Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Astray Motel & Backpackers

1202 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua City Center, Rotorua, New Zealand (Show on map)

Book now!

Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Surroundings Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Balcony/Terrace Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Surroundings Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Reception Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Meeting Room Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Interior Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Bathroom Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Surroundings Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Exterior Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Exterior Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Exterior Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Exterior Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest Room Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest Room Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest Room Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest Room
Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest Room Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Interior Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Exterior Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest Room Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest Room Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest Room Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Bathroom Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest Room Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest Room Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Interior Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Interior Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest Room
Area: Rotorua City Center Number of Rooms: 23
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
67 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (67)
Sort by:
Michelle K. Solo travelers United States of America, July 26, 2014
Good enough.

Hosts were great, everything was clean, wasn't noisy.
8.7
Great! Paid for a small room, got a small room. Hosts were incredible.
Widya I. Groups Indonesia, May 29, 2014
Good value for money

Nice staff, near tourist center, good area
9
I didn't expect there would be 2 tvs, one in each room. The room was comfortable and warm despite cold weather outside. It's a well maintained backpacker hotel.
John J. Couples United Kingdom, March 24, 2014
Budget accommodation in centre of town

Location, value, convenience
7.3
We spent most of our time out and about in and around Rotorua, but the hostel was a decent enough place to lay our heads for two nights. We had a twin room which was actually two bunk beds in a very small room with a tiny window - so there was not much natural light. Bathrooms again were small but clean, and served their purpose (especially compared to other hostels we stayed in). All in all, a basic but comfortable stay; a bit cramped but no real complaints, given the value.
Ly L. Couples Australia, February 28, 2014
Great hospitality from the staff & great location

Location, Internet & Staff
9
We had a great stay at Astray backpackers as we utilised the kitchen & laundry services. Also there was free wifi which was very useful in researching places that we wanted to go to. The staff we very helpful & had great customer service!
May Y. Couples Malaysia, February 19, 2014
I had a bed bug bite here.....

cheap, easy access, friendly staff
6.3
I think I had a bed bug bite here. I was book a private room with my boyfriend. The room is small, but it's look tidy. But I was wake up with itch and numbers red spot.. but we left the room at early morning, so I had no time to tell the staff.. Just be careful if u want stay at this hotel.
Namrata D. Couples India, February 11, 2014
Great staff

clean rooms, friendly staff and good breakfast place next to it
8.7
Staff was great. She stayed back for us to check in as our bus got late and was still welcoming. The room could have had better ventilation. That was the only drawback.
Nina A. Couples Philippines, January 19, 2014
Good value for money for overnight stay in Rotorua

Comfortable bed, centrally located
8
We needed a place to stay for a short overnight stay as we went around the different sights in Rotorua. We just needed place to sleep and take a shower in. Astray was one of the most affordable places we found. The room was small, which is expected in a backpackers hostel, but the bed was very comfortable. The shower and bathroom facilities were good enough. We liked that they were located very near the rooms so there's no need to take a long walk out. There was off-street parking provided but there were too many cars parked already that we had to park on the street. Nonetheless street parking was free and Rotorua seemed very safe so we weren't worried. There's a common kitchen area for cooking, dining and storing food.
Shixin K. Solo travelers Singapore, December 23, 2013
Just ok.

Central location - within the shopping areas. The bus to Te Puia (Maori museum) stops just outside the hostel. Quick check-in and check-out service.
5.7
The hostel does not provide luggage storage for stayers who check out early. Nearest alternative is the tourism office (about two blocks away) which provides luggage storage for NZD5 per day. But do note the office's opening hours.
Kok K. Solo travelers Singapore, December 15, 2013
ok

centrally loctaed
8
generally ok, else nothing much to comment
Chan B. Groups Singapore, December 9, 2013
Small room size but otherwise comfortable stay

Central location, friendly staff, clean room
7.3
Counter staff was friendly. Location is central and one can easily walk to the main street with many restaurants. However, don't expect scenic views (the motel is between two taller buildings) and the room size is slightly too small for comfort.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Astray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - ExteriorAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - SurroundingsAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Balcony/TerraceAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - SurroundingsAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - ReceptionAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Meeting RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - InteriorAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - BathroomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - SurroundingsAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - ExteriorAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - ExteriorAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - ExteriorAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - ExteriorAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - InteriorAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - ExteriorAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - BathroomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - InteriorAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - InteriorAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - InteriorAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - ExteriorAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - InteriorAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest RoomAstray Motel & Backpackers Rotorua - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3B08