Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 562 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.6

Yap C. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
lovely hotel and nice room
good location. room comfortable
room was good. breakfast was good too. staff was friendly but they cant speak good English.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Jan C. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in January 2013
Nice hotel with very nice staff.
Coffee
I enjoyed it. Fast service. Nice food. Nice people. Weather was so-so and also the location is very accessible.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Yap C. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
nice hotel but small rooms
location, service
with the tallest building next to the hotel, can easier on the way back from walking around. and its at a savier location compare to those near market. the hotel is nice, staff were consider helpful. free wi-fi available,change of currency with them and even do some printing for free. and the housekeeping is good where they will do all the cleaning and arrangement. breakfast is so so, but can always search for some nice food besides the street near hotel. there is one just right beside with the suprising egg that must be a try at there.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Derek S. from Canada
Business travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
This is layed back place to stay
Everytime I have stayed the rooms have been so quiet and confortable.
The staff has been very good. The rooms are very clean and look new. (Well Kept so far) This is my hotel of choice in HCMC. The location is good! Good value.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Martin M. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
perfect location to explore Saigon.
Location Location Location
Minutes from the river, in the central district, perfect location to explore Saigon. Rooms are clean, service nice, nothing overwhelming but solid.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Alison G. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Good modern facilties but cold showers
Relatively quiet location within easy reach of the action
We returned to the Au Lac Saigon three times during our holiday. Came to like the more sedate location away from the crowds and mayhem of the backpacker district. The Bitexco tower directly across the street makes for a useful landmark all over HCMC. The rooms are on the small side but generally okay. The lobby, restaurant and computer area are spacious and pleasant. The almost always cold showers were our one complaint.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

jeff H. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 8 nights in December 2012
Located Near Major Streets/Attractions
Near major streets
The room was adequate for 1 person, not huge. The location itself is the main selling point because it's just several minutes walk from Nguyen Hue and the saigon river. The bitexco tower is also nearby. Morning breakfast buffet was pretty good.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

simpson J. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
beautiful hotel with friendly staff
e
We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is spotlessly clean, spacious and nicely furnished. The staff were always friendly & helpful. Lots of great restarants close by and an esay walk to many attractions e.g. Ben Thanh market, war remnants museum. Highly recommend Au Lac Hotel.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

SYAHRIA W. from Indonesia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Great location with friendly staffs
The location is very close to the center of tourists' attraction, the free wifi connection is excellent, the staffs are friendly and attentive
Au Lac Saigon (or Au Lac 2, as there is another branch of Au Lac Hotel located in district 3 of Ho Chi Minh City), is a real value for money. Located in a small and quiet street, but very near to the main tourists' attraction of HCMC. Must-visit places like Opera House, Reunification Palace, and the War Remnants Museum are all within walking distance from the hotel. The breakfast is quite good. The staff are friendly and attentive to the guests. The hotel itself is quite small, but very cozy with a homey atmosphere. Plus, the free wifi connection is excellent. However, when I got there the first night, for unclear reasons they try to move us to the other Au Lac for the first night (our reservations are for 3 nights) even though our reservations are confirmed . After my niece insisted that we do not want to move to the other Au Lac even only for one night, they finally gave our rooms and apologize to us, and there were no problems at all with the rooms. Apart from that incident, our stay in Au Lac Saigon had been great.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Robin C. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Great Location and nice hotel
Location is good, staff all are good with good english
Hotel is comfortable and clean. Staff were good. Super fast check-in. Under 1 minuite I think! Close to lots of places in district 1 and 3, and also near river. The hotel is opposite the Bitexco Tower so makes for an easy landmark if trying to get back at night.
Reviewed January 11, 2013