or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Astor House Hotel

15 Huangpu Road, The Bund & North Bund, Shanghai, China (Show on map)

Book now!

Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Penthouse Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Living Area Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Exterior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom
Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Ballroom Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Astor House Hotel Shanghai - Interior
Area: The Bund & North Bund Number of Rooms: 134
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
594 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (594)
Sort by:
Anne M. Couples United Kingdom, September 30, 2014
IDEALLY SITUATED

NEAR THE BUND / HISTORICAL SETTING / GOOD BREAKFAST
7.7
WE HAD A VERY NICE STAY AT THE ASTOR. ONLY FLAW THE ENTRANCE HALL NEEDS TO BE SMARTENED UP A BIT
David C. Solo travelers Canada, September 25, 2014
Beware the fine print

Character, history, location
6.3
I booked a "city view" room, as recommended by "Rough Guides". My room had a view of the brickwork of the Broadway Mansions across the street. It took quite a debate on my subsequent visit to the front desk to get a partial view on night one of two and a switch to a proper "city view" room (hassle..) for night two. If I'd had the second room from the start, as I still believe I booked and definitely paid for, my stay would have been so much better..
James A. Couples Australia, September 19, 2014
a great old hotel

historical significance, architecture, location
8.3
Overall we had a wonderful time at the Astor, breakfast in the Peacock room, wandering the corridors and exploring the rabbit warren. It is not without its small problems though - the front desk could not provide postage stamps or a mail service (go up to the "business centre" the find a postbox outside), there was no overseas friendly ATM, and the internet was appallingly difficult to access (down to the hotel's set up, not just the slow national system) The smaller cafe was good, with attentive staff; as were the Peacock Room breakfast staff, but the men in the foyer seemed to do very little but hang around. We spent some time thinking what could be done to improve the place - such as bringing back dancing in the Peacock Room - maybe Swing/Rock on a Friday night and Ballroom on a Saturday?? The young /hip and well heeled Shanghai people would flock in! Live bands of course... Would take it back to it's original purpose. Management take note!
Francoise B. Couples Australia, September 16, 2014
Wonderful hotel with charm and great location

history, comfort, location
9.7
We loved our stay at the Astor House, so convenient location, excellent room and bathroom with a very comfortable bed, helpful staff who went beyond their duties to assist us efficiently twice during our stay, excellent breakfast buffet. Dinner at the restaurant is to be avoided though (expensive, poor service and food) but so many other options available in the city that it is no problem. Would go again, best value for money
Louise P. Couples New Zealand, September 13, 2014
Excellant

Location, staff, room
9.3
Excellant.
Sian G. Couples United Kingdom, September 12, 2014
Loved this place

Amazing location, old fashioned charm, great price
8.3
Christine L. Solo travelers Singapore, September 7, 2014
Unbelievably bad service

Spacious room
6
This was my worst hotel stay in my history of traveling, all due to ill mannered staff who have the audacity to retort, show you their displeasure and to chase you away from the front desk even! Calling in the duty manager to intervene was of no use too, as all he wanted to do was to see us retreat back to our room as well. Poor service would be a gross understatement. The room was huge and fairly comfortable but it was quite a walk to the nearest metro station, made worse by the throngs of people visiting the bund on the weekend. I will not be recommending this hotel anytime soon.
Yuehlin C. Solo travelers Taiwan, August 24, 2014
Historical Hotel with Good Location

Good location which near the main attraction of Shanghai (the Bund); the building and room full of historical atmosphere; room is clean and staff is nice
8
The overall stay in this hotel is pleasant. The hotel building and rooms are full of historical atmosphere. The Location of the hotel is good, near the main attractions of Shanghai: the Garden Bridge and the Bund. It takes around 10 mins to walk to the East Nanjing Road Metro Station from the hotel. The hotel staffs are nice and speak English well.
Lorna D. Couples United Kingdom, August 11, 2014
Old, stylish hotel

Location, staff and the hotel itself
10
This is an old hotel that has retained the original fittings. It is really lovely and the bedrooms are large and comfortable. The staff are very helpful with directions to places and general help needed. The location for The Bund is ideal and within walking distance you are facing one of the iconic landscapes of the world. Taxis were ordered for you which can be unusual in China.
Poh L. Couples Malaysia, August 3, 2014
Rich historical hotel run by lousy chinese hotelie

Good location, Historical, big room
5.7
The stay is okay but the hotel would be better if run by reputable hoteliers. The concierge is not helpful and more interested in luring the guests to hire taxis to airport which I was told they will take part of the fare charge. Housekeeping is also very poor. What a waste. The hotel has very rich historical value but run by lousy hotelier.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Astor House Hotel ShanghaiAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Penthouse RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Living AreaAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - ExteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - LobbyAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BathroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - InteriorAstor House Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - BallroomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomAstor House Hotel Shanghai - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Astor House Hotel, Shanghai

AS-AGWEB-3C03