or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Astor House Hotel

15 Huangpu Road, The Bund & North Bund, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Penthouse Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Living Area Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom
Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior
Area: The Bund & North Bund Number of Rooms: 134
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
142 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
6.9
Solo travelers (142)
Sort by:
Susan S. Solo travelers New Zealand, June 22, 2014
Obliging staff

Location, consideration of staff to my request, view from my bedroom window, comfort
8.7
My son was already on the 6th floor so when I checked in I also asked to be on the same floor and I was given a beautiful room with a great view over the Bund. At the desk, the young girl was struggling with English but others were on hand to cope. Would definitely use again.
Jinanne K. Solo travelers United Kingdom, May 14, 2014
Fantastic location

location, spacious room, history of the hotel
8
This hotel seems huge at first, I went along long winding corridors and stately staircases to get to my room on the 3rd floor. It sells itself as being an historic building, and the corridor walls are populated with interesting plaques, showing famous faces who have stayed there, facts about the hotel, and black and white pictures of Shanghai over the last hundred years. The outstanding best thing about the hotel was the location - step outside onto the street and pretty much immediately you've got an amazing view of the Bund, with all of Shanghai's breathtaking skyscrapers, Oriental Pearl tower, the whole vista. It was about a 20 minute walk to the ferry port, or a 10 minute walk to the Bund Sightseeing Tunnel. I went in May and spent loads of time just walking up and down near the hotel, next to the river - the view really is incredible, and there's a wide pavement with no cars, so kids can run about and you can stop and take photos of the buildings. The shower in the hotel was always hot, and basic toiletries were provided (shampoo and shower gel). My room was very big and had a working TV, table and chairs, and a reasonably-priced mini bar with soft drinks and snacks as well as wine and spirits. The windows were a bit tricky to open and there wasn't much of a view, but that's my only complaint about the room. When I checked in, the staff seemed a little rushed and not very customer-focussed, just taking my credit card and talking amongst themselves. But when I checked-out they were much more attentive, so maybe they were just having a bad day when I checked in. Overall I'd definitely recommend the Astor for its great location, and big, comfortable rooms. But if you're not interested in history or don't want to walk along long corridors to reach your room, it's probably not for you.
Rafael R. Solo travelers Germany, April 20, 2014
Great Historical Hotel

Unique, Clean, Location
7
Amir Z. Solo travelers Israel, April 17, 2014
Exellent

Quiet place. Beautiful. Service.
9.7
Its a very unique, arts, very neet. Quiet and not to far from everything. Its a lovely hotel very beautiful and wellcoming. Very much recomended.
Greg D. Solo travelers United States of America, April 11, 2014
Great location, not so great hotel

location, friendly staff, large rooms
5.7
Forgettable. The location is fantastic on a quiet street at the north end of the Bund, and the rooms are large, but the bed was rock hard, the room had absolutely no soundproofing - all conversations of people walking down the hall were like they were in the room with you, the hotel is old and falling apart and needs serious refurbishment, the hardwood floors in room were warped and splintered bare wood, the ceiling and mouldings were cracked, it looks like there are dozens of layers of paint on all woodwork, breakfast was pretty awful and very expensive - what they called "bacon" and "sausage" looked suspiciously like cold cuts that had spent a few seconds in the skillet . If you are really trying to save money and stay on the Bund, this might be a good place for you, but it is not a very comfortable hotel. I would rather spend a little extra and get a comfortable place to stay with a decent breakfast. Won't stay here again.
Hui Q. Solo travelers Singapore, March 25, 2014
average but meaningful

staff that speak good english, clean and huge room, friendly staffs
6.7
The hotel will be a good one for people that love historical architecture. But due tto the age of the hotel, there was sound and vibrations when you are walking around.kind of scary at times.Another issue was the centralised air conditioning system, making the room quite warm when the heater is warm.other than that, the hotel stay was quite an experience.
Cristina R. Solo travelers Australia, March 21, 2014
good

location, acceptable prize, on the river
7.3
Good, I loved the location and didn't eat there. One thing that I didn't like was the toiled didn't get used paper. I founded a little unshafe but I found out that shanghai is pretty safe.
John M. Solo travelers Australia, March 17, 2014
A delight and is a visitor must

History, Style History
7.7
The hotel is very pleasant, My room was enormous as they were when this hotel was built (1846). Apart from me there have been many famous people stay at The Astor; Einstein, Bert Russell, Marconi and several more. Put it on your list of places to visit if not stay.
Christiane B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 12, 2014
Pleasant and comfortable, historical building

Historical building/rooms so they had character, close to the Bund, comfortable bed and pillow
8
I appreciated the size of the room and the comfort of the bed and pillow. I wish I could've stayed longer. I didn't however appreciate the reception staff, I felt I was bothering them a little. The concierge guy was great at getting me a taxi but left me to struggle with my suitcase. The bar staff were attentive but not in your face. The building was historical and this was the best part of the hotel so nothing else mattered as much!
John P. Solo travelers United States of America, March 4, 2014
Great rooms, convenient locations

comfortable rooms, location, skilled staff
9.3
Several years ago when living in China, we stayed at the Astor. This time, on vacation, we found it still charming. Close to downtown and close to the subway. Also close to the Bund.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Astor House Hotel ShanghaiAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Penthouse RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Living AreaAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - LobbyAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Astor House Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3A07