Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Astor House Hotel

15 Huangpu Road, The Bund and North Bund, Shanghai, China

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.9

based on 56 reviews

404 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.2
Groups (56)
Sort by:
Aldys T. Groups Indonesia, April 28, 2016
Beautiful building and interior
6
Love everything abt this hotel, if you're a vintage enthusiast, very recommended.
Report this review
Chi H. Groups Hong Kong, May 16, 2014
An hotel with lots of history; good value for such

The history The location The ballroom
8
It was good but the insulation is not good as you can hear the traffic. It was probably the manner of road users fault rather than the hotel.
Report this review
Alvin F. Groups Singapore, October 14, 2013
Lovely Historic history

Large room
9
Overall not bad, room is clean and large. However is far from the train station.
Report this review
Helen T. Groups Australia, March 2, 2013
Great historic hotel in fantastic location

Location Large rooms friendly staff
9
Wonderful stay in a very safe area within walking distance to Bund, Nanjing Road, ferries, a most sights. For further distances an easy to navigate & cheap metro nearby. An 8Yuan return trip to Qibao water-town well worth the effort.
Report this review
June K. Groups United States of America, August 18, 2012
Charming!

Huge comfortable room.
8
Excellent service; enjoyed historical photos displayed on hall walls-
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Very interesting street food section near hotel; very lively at night.
Report this review
Clare L. Groups United Kingdom, July 29, 2012
Perfect location, oozing charm

Location location location!
7.7
We loved this hotel, it could not have been in a more perfect spot. Every time we left the hotel and crossed the bridge to get to the main area of the Bund we had fabulous views across the river of the Pearl Tower. The hotel is a little tired but filled with Victorian charm. The bathrooms were recently refurbished, very clean and modern. The staff was polite/efficient and although not overly helpful we were satisfied.
Report this review
Denva S. Groups New Zealand, May 19, 2012
This was a really beautiful hotel.

location, history, rooms, breakfast
2.3
We just loved this hotel. It is full of history and thank goodness they have maintained this and not been seduced into changing it to a modern hotel. It has all the mod cons (air conditioning a little suspect) but it still managed to retain its historic ambience. The service was really good but it was rather hard to get someone to understand us sometimes but I suppose that is to be expected. The location is fantastic and it is just a walk across to the bund where all the morning activity happens. A beautiful walk along the river and I totally recommend this. Start your day off with some Tai Chi or just watch the action. The beds and the silk covers were heavenly.
Restaurant Tip: The Japanese restaurant on the corner from the hotel is a nice change from chinese food.
Report this review
Simon H. Groups Australia, February 27, 2012
amazing old place, full of history

enormous rooms, exceptional location on the Bund, takes you back in time,
9
I would never stay anywhere else in shanghai. The hotel was the first western hotel to open in China and is now a bit run down, but who cares. It has great charm and a great sense of history. The domed breakfast room is magnificent. The rooms have excellent period furniture. The services is very good. The lobby cafe/bar is straight out a movie, as is the cosy little bar near teh massage rooms. We loved it all.
Nightlife Tip: have a drink at the glamour bar at m on the bund take a day trip to suzhou and see the water village on route
Report this review
Kingsley N. Groups Australia, February 27, 2012
Beautiful old Hotel with huge rooms

Polished floorboards, large rooms
9
this hotel was a real treasure, you can smell the history in the place (or is that just the floorboard polish?). there is free wifi in richards old bar on level 1, but not throughout the hotel. helpful and friendly staff although a bit pushy with getting a tip, must be the long term american influence in shanghai.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Take a walk across the bridge and down The Bund at night to see the lights on the Financial District Buildings.
Report this review
To T. Groups Hong Kong, December 27, 2011
a classic hotel

rooms are really big
7.3
it's winter when i stayed in the astor house hotel and i was freezing in the room and heat water supply was not very stable in the bathroom. despite the coldness, the decor of the hotel was classic and pleasant. i would recommend it when the weather is warmer. location was ok, 5-min walking distance to bund.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 735 reviews Next page
Astor House Hotel ShanghaiAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Pub/LoungeAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B08