arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 2207 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2207 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Staff Performance 8.2
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 8.1

8.7 Grant S.
United States
February 27, 2012
Historic and Deluxe
I like staying in old hotels that have personality as it were and The Rex fits that bill. Very well appointed rooms and superior staff.
i had a night to kill in saigon before heading to china and decided that i wanted to stay at the rex. it was a good choice as they are very customer service oriented and i got there 4 hours before check in. they apologized and said my room was being cleaned but would find me as soon as it was ready, which they did. the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. they have 2 pools though i prefer the one on the rooftop. the rooftop bar was nice too with an asian band that covered a wide range of artists from kenny rodger's "the gambler" to carly simon, and a cover of ike and tina turner's cover of "proud mary." as i was leaving they started "what a wonderful world" and it rally sounded a lot like louis armstrong. really, really weird, but in a good way.

9.7 Martin H.
Australia
February 27, 2012
Great place to stay
large open rooms, visually stunning with all the mod cons
right in the heart of saigon within walking distance of benh tanh markets, dong khoi and the restaurant sector. its location location location . wrapped up in an old world charm and super attentive staff the stay in the rex at the end of our trip through vietnam was like a mini holiday inside a holiday.

4.7 Bryan T.
United States
February 27, 2012
Great Location but Old and Noisy Hotel
Beautiful Entrance and Lobby
The room is old and smell. There was construction through the night, the smoke went inside the room and noisy, I complained and got a smaller room (down graded instead of upgrade). I booked the room through agoda.com. The deal was done. Whatever I asked for I won't get it. I could not get the receipt from Hotel for the stay. Many other hotels around the area are better. I got the room is not even 2 stars in US. Be careful on hotel rating in Vietnam, especially not American Hotel.

9.3 Natasha S.
Australia
February 23, 2012
Old world glamour and amazing rooftop pool
Not cheap
Beautiful old hotel right in centre of town. Attention to detail in rooms amazing. Delightful old world furniture. Nice touches with robes, slippers, fresh fruit in rooms and chocolates delivered to the room free of charge. Fantastic buffet breakfast. Highly recommended.

8.3 peiqi T.
Singapore
February 23, 2012
Great location to most shopping places
location and comfortable room
big n comfortable room with lots of branded shops eg chanel, rolex etc at lobby small casino with mainly jackpot machine in the hotel room service at hotel is extremely expensive thus avoid eating in. 5-10 mins walk to parkson, diamond plaza, saigon centre, saigon square and ben thanh (day and night) market. price at saigon square and ben thanh are negotiable. there's a great ice cream shop nearby that serves fantastic coconut ice cream. secret garden nearby for nice grilled meats/seafood but tom yam soup not to our liking coz its sweet and minty. private tours services with fantastic tour guide but at a slightly high price 2 hrs bonsai cruise is nice with buffet dinner and entertainments that cruise around saigon river booking in advance is required as it was fully booked when we got there. glad that the tour guide managed to get seats for us in the end. cu chi tunnel and mekong river (floating mkt) at cai be is recommendable provided u r lucky to hav a good tour guide

8 Donna G.
Australia
February 23, 2012
Great location, nice lobby
location, lobby, service, rooftop bar, great mojito's!!
hotel is in an excellent location. the room was acceptable however the bathroom was a little shabby. the pool/s are small and there is minimal space to sit around the pool. the rooftop bar is great. breakfast good. room service meal for dinner was exceptionally ordinary. overall the service was very good. nice lobby.

9.3 Marie L.
Ireland
February 22, 2012
Lovely Hotel, Fantastic service.
rooftop bar. big rooms. super service.
situated in district 1 in ho chi mhin city, the rex is the ideal location for sightseeing and shopping. the hotel rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff are super friendly and helpful. the rooftop bar is beautiful and if having breakfast you can enjoy it up there. we flew back home the day we checked out and to facilitate us the hotel offered us a late check out at no extra cost and they also allowed us to use the pool and showers to freshen up before heading to the airport later that night. we really enjoyed our stay here it was a real treat to finish off our holiday in vietnam.

7.3 paulus N.
Indonesia
February 21, 2012
Great location but small rooms
best features hotel and more closer to the stall seller and cities
we spent 7 days actually, 5 days in hochiminh and 2 days in hanoy. both of the hotel in hochiminh which we book through agoda are good. when we arrived at hanoy i think it was interesting and surprised me, i thought it was only 2 weather here but unlikely we have to buy another coat and jacket.. they got 4 weather and now is spring and totally different with hochiminh city, over all i like this city so much.

8.3 Irfan L.
Indonesia
February 20, 2012
Good Hotel and Great Location!
hotel room, location, helpful staffs
hotel room is a bit old but still all right, location is very very central and close to everywhere, very helpful staffs

8.3 Hao L.
Singapore
February 20, 2012
Great location, lovely old style rooms
near to ben thanh market and shopping malls
walking distance to the ben thanh market with lots of street food. the hotel buffet breakfast offers a good spread of varieties - including local dishes.