or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Auckland City Hotel

157 Hobson Street, Auckland City Center, Auckland, New Zealand (Show on map)

Book now!

Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Exterior Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Interior Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Lobby Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Lobby Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Interior Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Lobby Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Spa Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Studio Double Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Standard Room Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Standard Twin Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Studio Twin Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Studio Room Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Suite Room Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Suite Room Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Suite Room Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Suite Room
Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Bathroom Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Bathroom Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Bathroom Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Coffee Shop/Cafe Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Coffee Shop/Cafe Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Restaurant Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Pub/Lounge Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Entrance Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Surroundings Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Surroundings Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest Room Auckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest Room
Area: Auckland City Center Number of Rooms: 135
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
546 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (546)
Sort by:
Ivana B. Solo travelers Croatia, January 28, 2013
Good location and ok hotel

Short distance from waterfront
7.7
I stayed only 2 nights and it was ok. What seemed to be an room upgrade didn't really feel like it. Two rooms instead of one (I was ok with one) but very small bathroom and shower. I didn't complained as it was a short stay. The service was ok but nothing extra.
Travel tip: Take a walk down the road to the waterfront and marina.
James L. Couples United States of America, January 26, 2013
Good hotel

Decent hotel for the price
8
hotel was nice and clean. bed was comfortable. air contitioning was not that great. the bathroom was really hot. the hotel was safe but i thought the area might be a little unsafe late at night.
Tracey S. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 25, 2013
Comfortable rooms but really bad Wifi

Very comfortable bed
7
Seemed rather expensive per night compared to other hotels and serviced apartments in the same area. One reason I chose this hotel was because it had free Wifi - but the strength of the Wifi was so bad it wasn't really worth having - boosters are needed to each floor clearly. So not much point offering something for free that doesn't function properly. Location not great for connecting with Auckland's public transport system and being able to get around the city.
Restaurant Tip: Try Vivace's restaurant - great value for very good food, great choice of wines and a stylish but relaxed atmosphere. It's on High Street, up some stairs behind a very plush long curtain - so you have to really look out for it.
Joanne P. Couples Canada, January 25, 2013
Great budget hotel

staff, clean rooms, good location
8.7
The staff at the hotel are excellent, fast check in concerned about your needs, handy location would recommend to budget travelers as well as business travelers
Peter M. Couples Australia, January 24, 2013
Ok and convenient

Good location and good restaurant
8
Unremarkable but satisfactory accommodation. The hotel has no built in aircon and the add in units are very noisy and obtrusive.
Travel tip: Try the hotel restaurant
Denise V. Couples United States of America, January 21, 2013
Good location, good room, friendly reception

Location was easy access point, room simple and comfortable
9
Room was as we expected - good simple clean place to sleep while we were out all day. Reception was polite and friendly. We stayed over the weekend and were able to park overnight on the street. Didn't use the restaurant so no comment there. It looked okay we were just interested in other places. Denny's is down the block and we liked the price. Room was clean, bathroom was clean, we were high up and there was no noise. would stay again.
Maggie W. Solo travelers New Zealand, January 18, 2013
I'll be back

Convenient location, value for money
8.7
I had not intended staying at this hotel, but the Backpackers I had emailed managed to muck up my booking and I didn't discover this until I had arrived in Auckland. So I checked out available hotels on Agoda and sent an email to Auckland City Hotel. Within half an hour I was installed in room 110. The room was a twin bed, clean and comfortable. Auckland City Hotel is a couple of minutes walk from Queen Street and the Aotea Centre, and perhaps a 10 minute stroll from Britomart Travel Centre. There are a couple of convenience stores on the same block as Auckland City hotel, so its no problem to nip out for some nibbles or a forgotten essential. The staff are friendly and professional. All in all, I consider Auckland City Hotel to be a serendipitous find. I'll be staying here again.
Restaurant Tip: Don't limit yourself to one restaurant while in Auckland. So many of the cheaper eating places are really, really good.
Andy T. Business travelers Canada, January 15, 2013
clean and reasonable for business travel

clean, walking distance to downtown
7.3
we are on a business trip. the hotel is clean and close to downtown. area is busy at night, near a red light district, but relatively safe to our standard. there is a charge for wifi and car parking.
Boris S. Couples United States of America, January 12, 2013
Nice Well Run Hotel

Great Location, Quite Rooms, Modern
8.7
We enjoyed our stay at the Auckland City Hotel. We had a twin room with two full beds. The kitchenette was nice and we had a small seperate nook to watch TV. Overall nice stay I would stay again. Only con is they didn't change the sheets very often.
Restaurant Tip: Indian food at the skycity entertainment center was good.
Phuongthu S. Couples United States of America, January 11, 2013
beautifull hotel

close to many attractions
10
very nice and clean hotel. Staff performance are warm and welcome. Room is big, beautiful and the kitchen is nice, fully equipped with heater, cooler, shampoo, soap, dish detergent, kitchen tool, coffee ,fridge, ironer, safe box, tipi...

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Auckland City Hotel AucklandAuckland City Hotel Auckland - ExteriorAuckland City Hotel Auckland - InteriorAuckland City Hotel Auckland - LobbyAuckland City Hotel Auckland - LobbyAuckland City Hotel Auckland - InteriorAuckland City Hotel Auckland - LobbyAuckland City Hotel Auckland - SpaAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Studio DoubleAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Standard RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Standard TwinAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Studio TwinAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Studio RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Suite RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Suite RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Suite RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Suite RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - BathroomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - BathroomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - BathroomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Coffee Shop/CafeAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Coffee Shop/CafeAuckland City Hotel Auckland - RestaurantAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeAuckland City Hotel Auckland - EntranceAuckland City Hotel Auckland - SurroundingsAuckland City Hotel Auckland - SurroundingsAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - RestaurantAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Auckland City Hotel, Auckland

AS-AGWEB-3C02