or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Astor House Hotel

15 Huangpu Road, The Bund & North Bund, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Penthouse Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Living Area Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom
Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior
Area: The Bund & North Bund Number of Rooms: 134
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
159 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
6.9
Solo travelers (159)
Sort by:
Went H. Solo travelers Macau, December 4, 2014
nice location

is Very comfortable
7.7
Kok M. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 28, 2014
Cozy and Nice

Spacious room, good location in the city centre and worth the money
8
Michael H. Solo travelers Canada, November 19, 2014
Excellent location and comfortable rooms

Large rooms, great location, friendly staff
9.3
Nygllhuw M. Solo travelers New Zealand, October 22, 2014
Worst Hotel Stay EVER!!!
3
I would score this hotel zero if it was possible. The room was on the third floor of an old part of the hotel with no lift. It was next to a staff door and there was a great deal of noise from people coming and going. The room was old and run down and the only window opened over the kitchens and faced a large vent that removed cooking smells from the ovens. The air conditioning unit was also by this vent. This meant every time you opened a window or had the air conditioning on (necessary in hot weather) the room filled with the smell of cooking meat. I am a strict Buddhist so as a vegetarian I felt ill thinking I was breathing in meat odours. To get to the room you had to walk past bars and a massage parlour. Each time girls said come in for a good time while bar patrons assumed you were going or coming from the parlour and some made suggestive remarks or joked with friends. Raising these issues with the front desk got absolutely no sympathy at all and they also refused to allow a cancellation or a refund. In the end I actually spent my next night at another hotel and then collected my bags the following morning. I have rooms booked here for future trips for me and my family that I am now looking at cancelling in case service is so bad again. I also use this hotel for company accommodation and will look to review whether this hotel remains on our list of approved hotels in Shanghai.
David C. Solo travelers Canada, September 25, 2014
Beware the fine print

Character, history, location
6.3
I booked a "city view" room, as recommended by "Rough Guides". My room had a view of the brickwork of the Broadway Mansions across the street. It took quite a debate on my subsequent visit to the front desk to get a partial view on night one of two and a switch to a proper "city view" room (hassle..) for night two. If I'd had the second room from the start, as I still believe I booked and definitely paid for, my stay would have been so much better..
Christine L. Solo travelers Singapore, September 7, 2014
Unbelievably bad service

Spacious room
6
This was my worst hotel stay in my history of traveling, all due to ill mannered staff who have the audacity to retort, show you their displeasure and to chase you away from the front desk even! Calling in the duty manager to intervene was of no use too, as all he wanted to do was to see us retreat back to our room as well. Poor service would be a gross understatement. The room was huge and fairly comfortable but it was quite a walk to the nearest metro station, made worse by the throngs of people visiting the bund on the weekend. I will not be recommending this hotel anytime soon.
Yuehlin C. Solo travelers Taiwan, August 24, 2014
Historical Hotel with Good Location

Good location which near the main attraction of Shanghai (the Bund); the building and room full of historical atmosphere; room is clean and staff is nice
8
The overall stay in this hotel is pleasant. The hotel building and rooms are full of historical atmosphere. The Location of the hotel is good, near the main attractions of Shanghai: the Garden Bridge and the Bund. It takes around 10 mins to walk to the East Nanjing Road Metro Station from the hotel. The hotel staffs are nice and speak English well.
Tanya G. Solo travelers Australia, July 12, 2014
Grand hotel with a lot of history

Big room Comfortable bed Building full of history
8
Astor house is a remarkable hotel with so much history. It is very grand and centrally located
Susan S. Solo travelers New Zealand, June 22, 2014
Obliging staff

Location, consideration of staff to my request, view from my bedroom window, comfort
8.7
My son was already on the 6th floor so when I checked in I also asked to be on the same floor and I was given a beautiful room with a great view over the Bund. At the desk, the young girl was struggling with English but others were on hand to cope. Would definitely use again.
Simon L. Solo travelers Australia, June 19, 2014
Great historic hotel kept in good condition.

Location value history
9.7
Very good, relaxed, comfort, historic, ...............

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Astor House Hotel ShanghaiAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Penthouse RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Living AreaAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - LobbyAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Astor House Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3C03