arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.7
Based on 450 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 450 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for Money 8.9
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Patrick C.
Canada
August 01, 2013
Great Stay
location, clean, friendly staff
My wife and I don't have any complaints about Pearl except for the size of the room. Think college dorm. No really. I think we were given the smallest room in the entire hotel but I guess that's what is expected for the ridiculously low price that we paid. There was a couple of other weird things about the room. There's a window, yes a window that completely opens to the hallway. It had a curtain but even so privacy and noise in the morning was a concern. Also, the bathroom has an opening at the corner that faces the hallway so everyone can hear you do your business. Very strange. We tried to change rooms but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked. Other than that the room was very clean with a nice shower and flat screen tv (if it were a tube tv it wouldn't fit, honestly!). I was concerned about bugs crawling in because of the hole in the bathroom but we didn't experience any. The wifi was probably the fastest I've experienced in any hotel because there was a router mounted right outside our room in the hallway. The service was great. The gentleman that works the night shift speaks great English and was very helpful in showing us what attractions we can check out. He also seemed genuinely concerned about our safety and gave us helpful tips while we stayed in Hanoi. The hotel is located on a very narrow and sketchy looking street but you'll quickly notice that practically all hotels are on sketchy looking streets! Unless of course you opt for a 5 star hotel. Also, don't be alarmed by the small size of this hotel. It is tiny compared to most that you'll come across around the world. But once again you'll quickly realize that all hotels in the area are this size. The location is great. It's in a backpackers area in the Old Quarter and its a ton of fun navigating the busy sidewalkless streets dodging motorbikes.

Tu P.
Canada
July 31, 2013
Room deceptively small compared to picture on the
Attentive staff, and clean room
The room given to me the first night was behind the reception desk leaving a feeling that there is no privacy. Staff changed me to a larger room the next day. Hotel located on a street inaccessible by taxi because cars are not allowed making it inconvenient. I suggest that Agoda requires hotel to state whether car accessible to allow traveler make better decision

Todd K.
United States
July 28, 2013
We returned to this hotel because of the service
Great night manager , comfortable room, good location
We made a few side trips using this hotel as our base camp in Hanoi. Hotel staff tries hard to please, but only the night manager speaks English well. They safeguarded our bags while we were away and made several helpful suggestions. They know the city and area well. One extra feature of this hotel is free use of a laptop computer in each room. They vary in quality (we stayed in a different rooms on different nights), but since my wife and I are both computer users, this enabled us to save some time and get a bit more sleep instead of having to share the computer I carry with me at all times.

Kirishnamurthi G.
India
July 28, 2013
Cozy Hotel with Friendly and cooperative staff
Location, Rooms & staff
Was quite comfortable and the highlight of this hotel is the friendly and attentive staff. Mr Phue in the front desk was very helpful. Need some bargaining skills if you want to book tours through them.

Jon W.
Sweden
July 21, 2013
Nightly flood in room
Central location in old town
Woke up in the middle of the first night to find the floor flooded with water pouring in through the walls (!). Our bags and the stuff in them were soaked and some of it didn't dry until we left Hanoi. After a while, we were offered another room, which was smaller and smelled of smoke, and lacked large towels. There was no question of compensation or even an excuse for our flooding incident. Furthermore, our new room was not cleaned the next day and no new towels brought before we explicitly asked for them. The staff was friendly but seemed confused at times; based upon our experience, this is not a hotel with a good standard.

Todd K.
United States
July 17, 2013
We extended our stay
The manager - Phuc Nguyen - was extremely helpful, decent breakfast, good shower
Good in-room WiFi, large room, good bathroom/shower. Staff were pleasant although only one of them (the night manager) speaks very good English. Many small ants in bathroom coming in through a crack in the floor (on floor 2), attracted to the wastebasket.

Todd K.
United States
July 16, 2013
Didn't measure up to high website ratings
Night shift (male) manager/receptionist was very professional and helpful, friendliness of entire staff, in-room WiFi
Large room, but it had lots of small ants in the bathroom. Shower/bathroom was good, bed was normal (hard) by Thai standards. Night manager went the extra mile to ensure our satisfaction, helping us with luggage & transportation.

Emma H.
Australia
July 10, 2013
Easy, affordable and convenient
It was clean, comfortable, good staff
Staff were very helpful and I was upgraded for a part of my stay.

Ayrene B.
Philippines
July 04, 2013
I love the buffet breakfast!
Staff, Location and Food
We were greeted with a warm smile. it's really convenient because the front desk speaks english fairly. We were given a family room though we only book for a double bed room. After check out we were really thankful for the free room that they let us used before we left.

SOONSUNG C.
South Korea
June 29, 2013
very good
breakfast. clean. quiet.