arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2240 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Samuel D.
Australia
November 18, 2011
Great central location
Nice bar and pool
we stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the hotel very much. the pool area and bar upstairs gives you a great view of the city below. wifi almost everywhere and nice clean pools. we also did a vietnam vespa tour that was great fun and a fantastic way to see the real hcmc.

Bella S.
Australia
November 17, 2011
Charm and convenience in a choice location!
Knowledgeable, accommodating service; central location; colonial charm; two rooftop pools!
the location was hard to beat, opposite the colonial era hotel de ville and less than 10 minutes walk from ben thanh market. the staff were all friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. we were originally put in a carpeted room but once i explained i had a dust allergy, we were immediately moved to a room with floorboards and given a plate of cookies as compensation for the 'unpleasantness' we had endured. amenities were great with two rooftop pools and free wifi in the rooms. the bathrooms could do with an update and our room had a lingering damp smell but, overall, i would say the old world charm of the hotel outweighed these imperfections.

nicola B.
Australia
November 15, 2011
great position and history
Rooftop Bar, Pools, Gym
We had a wonderful stay at the Rex Hotel. Position is very central to walk to all sites in District 1 and out the side door you can catch a number 1 Bus to China Town. Breakfasts are beautifully presented with good service.

Kok S.
Singapore
November 15, 2011
Nice hotel at good location
Room well equipped, room interior is new, warm hospitality
i picked the hotel from agoda, hoping that the reviews would prove accurate, and i was not disappointed. it is a lovely hotel, in a wonderful central location and the service is definately 5 star. the location of the hotel is convenient and it is great value for money. the staff are also friendly and helpful and conversant in speaking english. in addition, the room is clean and new. it is also suitably located and great for business travelers.

Robson S.
United States
November 14, 2011
Great View from the Roof Top
Pools and Gym
I stayed in the old part of the hotel. My room could be updated. The rest of the hotel was just like any other 5 star hotel. My over all stay was good. Getting around it was confusing at first. The first night my firneds and I went to the roof top bar. We took another elevator then our orignal one and instead of going to the floor we thought our room was on we ended up going to the casino. We had to go back to the lobby and find the elevators that went to our room.

heather F.
United Kingdom
November 14, 2011
Kept expecting The Shining twins to appear
Erm, I liked the original patterned tiles on the abandoned stairwell
ok, so the rex is a landmark, an historical institution, hence our choice to stay for the 1 night we had in saigon. what a totally bizarre experience. the main lobby is impressive, with wonderful staff and lux brands like marc jacobs and burberry posting outlets off the main entrance. we were shown to our room by a lovely assistant who had continually apologised that our room wasn't ready as they were preparing a 'honeymoon surprise'. once we were shown to our room, the full experience began. outside the main lobby, you realise the hotel is vast. like a small abandoned country vast. i seriously started memorising how to get back to the lifts - ok - past the abandoned marble bar and cloakroom, left past the air con units, right at the unused lifts, go round the abandoned stairwell (stop at the antique bamboo sitting area if you're tired - you'll be the first bum those seats have seen in decades) then finally you make it to your 'junior suite', which is kind of like an emerald carpeted vision of stakis hotel perfection circa 1985, with a suitably dank accompanying smell. bed, furnishings etc all a bit tired. on the other hand, if you like light switches, you're in luck. i counted 14 in our room alone. ok, so the hotel has been renovated in one wing, so if you've booked that, please ignore all this, but otherwise this is about the size of it. having come from la residence in hue, which for a similar price, was a slice of deco perfection, this was a disapointment and the lowlight of trip in vietnam, cambodia and thailand.

David H.
Australia
November 14, 2011
Amazing Hotel with alot of class
high-end designer brands at your doorstep! literally
there are 2 sides when you go into the rex, new and old. unfortunately we got the old!... but! in saying that it was awesome... 5 minutes from ben thanh markets and same for vincom centre... will definately stay there again, but will go new section...

Anthony R.
New Zealand
November 14, 2011
classic
location
sometimes no review is better because when staying 5 star we have expectations and therefore it is only if expectations are not meet. lovely classic hotel. as we experineced withthe rest of our stay english interpretation sometimes frustrating but always helpful

nicola H.
Singapore
November 14, 2011
excellent location, great bedrooms and bathrooms
Position
hotel reception staff a bit grumpy, excellent breakfast, concierge helpful but not that efficient. spa looked a bit unloved. roof terrace enjoyable

Lim R.
Singapore
November 14, 2011
great location & comfortable room
the friendly service & location
the service and comfort is great but room 453 a little noisy as there were banging sound from the above floor during the day till evening. but overall my stay was good.