Back to hotel info

2015
Exceptional 9.1
Based on 995 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Exceptional



based on 995 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.4
  • Service 9.2
  • Value for Money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 8.7

paul M. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2013
A lovely but expensive hotel.
The room, good service, quiet.
The hotel runs a tour of their bunker which has been cleared out and is open to tourists. The guide spoke excellent English and was quite diplomatic in trying to educate you to life on the wrong side of American bombings. The French restaurant food was a disappointment and for the price I would have expected a better quality.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Jane D. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Beautiful Historical hotel
Pool, location, history
Indulgent !!!! Cocktails galore and afternoon tea included
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Angelique K. from United Kingdom
Families with older children
Stayed one night in June 2013
Lovely historical hotel
service history location
It was my mums birthday and they made an extra effort. They upgraded us and provided a cake in the room. Lovely touch. Certainly the best hotel in Hanoi and great value for money. Opera Wing is much more modern than the Historical Wing but rooms have been finished in the same style and it is actually better value for money.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Terri T. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2013
Amazing!!!
I loved everything!
Best hotel! After an over night stay on a boat in Ha Long Bay, I was so glad that I had booked this room. Everything about the hotel is superb, though we only stayed for one night, I couldn't fault it at all. Highly recommended!!!
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Heather D. from United Kingdom
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Luxurious ,oasis in a very bust town
Historic atmosphere, hotel facilities and the staff
Absolutely brilliant time. We were upgraded to the old part of the hotel which was fantastic. We changed our booking on arrival and nothing was too much trouble to facilitate this change. The food was good (although the Vietnamese restaurant was VERY expensive for Vietnam.... however to be fair in line with a 5 star restaurant elsewhere in the world) Drink, again expensive relative to Vietnam prices but not too bad against the rest of the world. The pool was a very welcome chance to chill out in a busy city
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Deborah R. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in July 2013
Absolutely wonderful
Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, excellent service
From the moment I entered the hotel the attention to detail was extraordinary. All staff knew my name and were available to assist me with any query. The Spa was beautiful and I felt very pampered.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Andrew N. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
A Historical Gem in the centre of Hanoi
The old Colonial French History, the attentive staff, impressive view of the garden.
I didn't expect the high quality of service that I received staying here. The staff were incredibly helpful and showed me to my room. The room had huge ceilings, no noise from neighbours and impressive views of the garden. The food was of a very high standard and I enjoyed eating in 3 restaurants while I stayed. I look forward to my next stay
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Soren C. from Denmark
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
One of the best hotel experiences anywhere ever.
Service, quality of rooms, overall elegance of hotel
I would recommend everyone to experience the Metropole. Fantastic service, beautiful classical hotel with the luxury of all modern facilities needed to be extremely comfortable during your stay in Hanoi. The hotels restaurants are not cheap, but all extremely good. Very central location.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Sai S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
The calm amongst the chaos! Highly recommended!!!!
Location, Room decor, Friendly staff
Sofitel metropole is an outstanding five star hotel amongst the noisy, bustling streets of Hanoi! We loved this hotel from checking in right to checking out and was the perfect place to start our trip in Vietnam. The staff were incredibly friendly and spoke very good English. The rooms were beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. Bathrooms were massive and very clean! Nice little perks such as the macaroons in the room and the choice of pillows. Location is perfect, we only took one taxi during our time in Hanoi! It was so very nice to come back to the calm and tranquility of this hotel after the madness on the streets of Hanoi. I cannot recommend this hotel enough!
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Regina N. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2013
Luxurious hotel with outstanding service
Swimming pool, large eroom, comfortable bed
Reviewed July 05, 2013