Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.5
Based on 3119 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3119 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Janice P. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2015
Far from five stars
Location is the only thing going for them
We stayed at Majestic for 2 non-consecutive nights. The first night we were assigned to rooms on the 7th floor. The rooms were street facing and on the small side but the thing that bothered us was most was the dampness of the room and bed linens. As with most hotels in Vietnam, ACs are turned off when rooms are not occupied but for some reason, the bed linens at Majestic were damp and the room and bathroom had a musty smell. We were assigned pool side rooms on the 2nd floor for our next stay which were much larger but still had the dampness issue. The bathrooms are ok but the bathtubs are very high and we found it was tricky getting out which I think is a concern for older people or those with mobility limitations. We thought the front desk reception service, though quick to check us in, was not as accomodating as other hotels we stayed at in Vietnam. For example, we noticed that paper towels had run out in the lobby bathroom. Upon requesting more from the front desk, they told us to use facial tissues to dry our hands rather than requesting for paper towels to be refilled. We all know how well facial tissues work on wet hands. The doormen and bell hops were very friendly. Overall, not a terrible stay but I don't see the value in staying here despite the riverside location. There are much newer hotels with more modern amenities similarly priced in the vicinity and honestly, we had extremely better stays at $50/night hotels throughout Vietnam. Majestic needs to invest in a makeover to bring back its historic charm.
Reviewed December 02, 2015

Yi-Ming L. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015
Great stay
Location, service, nice rooms
The architecture of the building was a nice sight, service was good and prompt, the room was spacious and well lit. The location made it accessible to a lot of good restaurants and bars in the area around dong khoi and hue. Walkable to the post office and church.
Reviewed December 02, 2015

CHUAH C. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in November 2015
1 night stay in Majestic Hotel HCMC
1. Location 2. Food 3. Hotel outlooks - Classical
Good stay with nice colonial architectual design. But as due to the main road construction - the noise especially during night time is a bit unbearable.
Reviewed December 01, 2015

Nathalie G. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Great location, needs a bit of revamping
Location, breakfast included and good WiFi
The Majestic is located right in the heart of district 1 in Ho Chi Ming, perfect location if you are touring the city for the first time. Yet, the hotel is 90 years old and it shows. It kept a lot of the original features for its earlier days, which some might need some revamping: the door of our upgraded suite did not shut by itself and the lock was from the original days. The suite had a double door (French door style) where one was clearly not securely and firmly closing. A good push from a strong shoulder could have easily open the door without a key.... Our suite did not face the outside and therefore natural light was very limited. The lighting from the 10" feet ceiling was not enough to provide good lighting to read for example. The breakfast included was served on the top floor of the hotel(5th floor) and provided great views of the river in front of the hotel. The variety of food offered for breakfast was wide and fresh, yet on a hot day, you might prefer sitting inside, even if the view is not has nice. If we ever go back to Saigon, we will definitely try to find a more modern hotel in District 1.
Reviewed November 30, 2015

Ron W. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015
Old colonial style, clean and well located hotel
Location; staff; old colonial feel and charm
Reviewed November 29, 2015

Hyung L. from South Korea
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Male managers at reception was unkind. They told m
History. Location. View.
Very good except male managers at the reception. They don't speak good English. And they seems don't like customers to make a booking through Agoda. They told me Agoda is lying to customers. Actually, their face was too serious without smile and what they told me was wrong about the booking. This was a difference compared to other hotels in HCMC.
Reviewed November 29, 2015

Dawn C. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed one night in March 2015
really luxurious
good location, food and clean
We booked a Colonial River View room and also a City View room. I'd read some reviews about the potential for traffic noise from the river view but thought "what the heck, it will be fine". We hardly got any sleep that first night, so the next morning we asked to be moved to a quieter room. My Dad's city view room was also quite noisy, so we asked if he could move too. The staff explained that they were fully booked, so we thought we were stuck with two more sleepless nights. However, the staff came up with the idea of us sharing the President's Suite with my dad. This was a fabulous room, lovely and quiet, and really luxurious. The staff couldn't do enough for use, and the room upgrade made our holiday all the more special. We would definitely stop here again, everything and everyone was wonderful
Reviewed November 24, 2015

STEVEN S. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Home from home
Very warm welcome, lovely room and great location.
It has been 9 years since I stayed in the Majestic, I did not realise or remember that it was such a nice hotel with great staff and lovely rooms.
Reviewed November 19, 2015

john W. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Imperial charm
Funky comfortable every facility
Totally at ease at all times. First class service everywhere. Total bill reasonable. I will return!
Reviewed November 19, 2015

Alice M. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Old fashioned style
Location, architecture, staff
Very pleasing
Reviewed November 16, 2015