Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 58 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.1
  • Service 7.2
  • Value for money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 5.9
Sort by

Sanjay S. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in January 2014
Comfortable and value for money
Location, cost & comfort
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Adrien M. from France
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Cental Hotel 30 dollars per night
Not too expensive -Well located - Firendly Staff
This hotel does the job, it is central, clean, friendly staff. Only 2 concerns: - breakfast is bad but you can easily find something cheap and good in HCMC - addtional services expensive (need to pay 10 USD for lat check out at 2 PM &rental of motorbike at 10 USD per day when you can easily fond the same for 5 USD) Overall not bad at all if you take it for what it is a 2 stars hotel with a clean room.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Dennis S. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Not comfortable, Poor breakfast Small room
most of the Staff is friendly and helpfull
Not pleasant The room was small and dark Breakfast was cold and I prepared the day before and not kept cold enough. The furniture in the room was very cheep and I skined my leg on the bed frame two times drawing blood.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Kristofer H. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in May 2013
Nice enough!
Good located, clean room.
Good located, 3 mins walk to opera house, clean room and good size. But it's a bit noisy in the morning.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Timothy D. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Great location and Friendly staff
Location
I have stayed at this hotel and others in the area. This is always my first choice. Cost is low, quality is good.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Timothy D. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Friendly service
Location is near City Square, but off the main road
I have stayed at this hotel many times and other hotels in the Ho Chi Minh area. This is my preferred hotel because of loacation and price.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Edward L. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Great location & good breakfast
Price & location
Service is very good & breakfast is delicious.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

MARK O. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Good Location at affordable prices
Beautiful balcony and comfortable
Reasonable service and friendly front desk. Convenient location and accessible to many eateries.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Nigel H. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Cheap and adequate hotel in central location
Price and location
I've stayed at the New Star Hotel on numerous occasions. They always remember me and welcome me back. They now have wifi in the rooms which is great. The breakfasts are adequate, but eat elsewhere for everything else. Walking distance to all of the central district (District 1). It can be a bit noisy at night time.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

claire L. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2012
Beautiful hotel and nicer area of Ho Chi MIng!
helpful staff, nice breakfast.
Lovely stay, nice rooms very upmarket for us backpackers!
Reviewed January 19, 2012