arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 2207 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2207 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 8.1

4 Moses M.
Australia
February 18, 2012
Good location but very shabby room
Location
For a 5 star hotel this was a disaster, the room is need of renovation, the staff in need of customer service lessons. The breakfast was average at best and it's beyond me how this is a 5 star rated hotel.

9.3 Chee H.
Singapore
February 16, 2012
Perfect hotel in a perfect location in HCM
location, friendly staffs,
Rex Hotel is located in district 1 of HCM. It’s almost a perfect location if you looking at a short stay in HCM and an accommodation that is near to most of the tourist attractions. The staffs there were very attentive and friendly.

8.3 Si W.
Malaysia
February 15, 2012
Refurbished Grand Old Dame
Excellent location in the city
There are two wings in the hotel, the older refurbished one where I booked into and the newer wing. The rooms in the old wing is a little tired with 80s furnishings and an old toilet. Fortunately, the bed was comfortable. The reception kindly offered me room 328 when I checked in which has a fantastic view of Ho Chi Minh statue. This however can be a problem with noise for light sleepers. The breakfast buffet has an excellent selection of Vietnamese cuisine and Western option. There is even a tennis court here. The best thing about the hotel is the free wifi EVERYWHERE!

9.3 Marion K.
United States
February 14, 2012
great location for tet
location, room size
Enjoyed my stay, perfect stay for tet, all of the festivities are right outside. Room was large, many dining options inside hotel. Ben thanh market within walking distance. Only negative is i booked 4 nights and was charged an additional 130 dollars upon arrival because my wife was joining me, and apparantly i didnt list her as a guest when i booked online. Nearly fainted.

7 Roger B.
Australia
February 13, 2012
Well located old hotel with an interesting past.
Location
a nice clean hotel which has seen its best days and is being overtaken by more modern accommodcation houses in district 1. it's new shopping arcade and main entrance are the only visable signs of it being five star hotel. my room and area of the hotel, whilst renovated, still was clearly old and struggling to keep pace with the development of hcmc. i would recommend staying at the rex if you're looking for no more than 3.5 to 4 star accommodation which is really well located.

8 Michael H.
Australia
February 13, 2012
Great Location
Roof top resturant --pool
have stayed in the rex in the past and really enjoyed the old world charm and style. this is my first visit since they renovated and added boutique shopping. they couldnt buy what they had and now its gone never to return. i'm just glad i was lucky enough to have stayed at the rex...now its just another charmless hotel...none the less it was efficent and the staff were friendly and helpful...ah but alas no more rex for me.

6.7 Julien E.
France
February 11, 2012
Very good location
location, roof terrace
this hotel is very well located in district 1, you can do most of hcmc attractions by walk, the big market is only few minutes walk away from the hotel. it is however a bit disappointing, as it should not be considered as a true 5 stars hotel: the ground floor is superb, with luxurious shops and hotel lobby. the rooms above are however far below this standard, specially the bathroom which is very very old. this hotel will need a good refurbishment.

9 Tom K.
Australia
February 10, 2012
Hotel, staff and Service was good.
Quality of the room was high standard.
Room was night, big bed, big shower. Good location. Friendly and helpful staff.

8.3 Philip P.
United Kingdom
February 09, 2012
Lovely hotel in central city near shopping arcade
In shopping arcade, good service, amazing buffet breakfast
This is a fantastic central hotel in Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam. The service is friendly and professional. The hotels are very clean and they also consider environmental issues as well. The 2 roof swimming pools are well maintained. The rooftop cafe has a splendid view of the surrounding area and often has live music in the evenings. The dining room that presents the breakfast buffet has an excellent selection. The room was clean and well presented with fresh fruit and water. This is an interesting hotel that has alot of history behind it as press reporters and journalists stayed here during the Vietnam War. My only disappointment was that the Rooftop Cafe had Shark Fin Soup on the menu.

8.3 usman U.
Indonesia
February 08, 2012
nice hotel and great location
good breakfast
lovely hotel and service with a smile, the staffs also very helpfull and fluent in english. the breakfast very excellent, with the vietnam cuisine (try the Poh, very good). and also for like shopping the branded, you can find in hotel building. and it's easy to access everywhere.