My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Astor House Hotel

15 Huangpu Road, The Bund & North Bund, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Penthouse Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Living Area Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom
Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior
Area: The Bund & North Bund Number of Rooms: 134

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
554 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (554)
Sort by:
Simon L. Groups Australia, June 19, 2014
Great historic hotel kept in good condition.

Location value history
9.7
Very good, relaxed, comfort, historic, ...............
Chng K. Business travelers Malaysia, June 6, 2014
Historical Hotel

Good Manner, Security, Easy Access Sight seing
8.7
Strongly suggest to stay.
James W. Groups United Kingdom, June 2, 2014
Hotel with great character, Einstein stayed here!

Old style decor, tired around the edges in a good way, colonial
6
Good hotel if u like character, bad if u like designer shampoo and toiletries
John M. Couples Australia, May 29, 2014
Historic hotel with real character

History, location, value
8.7
I have stayed at Astor House before and would stay there again. With everything new in Shanghai it is nice to be in something genuinely old. Since I was there last the hotel staff's English and helpfulness has improved greatly. The old ballroom, now breakfast room, has been beautifully renovated - better I think than the breakfast room in the Peace Hotel. The location is just off the Bund - a quick and pleasant walk across the Garden Bridge and you are on the Bund. Non-smoking rooms are really non-smoking.
Amanda F. Groups Australia, May 24, 2014
Very interesting hotel with history.

History Location Room with a view
8
Enjoyed our stay at Astor House. It was a quirky hotel with character. Would recommend staying there. Great sized room with amazing views
Chingyun H. Couples Taiwan, May 20, 2014
high recommend

Close to major attractions Friendly staff Good quality restaurants
7.3
Keehwee L. Couples Malaysia, May 19, 2014
A great one!

hotel interior design, location, staff
9.3
When i checked in, my room was upgraded automatically. the room i had was nice and comfortable. the staff are friendly and they do things fast. the only minor drawback is wifi is only available for one device at a time (per room). i had real fun visiting the hotel and took lots of photos. i couldnt visit the famous ppl room due to the room was occupied at that time.
Chi H. Groups Hong Kong, May 16, 2014
An hotel with lots of history; good value for such

The history The location The ballroom
8
It was good but the insulation is not good as you can hear the traffic. It was probably the manner of road users fault rather than the hotel.
Lindsay A. Couples Australia, May 14, 2014
not happy

position position position
6
we booked the penthouse there is no penthouse.gave us their twin delux after refusing double room with view of a concrete wall. re bookeb for another night to stay with friends said that we would have same twin room but got there late and tried to give us room out back with no view again water that only had more than a drip complained and after lengthy discussion recieved twin deluxe again.something you dont need after a hard day.
Jinanne K. Solo travelers United Kingdom, May 14, 2014
Fantastic location

location, spacious room, history of the hotel
8
This hotel seems huge at first, I went along long winding corridors and stately staircases to get to my room on the 3rd floor. It sells itself as being an historic building, and the corridor walls are populated with interesting plaques, showing famous faces who have stayed there, facts about the hotel, and black and white pictures of Shanghai over the last hundred years. The outstanding best thing about the hotel was the location - step outside onto the street and pretty much immediately you've got an amazing view of the Bund, with all of Shanghai's breathtaking skyscrapers, Oriental Pearl tower, the whole vista. It was about a 20 minute walk to the ferry port, or a 10 minute walk to the Bund Sightseeing Tunnel. I went in May and spent loads of time just walking up and down near the hotel, next to the river - the view really is incredible, and there's a wide pavement with no cars, so kids can run about and you can stop and take photos of the buildings. The shower in the hotel was always hot, and basic toiletries were provided (shampoo and shower gel). My room was very big and had a working TV, table and chairs, and a reasonably-priced mini bar with soft drinks and snacks as well as wine and spirits. The windows were a bit tricky to open and there wasn't much of a view, but that's my only complaint about the room. When I checked in, the staff seemed a little rushed and not very customer-focussed, just taking my credit card and talking amongst themselves. But when I checked-out they were much more attentive, so maybe they were just having a bad day when I checked in. Overall I'd definitely recommend the Astor for its great location, and big, comfortable rooms. But if you're not interested in history or don't want to walk along long corridors to reach your room, it's probably not for you.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Astor House Hotel ShanghaiAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Penthouse RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Living AreaAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - LobbyAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Astor House Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3C02