or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Astor House Hotel

15 Huangpu Road, The Bund & North Bund, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Penthouse Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Living Area Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom
Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior
Area: The Bund & North Bund Number of Rooms: 134
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
49 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.1
Groups (49)
Sort by:
Chi H. Groups Hong Kong, May 16, 2014
An hotel with lots of history; good value for such

The history The location The ballroom
8
It was good but the insulation is not good as you can hear the traffic. It was probably the manner of road users fault rather than the hotel.
Alvin F. Groups Singapore, October 14, 2013
Lovely Historic history

Large room
9
Overall not bad, room is clean and large. However is far from the train station.
Helen T. Groups Australia, March 2, 2013
Great historic hotel in fantastic location

Location Large rooms friendly staff
9
Wonderful stay in a very safe area within walking distance to Bund, Nanjing Road, ferries, a most sights. For further distances an easy to navigate & cheap metro nearby. An 8Yuan return trip to Qibao water-town well worth the effort.
June K. Groups United States of America, August 18, 2012
Charming!

Huge comfortable room.
8
Excellent service; enjoyed historical photos displayed on hall walls-
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Very interesting street food section near hotel; very lively at night.
Clare L. Groups United Kingdom, July 29, 2012
Perfect location, oozing charm

Location location location!
7.7
We loved this hotel, it could not have been in a more perfect spot. Every time we left the hotel and crossed the bridge to get to the main area of the Bund we had fabulous views across the river of the Pearl Tower. The hotel is a little tired but filled with Victorian charm. The bathrooms were recently refurbished, very clean and modern. The staff was polite/efficient and although not overly helpful we were satisfied.
Denva S. Groups New Zealand, May 19, 2012
This was a really beautiful hotel.

location, history, rooms, breakfast
2.3
We just loved this hotel. It is full of history and thank goodness they have maintained this and not been seduced into changing it to a modern hotel. It has all the mod cons (air conditioning a little suspect) but it still managed to retain its historic ambience. The service was really good but it was rather hard to get someone to understand us sometimes but I suppose that is to be expected. The location is fantastic and it is just a walk across to the bund where all the morning activity happens. A beautiful walk along the river and I totally recommend this. Start your day off with some Tai Chi or just watch the action. The beds and the silk covers were heavenly.
Restaurant Tip: The Japanese restaurant on the corner from the hotel is a nice change from chinese food.
Simon H. Groups Australia, February 27, 2012
amazing old place, full of history

enormous rooms, exceptional location on the Bund, takes you back in time,
9
I would never stay anywhere else in shanghai. The hotel was the first western hotel to open in China and is now a bit run down, but who cares. It has great charm and a great sense of history. The domed breakfast room is magnificent. The rooms have excellent period furniture. The services is very good. The lobby cafe/bar is straight out a movie, as is the cosy little bar near teh massage rooms. We loved it all.
Nightlife Tip: have a drink at the glamour bar at m on the bund take a day trip to suzhou and see the water village on route
Kingsley N. Groups Australia, February 27, 2012
Beautiful old Hotel with huge rooms

Polished floorboards, large rooms
9
this hotel was a real treasure, you can smell the history in the place (or is that just the floorboard polish?). there is free wifi in richards old bar on level 1, but not throughout the hotel. helpful and friendly staff although a bit pushy with getting a tip, must be the long term american influence in shanghai.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Take a walk across the bridge and down The Bund at night to see the lights on the Financial District Buildings.
To T. Groups Hong Kong, December 27, 2011
a classic hotel

rooms are really big
7.3
it's winter when i stayed in the astor house hotel and i was freezing in the room and heat water supply was not very stable in the bathroom. despite the coldness, the decor of the hotel was classic and pleasant. i would recommend it when the weather is warmer. location was ok, 5-min walking distance to bund.
Yong H. Groups Singapore, December 12, 2011
Cosy hotel with friendly and helpful staff

Clean room with a nostalgic feel
9.7
We fell in love with this hotel at the first sight and will return to stay here. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room is clean and well maintained. It is near the Bund and easy to move around . We will definitely recommend this hotel ! We hope they provide free wifi in room.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Astor House Hotel ShanghaiAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Penthouse RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Living AreaAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - LobbyAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Astor House Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3C08