Bai airport. Room was nice and clean. Hotel is positioned in the middle of old quarter so you can walk to most of the sightseeing places in old quarter (lake with pagoda, chapel, central market, jail). We came to Hanoi on Saturday and there was a "night market" all around the hotel which is very noisy, but in the room it was quiet. The restaurant in the hotel is very good, but don't order tea (it smells and tastes like they made it with tap water). There's a couple of nice restaurants around too, we liked Bun Cha Ta very much.

Huong N.
Sweden
May 26, 2016
Topped all my expectations!
Staying at this hotel was a Little treat from myself to myself since I had been travelling and and slept on floors basically for two weeks before. The staff were Amazing and so helpful and nice. The rooms were great. Even though it is located on a really noicy street you couldn't really hear the noice in the room. I also went for a foot treatment in the Spa which also was Amazing. So happy for my two nights stay there!

michelle S.
Australia
April 18, 2016
Quan the manager was so energetic and helpful . He is an asset to Essence .
The rooms were gorgeous and clean . We had complimentary wine and treats and even a computer to use . Beds comfy . Air con great . Right in the middle of the old quarter . Such a great location

Julia P.
United States
April 17, 2016
Wonderful stay
The best hotel of our visit! Extremely clean and comfortable rooms and staff were fabulous - even surprised me with a cake on my birthday! So special.

Yan Y.
Hong Kong
April 07, 2016
Quite good
Perfect location. But then when it is rainy, the floor in Hanoi so as the entrance of the hotel is terrible. Service is nice. Breakfast is wonderful

Aurelie R.
France
March 29, 2016
Perfect convenience and great value for money
We wanted a boutique hotel with limited numbers of rooms in the city center. We were definitely not disappointed! Essence Hotel & Spa is in the best location of the old quarter, close to the lake and allowing walking distance to most of the places (museums, historical sites, etc...). Our room on 7th floor was very quiet, with a small balcony giving a view over the rooftops around, while the main street is super busy and crowded, especially on week-end nights. Jack welcomed us like VIP guests and was always available to help and give advices. We received a complimentary bottle of wine and could enjoy fresh fruits as well as Vietnamese sweets every day. Overall a perfect stay. We are just disappointed that we didn't had enough time to go to the spa. Next time!

Roshan D.
India
March 20, 2016
Lovely Hotel & Great Location
Location, Staff & Comfort

peter R.
United Kingdom
March 11, 2016
Comfortable room great location
Good bed quiet room good wifi

peter R.
United Kingdom
March 09, 2016
Great location lovely hotel
Comfortable bed and room clean nice staff
Excellent, we slept well in a comfortable and quiet room. Location perfect for visiting the old quarter