arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.5
Based on 570 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 570 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Staff Performance 8.7
  • Value for Money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.9

8.7 Trinh P.
Canada
March 23, 2013
Friendly staff would stay again
Location, friendly staff,breakfast
Hotel was great for the value. The breakfast in the morning was a buffet style but always fresh and plentiful. Staff are very friendly, they even learn your name to greet you during the duration of your stay and are not pushy about going to the tailor with the same name. The room was nice with a decent sized washroom and balcony, even had a table top computer to use which was great with fast Internet and wifi.

7 Priya D.
United Kingdom
March 22, 2013
Attitude of the staff is 4 star!
Staff, well equipped rooms, cleanliness
This is really a great little hotel. Yes the rooms are a little tired but they are spotless and have everything you need, including a computer and a dvd player.The staff are fantastic and do everything to help you. They create a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. And yes, they do all learn your names, eventually! If as another person has commented, it's to get you to book tours, you do have the option to book with someone else. Nobody is forcing you to use them. It's location is less than 10 minute walk to the centre. Think the breakfast selection could be better for Westerners but that would be the only grumble. 2 star hotel with 4 star attitude from the staff

8.3 Mattea L.
United Kingdom
March 21, 2013
Staff were fabulous, so friendly and helpful
The staff, the computer in the room and best breakfast in Vietnam
Lovely stay, arrived from the overnight bus at 7am and staff very helpful and checked us in to a bigger rooom that was available at that time as we were knackered without charging extra for this or making us change.

8.3 Eric M.
Australia
March 20, 2013
Very friendly & attentive staff.
Friendliness, cleanliness, good breakfast
We really enjoyed our stay & will definitely recommend it to family & friends.

5 Mark K.
Australia
March 17, 2013
Fair enough hotel
Cost and staff
After three weeks in Vietnam, this was to be our last hotel before flying out. It was an ok hotel for the price and is easy waling distance into Hoi An, the staff were attentive and easy going (and very cheeky ! hahaha) Quickly organised new motorbikes for us to hire, little restuarant out the front was ok.Room was old but huge, two double beds pushed together to make ummm, a super quad king size !? They assumed that my travelling buddyand I were married even though we booked seperate rooms ! hahaha, made for some funny times at check in. We ended up moving to another hotel after two days just for a change before flying home but for the budget traveller this one ticks the boxes.

8.7 Thomas C.
United Kingdom
March 02, 2013
Great location, friendly staff.
Big rooms, great location, friendly staff.
Good first impressions when we arrived, staff made us feel very welcome. Our room was on the ground floor, it was a very good size with a huge double bed, nice and clean, bathroom had a slight smell to it sometimes but nothing major. Room included fridge with small minibar, free wifi, water every day and tea/coffee, had complimentary plate of fruit on arrival too. Room was cleaned every day. A great buffet breakfast was included in our room rate. Staff are very helpful, you can rent bicycles and motorbikes from them. Bus and train tickets seemed a little expensive so maybe try and shop around. The location is perfect, only a 5/10 min walk to the beautiful riverfront. Another bonus is, it ha got a (small) swimming pool which was very tempting after a hot, busy day. The only thing was, we extended our stay for 1 extra night, then the day before were told that the hotel was full and we couldn't stay, this put a spanner in the works with the next stage of our travels but it was an honest mistake and they apologised. Overall we did have a great stay in Hoi An.

9.3 Marie R.
New Zealand
February 27, 2013
Very friendly
Helpful reception, nice breakfast
Very happy with our stay at Hai Au hotel. The staff are obviously proud of their high ratings and make a strong effort to greet you with your name whenever you arrive or leave. Location is excellent, just on the edge of the old quarter. Would stay again.

9.7 karen R.
United Kingdom
February 22, 2013
Lovely hotel
Good location
Only 10/15 mins walk to the old town. About 25/30 mins to the beach Lovely staff, very helpful,can hire bikes for 1usd a day Can't fault the room, aircon, tv

6.3 lee C.
Malaysia
February 21, 2013
Average
Average
we booked this hotel as we saw many reviews that many people were very happy with their services, nice decoration in the room with welcome fruit when you arrived, but this may be half true. the staff will be more friendly to western travellers compared to asian travellers. on the last day, we told the staff to help us for a taxi to send us to bus station, however they kept telling us all the taxi were busy. eventually we had to hire their motorbike taxi, and they charged us more than double the price of a regular taxi given the reason that we were three people, and their staff had to run three times, but we were very clear that the petrol used by a motorbike to run three times shouldn't have costed them more then double compared to the petrol used by a car to run only a time. you can get a better hotel along the street with lower price.

9.7 Molly L.
United States
February 19, 2013
Excellent on all Levels!
Amazing staff, comfortable rooms, great breakfast and close to many spas
This was the best hotel of six in a two week vacation. The staff makes a point of memorizing your names and bends over backwards to help with anything that they can. They are always smiling and pleasant. Rooms are adorned with heart shaped towels and flower on the first night, along with a fruit tray. It is always nice to have a snack plate upon arrival. The hotel rents bikes, scooters and will take care of laundry and car transport. The buffet breakfast is quite nice and I didn't get sick of it after four days. The Old Quarter is a bike ride away and there are several spas very close to the hotel. There is a pool but it doesn't seem to get much sunlight and it is small but hey, if you want to take a dip you can. The wifi is good and there are computers in the lobby. Overall, I had a great stay and would return.