or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Astor House Hotel

15 Huangpu Road, The Bund & North Bund, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Penthouse Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Living Area Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom
Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior
Area: The Bund & North Bund Number of Rooms: 134
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
149 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.0
Solo travelers (149)
Sort by:
David C. Solo travelers Canada, September 25, 2014
Beware the fine print

Character, history, location
6.3
I booked a "city view" room, as recommended by "Rough Guides". My room had a view of the brickwork of the Broadway Mansions across the street. It took quite a debate on my subsequent visit to the front desk to get a partial view on night one of two and a switch to a proper "city view" room (hassle..) for night two. If I'd had the second room from the start, as I still believe I booked and definitely paid for, my stay would have been so much better..
Christine L. Solo travelers Singapore, September 7, 2014
Unbelievably bad service

Spacious room
6
This was my worst hotel stay in my history of traveling, all due to ill mannered staff who have the audacity to retort, show you their displeasure and to chase you away from the front desk even! Calling in the duty manager to intervene was of no use too, as all he wanted to do was to see us retreat back to our room as well. Poor service would be a gross understatement. The room was huge and fairly comfortable but it was quite a walk to the nearest metro station, made worse by the throngs of people visiting the bund on the weekend. I will not be recommending this hotel anytime soon.
Yuehlin C. Solo travelers Taiwan, August 24, 2014
Historical Hotel with Good Location

Good location which near the main attraction of Shanghai (the Bund); the building and room full of historical atmosphere; room is clean and staff is nice
8
The overall stay in this hotel is pleasant. The hotel building and rooms are full of historical atmosphere. The Location of the hotel is good, near the main attractions of Shanghai: the Garden Bridge and the Bund. It takes around 10 mins to walk to the East Nanjing Road Metro Station from the hotel. The hotel staffs are nice and speak English well.
Tanya G. Solo travelers Australia, July 12, 2014
Grand hotel with a lot of history

Big room Comfortable bed Building full of history
8
Astor house is a remarkable hotel with so much history. It is very grand and centrally located
Susan S. Solo travelers New Zealand, June 22, 2014
Obliging staff

Location, consideration of staff to my request, view from my bedroom window, comfort
8.7
My son was already on the 6th floor so when I checked in I also asked to be on the same floor and I was given a beautiful room with a great view over the Bund. At the desk, the young girl was struggling with English but others were on hand to cope. Would definitely use again.
Simon L. Solo travelers Australia, June 19, 2014
Great historic hotel kept in good condition.

Location value history
9.7
Very good, relaxed, comfort, historic, ...............
James W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, June 2, 2014
Hotel with great character, Einstein stayed here!

Old style decor, tired around the edges in a good way, colonial
6
Good hotel if u like character, bad if u like designer shampoo and toiletries
Jinanne K. Solo travelers United Kingdom, May 14, 2014
Fantastic location

location, spacious room, history of the hotel
8
This hotel seems huge at first, I went along long winding corridors and stately staircases to get to my room on the 3rd floor. It sells itself as being an historic building, and the corridor walls are populated with interesting plaques, showing famous faces who have stayed there, facts about the hotel, and black and white pictures of Shanghai over the last hundred years. The outstanding best thing about the hotel was the location - step outside onto the street and pretty much immediately you've got an amazing view of the Bund, with all of Shanghai's breathtaking skyscrapers, Oriental Pearl tower, the whole vista. It was about a 20 minute walk to the ferry port, or a 10 minute walk to the Bund Sightseeing Tunnel. I went in May and spent loads of time just walking up and down near the hotel, next to the river - the view really is incredible, and there's a wide pavement with no cars, so kids can run about and you can stop and take photos of the buildings. The shower in the hotel was always hot, and basic toiletries were provided (shampoo and shower gel). My room was very big and had a working TV, table and chairs, and a reasonably-priced mini bar with soft drinks and snacks as well as wine and spirits. The windows were a bit tricky to open and there wasn't much of a view, but that's my only complaint about the room. When I checked in, the staff seemed a little rushed and not very customer-focussed, just taking my credit card and talking amongst themselves. But when I checked-out they were much more attentive, so maybe they were just having a bad day when I checked in. Overall I'd definitely recommend the Astor for its great location, and big, comfortable rooms. But if you're not interested in history or don't want to walk along long corridors to reach your room, it's probably not for you.
Rafael R. Solo travelers Germany, April 20, 2014
Great Historical Hotel

Unique, Clean, Location
7
Amir Z. Solo travelers Israel, April 17, 2014
Exellent

Quiet place. Beautiful. Service.
9.7
Its a very unique, arts, very neet. Quiet and not to far from everything. Its a lovely hotel very beautiful and wellcoming. Very much recomended.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Astor House Hotel ShanghaiAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Penthouse RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Living AreaAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - LobbyAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Astor House Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3C05