Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.5
Based on 3119 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3119 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Xu D.
China
October 08, 2012
great location and nice building
great location
booked for my friends and I also visited this hotel, the location is great and easy for you to go to the famous sight seeings

ROGER L.
Australia
October 08, 2012
A grand old French lady
The facade, the lobby, the lobby ceiling, the wooden spiral staircase, the French doors in our room that opened out on to the swimming pool.
The staff were always very helpful with directions or help,for example,in negotiating an excessive taxi fare. The position of the hotel in town was good for us because we did a lot of walking and found that most things were in range for us. The room was clean and quiet and very comfortable. The only fault was the very slow draining of the bath/shower. The hotel was built in 1925 and has had a few renovations since. To the credit of the owners at the time the original character has been largely retained. If you like an almost opulent French colonial grandure and atmosphere then it is worth staying a while. Sadly, I suspect that the next renovation which is already planned and advertised, may have more of a negative impact with its overwhelming glass tower shadowing the little slice of the original Majestic. Experience it while you can.

Bradley H.
United States
October 07, 2012
Awful
location
wouldn't stay here again. Smelled bad poor room unfriendly staff

WENJUAN H.
China
October 07, 2012
Nice location and view
Nice view with comfortable staying
Made a sudden decision to spend the long National Holidays in Ho Chi Minh City and stay in this wonderful hotel recommened by a friend. We impressed by the nice location and fantastic window view of this hotel, clean and convenient! Very close to the airport.

Irene M.
United States
October 06, 2012
Location was great - room was ok
Location
The location of this hotel is ideal, it is located right along the river in the heart of district 1. The hotel itself however could use some work. They are currently working on updating it, and were drilling in the lobby when I was there, and while our room appeared quite nice, we quickly discovered a musty smell from the a/c unit. I believe they have already upgraded the rooms but the cosmetic upgrades should not have been in lieu of a ventilation upgrading. I felt like the hotel once was glorious but has not been maintained in the way I expected it would be....

Catherine L.
Australia
October 06, 2012
Great position and a fabulous roof top bar
roof-top bar; great river view; breakfast
We chose to begin our Vietnam adventure at the Majestic and we were not disappointed. It is a beautiful hotel - the room we had was spacious and beautifully furnished with flowers and a welcoming fruit plate. Beds were very comfortable and staff were helpful and friendly. We had a river view room and it was certainly worth paying the extra as we enjoyed not only watching the boats and the river action but also the street action - watching traffic has never been so interesting! The breakfast is definitely one of the best we encountered in Vietnam and although we didn't eat at the restaurant for dinner, I would definitely recommend cocktails at the roof-top bar. Again lovely views of the river and lights as well as the road action. Position wise you can easily walk to the War Museum,the Ben Thang markets and other key attractions. We liked it so much that we actually came back to the Majestic at the end of our trip for our final night in Vietnam (again getting a river view room). I would definitely stay there again if I returned to Ho Chi Minh.

Stephane G.
France
October 05, 2012
Old charm, slightly disappointing
Old french charm in the middle of Saigon
Historical hotel in the middle of Saigon near the river. Decent rooms. Nice location. A bit disappointing though as many features of the hotel are under what one may expect in a five stars hotel: the rooms are nice but are not outstanding, the décoration is OK, the breakfast is so-so. Many things in the hotel (information signs, etc.) lack style and err on the garrish/kitsch/cheesy side.

Brian F.
Australia
October 05, 2012
Old style hotel in good location
Good location
The hotel is very old but has been renovated several times. The rooms are huge and modern in terms of facilities whilst maintaining the old world charm. Staff were efficient but not particularly helpful. The food and beverages whether in your room or in the hotel restaurants are priced excessively, up to five times more than in reasonable restaurants. Buffet breakfast was good and offered great views of the Saigon river.

Samsul A.
Singapore
October 04, 2012
Lovely hotel but can be noisy if facing main road
Tradition and heritage. Location.
We stayed at the Majestic Hotel Saigon for 3 nights. The location of the hotel made it very accessible to most attractions in District 1. However, the noise of the main road can be quite disturbing particularly if you are staying at the lower floors. The roof top restaurant where we had breakfast has a wonderful view of the river. During our stay, which stretched over the weekend, there was a wedding event at the main restaurant. The main lobby was busy as there were many people there. The music played at the rooftop bar can also be quite loud in the evening. We were however particularly impressed by the professionalism and friendliness of their staff. Overall this is a good hotel to stay in but can be quite noisy if you are facing the main road.

Lim C.
Malaysia
October 03, 2012
very classic and convinient location
food was good.
i was staying in room 408. in the morning i'll listen to all the dragging chair noise from upstair restaurant. thats really disturb my sleep.