arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 2210 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2210 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 8.1

3 Aleshia H.
United States
June 03, 2015
Rex
Rex Hotel Saigon
Horrible! Stayed one hour due to no air conditioner, no wifi "service" for Gov phone, and smoking smelly room-but requested nonsmoking room.

9 Marguerite N.
United States
May 31, 2015
The Rex was great
The breakfast buffet, the helpful staff that spoke English, and the fully-loaded hotel with pool and gym
It was really great!

7.3 Lau W.
Singapore
May 30, 2015
Good service and location
Staff services, location and breakfast spread
Should improve the room furniture as there are odour of old furniture smell. The hotel staff provide good service, are very attentive to customers, always offering help.

6.3 Alisha H.
United States
May 04, 2015
Not worth the price
Location, historical, comfort of beds
I would urge anyone staying here to not think of this as a 5 star hotel before booking. I felt that it was NOT worth the money spent! Pros- It is decorated nicely in the lobby and rooms. It feels elegant and comfortable. The location is great, with a nice view out onto the streets of Saigon. The bed was super comfortable, and the bathroom is very clean and modern. Cons- Immediately from checking in, the staff was not polite or guest-oriented at all. It looked as if our conditioner bottle was already half-used when we opened it, and when we called to ask for more, it was never brought. The food in the complimentary breakfast was below average. If i'm paying almost $200 a night for a hotel in Saigon, I'd expect much better quality for food. Overall, it was the food and the customer service that would stop me from returning to the Rex. I believe their are other hotels that are cheaper and with better standards.

9 Robert H.
Australia
April 30, 2015
Room good but don't get hotel transfers
Pool breakfast view from bar
Room good but charged us US 90 dollars for hotel transfer for a 6 dollar taxi fare Pool nice staff are pleasant robots with little of their own personality coming through Good place at end of your trip

9.7 Erlina B.
Indonesia
April 29, 2015
Luxury at a good price
price, location, room comfort
The room is very comfortable and quiet. The staffs are very friendly

8 Soh K.
Malaysia
April 26, 2015
Nice hotel but noisy due to construction next door
Big room and toilet although old design, but still maintain good. Staff all very kind and helpful always smile.
I m very satisfied during my time in this hotel. But not comfortable when the construction on going causing the noisy sound.

8 Vipavee K.
Thailand
April 15, 2015
Good, Clean and Convenient
Good, Clean and Convenient
Short but good

8 Aurea A.
Philippines
April 13, 2015
excellent room but grounds have seen better days
the room was spotless, luxurious and spacious. Service was excellent.
We were initially disappointed upon entering the lobby because their was a weird scent. It maybe because the hotel allows smoking in the indoor cafe. The carpets were also stained. The lobby was disappointing for a five star hotel. The aquarium upfront was a nice touch, tough. The room, however, was excellent! It was very clean and spacious. The dark wood and marble made it feel first class. The bed and pillows were divine. We wanted to sleep in the whole day. Nice bathroom. Fast wi-fi. Service was also excellent. We'd stay at the Rex again as the location is a perfect jump off point to explore district 1. Breakfast could be better.

9.3 Steve B.
New Zealand
April 12, 2015
Three Days in Saigon
The old style of the new wing, the staff were wonderful, the location was central to everything, The Governor Suite was like a an apartment.
It was all absolutely great. I was a bit worried about the reviews that talked the noise of the nearby construction but in the West Wing we didn't hear anything. The service was excellent and being so close to everything was a bonus - excellent location. The noise was noticeable from the rooftop bar but once it is all finished the Rex will be the gem of Saigon. I have stayed at the Rex six or seven years ago before the addition of the new wing. It certainly has changed but I think for the better.