Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 653 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.0

Rachel S. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed one night in October 2012
Great location, clean and good service.
Price and location were best
Sunshine Suites was family friendly and superbly located in the heart of old town Hanoi. We'd gladly stay there again. Watch out for taxis trying to take you to a "fake" Sunshine Suites. It was part of a scam that happened to us and we, fortunately, already had our reservations with the address in hand.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Michele T. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed one night in October 2012
great location and good service
location, price, 2 double beds per room (a rarity in Asia)
we are a family of 5 so it is hard to find hotels that will accommodate our whole family in one room. this hotel had double-double rooms, a rarity in asia. our kids also liked the super fancy shower/tubs with lights, jets, music - the works! there was a free breakfast - it wasn't the best but not the worst. there was cereal, fruit, and vietnamese breakfast items. the location is the best selling point, located in the old quarter within walking distance of the hoa lo prison museum, lots of good outdoor restaurants, the lake, and plenty of shopping opportunities.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Shun L. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Very friendly staff and great location
Friendly staff, location, room
we got a deluxe city view room on the fifth floor. our room was very bright with natural light. there was one window that could be opened so we could hear sound from the busy street down. but when the window was closed the room was very quiet. location wise was perfect. just like ten minute walk to hoan kiem lake. you won't even noticed the distance since there were shops to distract you just be careful when crossing the street. and at night time, there were lots of street side 'cafes' just on the street where the hotel was located. very convenient if you want to give those a try. breakfast in hotel was quite a variety. i love pho (vietnamese noodle soup) and it was served both days we were there. beside there were also bread, toast, other pastries, omelet, fruit, etc.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Rodney K. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
"Lovely hotel and service with a smile"
Great staff, Excellent location, lovely room
We found the staff very friendly and helpfull. Our room had a huge balcony which looked down onto the street. The bed was too hard for us Westerners, but everything else was great.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Simone D. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2012
In the heart of the old town
Close to everything you need in Hanoi
Staff were friendly at check-in and up-graded us to a room with a balcony overlooking the busy Ma May Street. Staff were happy to give us ideas on what to do in Hanoi without being pushy. Breakfast was good. Enjoyed my stay!
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Kenneth T. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
accommodation equal to value
relatively clean & hospitable
the hotel was selected on the basis of the discounted price and we felt the discounted price was an accurate assessment of the real value. the photo of the room linked to the discount was either significantly enhanced or we were given a room of lesser standard. despite these issues the room was clean & fittings reasonable. the breakfast provided as part of the special was good quality and service satisfactory. the staff were hospitable and we were able to communicate reasonably comfortable in english.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Lois G. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed one night in July 2012
Great location, large room
Computer with internet in each room
The hotel is really conveniently located in the old quarter. We found it very good value for money. The staff were friendly and helped us when we needed to add an extra in our room. The breakfast was okay with a reasonable selection.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Tu P. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Dining room staff very friendly
nice, large dining room compared to other hotels of similar category
Room is much smaller than it is shown on the web. I had to change room as there was little place for my luggage in the deluxe room. The hotel does not provide over sheet or blanket. AC blows air directly on to the bed. I had to get up in the middle of the night to put more clothes. I should have asked for a blanket. Room was surprisingly quiet considering that it is in the middle of the the old Quarter. Food was good
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Camila O. from Brazil
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Nice hotel, but few structural problems
Good location and great shower
Nice value for the money. Good location, we could walk to most of the sightseeings. The room was ok, but with some structural problems. First of all, it smells funny, like, mold. The bathroom had this amazing shower, very high tech, but the sink was leaking, the support for toilet paper was broken... The night lamps were also broken. Our room was supposed to have a city view, but all we've got was a brick wall few centimeters away from the window. During the night, other loud guests disturbed our sleep. The breakfast was ok, nothing special...
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Ser T. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
good location for tourists
convenience as tourist most shops are within walking distance
no bad hotel but last night of my stay the aircon compressor is very noise in wee morning. which made my sleep uncomfortable. can only recommend for those travelers who are there for shopping.
Reviewed October 16, 2012