Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 347 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 347 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for Money 8.9
  • Food/Dining 7.1
Sort by

chunyu W. from China
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
staff looks very nice even when they cheat you
good location
They gave us a standard room adding a extra bed while we booked a family room the first night stay. we asked the frontdesk to book train tickets from Hanoi to Hue, they asked us to pay 55$, while the printed price on the ticket was 800,000+Dong(arround 35$),they try to hide the price on the ticket with a small paper whiten "do not be late...". and telling us that they will keep the tickets for us untill last minuts in case we loose them... we asked the manager why the price has so big difference when we found out the real price, the manager was telling a story incomprehensible about their train system. anyway, we feel they are dishonest.
Reviewed January 05, 2015

chunyu W. from China
Families with young children
Stayed one night in December 2014
Not a good choice for family with children
Location
Good location, facility is quite old, not very comfortable, staff was very nice. we have stayed 3 days, they do not clean the room during our stay. It is not good for family with kids.
Reviewed January 03, 2015

Erick B. from El Salvador
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2014
Beyond awesome hostel in Saigon
The staff
We stayed four nights at this hostel. The staff is the definition of friendly. One day we were leaving really early to join a tour and they packed our breakfast to not leave with an empty stomach. They also printed our tickets back home and let us leave our backpacks at their storage room on our last day. Room was really clean and we felt comfortable all the time. The hostel is located in a busy street full of bars and restaurants but since it is in an alley you hardly hear what is going on outside. We would definitely stay again here if we return to HCMC.
Reviewed January 03, 2015

Ammie J. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Second stay at Ngoc phan
Clean and comfortable. Located in a quite alley but central to the tourist area.
Reviewed November 10, 2014

Eirik H. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 6 nights in October 2014
Perfectly acceptable room
fairly quiet, close to activities, not too expensive
Reviewed November 07, 2014

Zanoria G. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed one night in August 2014
Value for Money
Good location, spacious room
The owner was accommodating.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Carolyn E. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in August 2014
A hidden gem in District 1
The Ngoc Phan Guest House is clean, cool, quiet but located in a great location.
This is the second visit to Ho Chi Minh city and we stayed here last time as it is fantastic value for money. When you are in your room it is so quiet you would not think you were in the heart of District 1. The family are very obliging and friendly, rooms clean and because it is located at the end of a lane it is also very quiet. It is a great location so when you step out onto the street you are at the heart for both shopping and pop up bars at night. This will always be our choice when visiting Ho Chi Minh.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Nathan M. from United States
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Great place to stay in backpackers district
Clean Hotel, Friendly Staff, Great Location!
The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly. The location is right in the heart of the backpackers district but manages to be just far enough off of the main strip that it is very quiet and relaxing within the hotel. I would highly suggest this hotel to anyone that wants to stay in that area, especially for the price!
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Leanne P. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2013
Excellent location!!
Location
Right smack in the backpackers district!!
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Jeff S. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
nice staff, clean room, good price
staff, location, price
Very nice young man to show us to our room. Was able to speak good English. Room was clean, not much of a view but worth the price. Breakfast was quite basic but fresh. Arranged a day trip, via the hotel staff, to see the Cu Chi tunnels and wasn't disappointed. We didn't have to pay for our trip until checkout. Kind of hard to find hotel.. we took airport public bus 152 ($1 for 2 people) from ground level across from BK upon arrival. Takes about 30 mins to get to bus station near Ben Thanh market. Then walked about 15 mins to hotel on Bui Vien. Once on foot be very cautious crossing ANY STREET, or you will be a goner eh! Once you find the civic number on blue overhead banner then enter the small alley. Ngoc Phan is at end on right. HINT... download an offline copy of Saigon on Google maps app, you can use GPS and track yourself on your journey. We did and it was probably the best idea we had the entire trip.
Reviewed May 24, 2014