arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.8
Based on 433 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 433 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 5.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Staff Performance 8.9
  • Value for Money 8.8
  • Food/Dining 8.3

6 Tan B.
Singapore
September 24, 2015
Friendly staff
Cleanliness, friendly staff and value for money
Overall it was good.

10 Emma F.
United Kingdom
September 18, 2015
Caring & friendly staff, gr8 rooms -natural light
Seriously comfortable bed, ostentatious bathroom ceramics, natural light and airy room, lovely staff
We only stayed for a few hours as had a long journey beforehand but they were so accommodating and the room was soooo comfy with an amazing bed!!! Going to stay again we liked it a lot! And all for £15 a night!!!

9.3 Abbey G.
Australia
August 21, 2015
A must stay hotel in Hanoi!
The STAFF, the Rooms, the Location
We had such a beautiful stay in Hanoi, the hotel is positioned slightly away from the main hustle and bustle of the town but still in and amongst the chaos of the old city. The staff were so so lovely, couldn't have asked for better service! Breakfast food was great, just what you want. Highly recommend this wonderful hotel 😊

9.3 ghassan S.
Jordan
May 02, 2015
Great staff, nice small hotel
Staff, location, staff
Some of the best staff around. Very good manager, and Jimmy is one of the best front desk staff I have ever seen,,,

4 Christopher L.
Australia
April 06, 2015
Had multiple issues, wouldn't stay again
Location
We had a pretty poor experience at the hanoi city palace hotel. The driver who picked us up from the hotel at the airport was extremely rude. The manager with glasses who greeted us at the hotel didn't smile once or welcome us. They had plumbing issues in our room so we had to walk a block down the street to their sister hotel which was a downgrade because it was some dodgy back alley hotel. The second night we went back to hanoi city palace hotel and was placed in a dark damp room. It was so damp the bed felt wet and soggy. All our belongings were wet by the next morning! The bed sheets and towels had stains on them and the bathroom was covered in mould. It was disgusting.

8 Sabine L.
Slovenia
April 01, 2015
Good value for the price
Breakfast, top spot, helpful staff

4 Michel D.
Switzerland
February 25, 2015
we had a used bed
location
We were there at the vietnamese New Years Holiday "TET" There were absolutely too few staff for all the work. We had a used bed with lots of hairs and were very disappointed! The staff at the Reception just told us: "could be, we don't have enough staff at the moment." The rooms are accordingly not clean at all and also very humid. I can't recommend this place!

8 Gerlinde G.
United States
January 30, 2015
"Great hotel for a reasonable price"
friendly staff, clean rooms, great lokation
We stayed at the Hanoi City-Palace Hotel for two nights. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean and the beds are softer than in most Vietnamese hotels. It is perfectly located close to Hoan Kien Lake and the old part of town. 10 minutes walk away from St. Joseph's Cathedral where you can find great restaurants and shops. For this price you can't find better deal!

8.7 Maria L.
Australia
January 21, 2015
Place to stay
Staff, location and room comfort
Stay at the City Palace was great. Staff was very helpful, and problem solve oriented. They assisted very quickly, as I had to swap one day of stay, and they were fully booked. The found another place for me to stay and dealt directly with the new hotel with out any extra charge.

5.3 Linxi L.
New Zealand
January 16, 2015
Not worth the hype
location
We booked this hotel as it was in a cheaper price bracket ($90 per night or so?) for Hoan Kiem (the old district), and had positive ratings from reviewers. We often stay in 2-3 star hotels or hostels so I wouldn't count myself as biased or with exceptionally high standards. However, it is first important to know that there is a building restriction in the old area so buildings are not very high, are of a generation gone by and typically only have a small number of rooms (as they appear to be converted from buildings instead of newly built in most cases). Hanoi City Palace represents one of the many hotels that fit this description in the Hoan Kiem district. The decor was old and the facilities well-used. The sink and shower both had permanent brown stains and were cracked from use. The duvet and pillows also felt worn from use. The walls are thin and you can hear the air conditioning units from the building next door, as well as the hot water cylinder, which we thought might have been on the roof of the hotel. The room itself was nothing to rave about either. The location however, is quite amazing and you are in a really nice spot to really explore Hanoi. Our complimentary breakfast was a la carte, and this was quite nice. The hotel also helped us book a tour to Halong Bay, however it appeared that they had providers whom they traded with often (perhaps for commission?) and tried very hard to steer us in the direction of those tours, despite us wanting to explore our options more fully. I do have to commend them for their effort. The staff, although friendly, appeared awkward and did not make you feel comfortable and welcome as they do at all other hotels we have stayed at.