or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Astor House Hotel

15 Huangpu Road, The Bund & North Bund, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Penthouse Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Living Area Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom
Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior
Area: The Bund & North Bund Number of Rooms: 134
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Acceptable

0.0

based on
614 reviews

Value for Money
0.0
Location
0.0
Staff Performance
0.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
0.0
Room Comfort/Standard
0.0
Food/Dining
0.0
All reviews (614)
Sort by:
Went H. Solo travelers Macau, December 4, 2014
nice location

is Very comfortable
7.7
Kok M. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 28, 2014
Cozy and Nice

Spacious room, good location in the city centre and worth the money
8
Kimberley L. Couples Australia, November 20, 2014
Historical hotel

History, location, abundance of taxis
6
The hotel boasts a unique history being one of Shanghai's oldest establishments. However upkeep of the lobby and rooms were not the best and gave it more a tired feel than old-school glamour. staff were not very helpful upon checkin and generally seemed uninterested to help apart from persisting in helping us hire a driver for the day for a day-tour. (We acruelly got rang up in our room early morning the next day to check if we still wanted the driver...we didnt!) We requested for a second key card at checkin only to be offered another piece of card for room electricity. (This was then taken away from our room on our third day!)
Michael H. Solo travelers Canada, November 19, 2014
Excellent location and comfortable rooms

Large rooms, great location, friendly staff
9.3
Nygllhuw M. Solo travelers New Zealand, October 22, 2014
Worst Hotel Stay EVER!!!
3
I would score this hotel zero if it was possible. The room was on the third floor of an old part of the hotel with no lift. It was next to a staff door and there was a great deal of noise from people coming and going. The room was old and run down and the only window opened over the kitchens and faced a large vent that removed cooking smells from the ovens. The air conditioning unit was also by this vent. This meant every time you opened a window or had the air conditioning on (necessary in hot weather) the room filled with the smell of cooking meat. I am a strict Buddhist so as a vegetarian I felt ill thinking I was breathing in meat odours. To get to the room you had to walk past bars and a massage parlour. Each time girls said come in for a good time while bar patrons assumed you were going or coming from the parlour and some made suggestive remarks or joked with friends. Raising these issues with the front desk got absolutely no sympathy at all and they also refused to allow a cancellation or a refund. In the end I actually spent my next night at another hotel and then collected my bags the following morning. I have rooms booked here for future trips for me and my family that I am now looking at cancelling in case service is so bad again. I also use this hotel for company accommodation and will look to review whether this hotel remains on our list of approved hotels in Shanghai.
William T. Couples Australia, October 20, 2014
Historic Elegance

Huge room
9
This is a lovely restoration of a historic hotel. Our room was huge, with timber floors, excellent beds and a great bathroom. (Note that they hide the bath towels under the sink - we had to call room service because we couldn't find them.) There was excellent, free wifi in the room. The staff spoke adequate English and were very obliging. The location is fine, although it is a kilometre from the nearest Metro station. There are taxis in the street and the hotel is just north of the Bund, across Suzhou Creek. There is at least one outstanding restaurant in the neighbourhood: Xindalu in the Hyatt. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, prefering to try the local noodle shops. We did have coffee once in the Hotel's café. Just like most luxury hotels, the coffee was not at all good.
Virginie E. Couples Belgium, October 18, 2014
Excellent location and beautiful building

Location was brilliant, room and building very beautiful, excellent service
8.7
Anne M. Couples United Kingdom, September 30, 2014
IDEALLY SITUATED

NEAR THE BUND / HISTORICAL SETTING / GOOD BREAKFAST
7.7
WE HAD A VERY NICE STAY AT THE ASTOR. ONLY FLAW THE ENTRANCE HALL NEEDS TO BE SMARTENED UP A BIT
David C. Solo travelers Canada, September 25, 2014
Beware the fine print

Character, history, location
6.3
I booked a "city view" room, as recommended by "Rough Guides". My room had a view of the brickwork of the Broadway Mansions across the street. It took quite a debate on my subsequent visit to the front desk to get a partial view on night one of two and a switch to a proper "city view" room (hassle..) for night two. If I'd had the second room from the start, as I still believe I booked and definitely paid for, my stay would have been so much better..
James A. Couples Australia, September 19, 2014
a great old hotel

historical significance, architecture, location
8.3
Overall we had a wonderful time at the Astor, breakfast in the Peacock room, wandering the corridors and exploring the rabbit warren. It is not without its small problems though - the front desk could not provide postage stamps or a mail service (go up to the "business centre" the find a postbox outside), there was no overseas friendly ATM, and the internet was appallingly difficult to access (down to the hotel's set up, not just the slow national system) The smaller cafe was good, with attentive staff; as were the Peacock Room breakfast staff, but the men in the foyer seemed to do very little but hang around. We spent some time thinking what could be done to improve the place - such as bringing back dancing in the Peacock Room - maybe Swing/Rock on a Friday night and Ballroom on a Saturday?? The young /hip and well heeled Shanghai people would flock in! Live bands of course... Would take it back to it's original purpose. Management take note!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Astor House Hotel ShanghaiAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Penthouse RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Living AreaAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - LobbyAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Astor House Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3B03